Find companies:
University of Southern California
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
176 reviews

University of Southern California Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Cashier/Barista (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 21, 2014
Pros: free lunch
FAST ENViRONMENT TO WORK IN. You move up in the company. They have great benefits. The pay is good. You meet a lot of people it opens many doors for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing
Senior Grader of Operating System (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 8, 2014
intense
amazing
good courses
great learning experience
best place to study
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked this job
Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 5, 2014
I like this job working with my co-workers, working with babies. Was close to home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful working will all the Oncology Departmes
Kenneth Norris Jr (Current Employee), New Patient LiaisonMay 3, 2014
Pros: great enviromet
Cons: to far to drive everyday
We all work as a unit to ensure all new Oncology patients are taken care of in a timely manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Warm Environment
Volunteer Research Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 1, 2014
Everyone who works here is dedicated to the organizations mission of ending homelessness.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great oppertunity
Transportation Enforcement Officer (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 30, 2014
Pros: status responsibility advancment
Cons: getting up at 3:00am everyday
Great experience univsersity life is a family organization.Very supportive on cross training employees for various positions. To promote advancement throughout university. The managment was top level people professional in all matters. Co-workers were a great team always encouraging other and helping great since of team spirit. Being at work 4:00am – more... everyday but i did it for 17 years. Helping others especially the student you knew seeing them graduate, and go on to better society. After four years of working for them you really made good friends. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 26, 2014
Great place to work, had a lot of fun and made new friends. Only worked part time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a TA at USC
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 21, 2014
I was a TA here. So it is not really a working experience. I handled office hour on a weekly basis and helped students solve their problems
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good option for students
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAApril 13, 2014
Pros: compatibility with school schedule
Cons: number of hours offered
My time as a Research Assistant involves diverse researching opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High quality university
Chief Financial Officer Keck Medicine (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 13, 2014
Pros: strong spirit
Cons: politics
Good place to work. Top employer in Los Angeles. Significant opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good place to work
Research Assistant (Current Employee), EEBApril 5, 2014
USC offers you anything you need during you research and you will always be rewarded for you achievements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible working schedule
Project Assistant Supervisor (Current Employee), Monterey Park ClinicApril 4, 2014
Pros: flexible working hours
Cons: lack of benefits.
This position allows me to contact potential clients base on a flexible schedule. I master the skills of communicating with total strangers, and explain the purpose and procedures of our research project. Self-confidence is the key to present a professional image to convince the clients to participate the free comprehensive eye exam. The management – more... system is Team work base, which means it requires the whole team of ten co-workers to work together and reach the weekly goals of completed exam numbers. The hardest part of the job is to follow-up the refusual converse because people don't change their minds easily once they refuse to participate the project voluntary. The most enjoyable part of the job is how some clients will call me and express their appreciations of the benefits after completing the free eye exams. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work and Life balance, amazing benefits!
Banquets & Catering Operation Manager (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 24, 2014
Pros: management staff is fun and helpful.
Cons: senior union staff extremely dementing, over the board.
Managing the day-to-day operations and execution of the banquet and catering departments including restaurant .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
REU Summer Chemistry Intern
REU Chemistry Internship (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 21, 2014
Pros: research experience, one-on-one mentorship in chemistry
Cons: location of internship
10 week long chemistry internship at USC. I averaged 40 hour weeks and was mentored by a post doc on an antiviral prodrug research project. A typical day involved praticing organic chemistry techniques in the synthesis of the prodrug, analysis of products by phosphorous NMR, mass spec, and UV spectroscopy, running columns for product purification, and – more... journal literature searches. In addition, I worked on my own project which involved testing out different coupling reagents and varying the hydrolysis conditions for the synthesis of the prodrug in order to attempt to improve the overall product yield. My work was supervised by my post-doc mentor, and all experiments were recorded in a lab notebook that remains the property of USC. The end of the internship culminated in a poster presentation of my work to the other interns, the PI's, and graduate students at USC.

In addition, the internship provided weekly seminars at which the chemistry PI's talked about their research, job outlook in industry and academia, current topics of interest, and graduate school at USC. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned many skills and enjoyed the experience
Undergraduate investigator (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 17, 2014
I would help the lab technician with the days tasks which included: setting up PCR plates, running DNA electrophoresis, DNA collection from mice, staining slides
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers
Budget Business Technician (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 13, 2014
Pros: new, experiences new job traits, new life skills
Cons: takes time
Learning new personalities, new cultures was one of the most rewarding experiences of my life.

Working with Professors taught me how to view work in an analytical way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Zilkha Neruogenetic Institute, research associate (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 7, 2014
Graduated from University of Southern California, and Love working at here as well.

Go Trojan! Fight on!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
student (Former Employee), LAMarch 3, 2014
Core courses: Algorithm Design, Database System, Web
Technology, Advanced Mobile Devices and Game
Consoles, Artificial Intelligence.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational place to work
Project Assistant for Project RED (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAFebruary 28, 2014
I greatly enjoyed working at USC as a Project Assistant and gained many skills from the position. Working as a Project Assistant exposed me to the many facets that go into a longitudinal study. The most enjoyable part of the job was the creative freedom I was given in terms of taking the lead on certain projects. I learned a great deal from the Project – more... Manager and consider him to be the best mentors I have ever had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SC
Classroom Scheduling Coordinator (Current Employee), University Park, CAFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: free education after so many years of service
Cons: pay
great place to work. You can even go to school after so many years of service.