Find companies:
University of Southern California
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
182 reviews

University of Southern California Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned many skills and enjoyed the experience
Undergraduate investigator (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 17, 2014
I would help the lab technician with the days tasks which included: setting up PCR plates, running DNA electrophoresis, DNA collection from mice, staining slides
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers
Budget Business Technician (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 13, 2014
Pros: new, experiences new job traits, new life skills
Cons: takes time
Learning new personalities, new cultures was one of the most rewarding experiences of my life.

Working with Professors taught me how to view work in an analytical way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Zilkha Neruogenetic Institute, research associate (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 7, 2014
Graduated from University of Southern California, and Love working at here as well.

Go Trojan! Fight on!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
student (Former Employee), LAMarch 3, 2014
Core courses: Algorithm Design, Database System, Web
Technology, Advanced Mobile Devices and Game
Consoles, Artificial Intelligence.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational place to work
Project Assistant for Project RED (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAFebruary 28, 2014
I greatly enjoyed working at USC as a Project Assistant and gained many skills from the position. Working as a Project Assistant exposed me to the many facets that go into a longitudinal study. The most enjoyable part of the job was the creative freedom I was given in terms of taking the lead on certain projects. I learned a great deal from the Project – more... Manager and consider him to be the best mentors I have ever had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SC
Classroom Scheduling Coordinator (Current Employee), University Park, CAFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: free education after so many years of service
Cons: pay
great place to work. You can even go to school after so many years of service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administrative Services Coordinator (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAFebruary 24, 2014
it was a good place to work. The raises suck. It does have good benefits and most of the people are great. Some of the university politics are stupid, but that is the way with several companies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Useful and Goal Oriented Site
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Los Angeles,CAFebruary 21, 2014
I'm using for the first time and i really felt useful because everything at one place and just amazing..!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, horrible colleagues .
Call center rep (Former Employee), Los Angeles, caFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: great benefits ! dental was awesome !!!
Cons: management is horrible, pay for parking, so much traffic !!!
Worked at the credit union call center . The colleagues sometimes ok but management is horrible . So much tension between the call center manager . She would get mad when asked for help. And she was bi polar ...also other employees from the loan dept, or other branches, would be so RUDE !!! To get help to resolve problems for members, forget about calling – more... others to resolve issue they would act so bothered!!! Plus, with all that money that school makes ... They still require us to PAY FOR PARKING !!! Save yourself the headache ... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are willing to grow, this is a great place for you
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Long Beach, CaliforniaFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: fast advancement, great customer service experience
Cons: horrible communication between crew members
Being in management in a fast food restaurant has its ups and downs. Making sure the proper inventory count is the most crucial part of the whole ordeal. Making sure all your employees have the proper training to complete the task they are given. Understanding and meeting the needs of your customers, providing them with a smile and excellent service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you love the subject you are a TA for, you would have fun!
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Los Angeles CaliforniaFebruary 3, 2014
My typical day: I have to help students finish their lab assignments and grade their assignments. It's fun when students come with interesting problems in their projects and new stuff they want to implement.
What I learned: It's like revising a subject over and over again!
Management: Very friendly. Good people.
Hardest part of the job: Fixing unusual – more... bugs at times.
Enjoyable part: The whole idea of teaching a programming language! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place trying to give the best customer service and developing teamwork
Gatorade Ambassador and Facility Manager (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 29, 2014
A typical workday would consist of bagging customers' groceries. Collecting carts outside. Sweeping the store. And keeping the Front end of the store neat and clean.
I learned to give the customers come first. (give great customer service)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Grow UP
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating*
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the top research universities
Rossier School of Education (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: benefits, collegiate environment
Cons: average pay; pay parking; politics
USC is without a doubt, one of the top research universities in the world. Good place, GREAT benefits, and a wholesome place to work; but as Henry Kissinger once said,"university politics are so vicious precisely because the stakes are so small." And believe me politics are alive and well here.
Otherwise, they only hire top talent and if you work at – more... USC, you are among the best., – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly academic atmosphere
PhD student (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 8, 2014
Friendly and free academic atmosphere;
Plenty of resources;
School staff are not very efficient;
Expensive but bad location in the city.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Cardiothoracic Surgeon (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 3, 2014
I was excited when I was hired as a full-time employee. Not only that within a year i was promoted from Front Desk Reception to Patient Care Coordinator.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Post-Doctoral Research Fellowship (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 3, 2014
Image Grading at Doheny Image Reading center.
My co-workers do grading also.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job for student
College Business Office, Office Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 17, 2013
Easy job for student looking to earn extra cash while going to school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits and Great Place to Work
Manager, Technical Operations (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 13, 2013
Pros: educational benefit
Cons: doesn't pay market value for your position
Great benefits and great place to work. The educational assistance for both employee and family, puts this place over the top. Management is fair and is open minded to most suggestions, it really depends on which organization you are apart of in the university.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encouraging and Enthusiastic Culture
STUDENT WORKER (Current Employee), Los AngelesDecember 1, 2013
Pros: flexible working hours
Cons: paid lunch
List of activities are assigned at the start of the day.
All the activities are to be completed by the end of the day. We have to manage and keep some buffer time for urgent work like customer or/and vendor support.