Find companies:
University of Southern California
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
171 reviews

University of Southern California Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 9, 2013
good research environment and nice professors
I Optimized ingredient of chemical ink in 3D printing of metallic parts
Investigated cleaning liquid for selective stripping after SIS method of 3D printing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University
Grader (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 9, 2013
I worked as a course Grader, kind of Teaching Assistant in University of Southern California. When I studied here, professor gave this chance to be a grader of his class. My job is to grade all students' assignments and labs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place
Instructor Assistant for Prof. Randolph Beatty (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 9, 2013
Love this place a lot. People are sharp, genuine and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learnt a lot and very good place to work
IT Support (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 25, 2013
- Was a continuous learning process.
- Everything documented properly helping new comers learn fast.
- Learned to attend customer calls.
- Co-workers were very helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place
Asst. Kitchen Manager (Former Employee), Los AngelesSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: work environment
Cons: some late nights
Co-Worker were great to work with I enjoyed my time working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized workplace, good office resources, passionate coworkers
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 16, 2013
A typical day consists of sitting at the computer performing data entry tasks. Data entry includes entering information obtained in surveys from research participants, as well as double- and triple- checking all previously entered data and performing some calculations to obtain BMI values. Some days also involve going out into the field to administer – more... surveys/questionnaires-the data collection process, as well as conducting research and literature reviews of previously published research papers. I learned a lot about the research process, both the joys and challenges that are faced. I worked under a PhD in public health/preventive medicine, and my co-workers were usually other research assistants, who had similar duties.
The most difficult part of the job was obtaining consent, and having consistent participants who we could track throughout the course of the research project. The most enjoyable part was interacting with research participants, and I also enjoyed entering data-it gave me an inside look into the research process as well as all the different types of people and their experiences. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 15, 2013
Great benefits is one of the most attractive aspects of working for USC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USC Med-Cor student volunteer
University Hospital Volunteer (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CaliforniaAugust 29, 2013
Pros: free lunch
I was in clerical work doing filing and faxing papers and running floor errands. I would often take calls. Kind and helpful office ladies to the shy and timid me ahah. I also input patient data into the computer database
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working place.
Histology Technician (Former Employee), Los Angeles CAAugust 29, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Nice working enviroment. Free educational classes. Excellent medical benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking for Internship positions in the areas of Digital VLSI/ Computer Architecture
Research Lab Assistant (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 28, 2013
Currently working as Research lab assistant at University of Southern California,
For PCB building and testing/debugging for SoliScope project.

TECHNICAL SKILLS
Hardware Description Language: Verilog , VHDL
 Programming Languages: C, C++
 Tools: Virtuoso 6.1-Cadence EDA tools, ModelSim, Matlab, MPLAB IDE v8.30, AUTOCAD2008

Courses taken at USC:
EE457-Computer – more... System (Organization and Architecture)
EE477- MOS VLSI Circuit Design
EE557-Computer Systems Architecture
EE577a-VLSI System Design
EE554-Real Time Computer Systems
EE560-Digital System Design -- Tools and Techniques

PROJECTS
1) Processor based on Tomasulo algorithm (Tools Used:- Modelsim, Xilinx, Digilent Adept)

2) CMT Processor Design

3) Code Coverage, Timing Analysis and Content Addressable Memory (CAM)

4) Implementation of MOESI protocol

5) FIFO Implementation (Tools: Xilinx ISE, Design Compiler, NCSim)

6) Design of a general purpose CPU

7) Design of 5-stage in-order linear instruction pipeline

8) Full custom standard cell micro library characterization (Spectre, 180nm TSMC)

9) Digital neuron and its network (with FANOUT=99)

10) Zigbee Based Monorail Control System – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very diverse environment
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 23, 2013
Pros: flexibility
I loved my job at USC. I met a lot of wonderful people. I gained a lot of knowledge as well. A typical day may consist of billing or creating maintenance work orders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly workplace with nice and dedicated patients.
Medical Assistant/ Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 21, 2013
Greet patients and prepare for examinations. Obtain and record vital signs, medication list, new medical problems related to the study, medical history. Perform EKG's. Prepare patient for venous blood collection. Skillfully collect blood specimens maintaining sterile techniques. Document information regarding all performed procedures in the medical – more... records such as EKG,s compliance for study medications, physical activities, dietary intake, blood test results and other tests done outside our clinic. Assist in coverage reception area.

I enjoyed working at USC Elite study. It was like a big family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent higher learning institute
Rossier School of Education, Office Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 12, 2013
Pros: lots of interaction with outside agencies made for a diverse work experience
Cons: opportunity was limited to current student status at the university
Had the opportunity to learn under truly competent professionals. Highly organized work environment with clear goals and expectations. Managed by genuine, hard working individuals with a standard that was both challenging and rewarding to work up to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top 10 research univertsities
Associate Career Counselor (Former Employee), Los, Angeles. Doctor of Education CandidateAugust 9, 2013
The University of Southern California is one of the top ten reaserch universities in the U.S. Faculty student ratio was excellent
3-1 when I attended. The faculty were products of renown universities around the world My doctoral advisors and professors were recruited from Oxford University, England, Stanford University, University of Chicago, the University – more... of California at Los Angeles and the University of California at Berkley. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent educational system to work for
Research Fellow (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 6, 2013
Great people. Good work hours. Great opportunity for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible Research Experience
Research Intern (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 29, 2013
Pros: mentored closely and learned a vast amount of information
Cons: research interns do not get paid
Coming to work with the Department of Orthopedic Surgery has been a phenomenal experience. As a research intern, I've had the opportunity to learn and implement surgical skills, engage in highly complex methods for researching injuries and become immersed in the research process. The work is involved and requires a lot of complex thinking to overcome – more... challenges faced in the lab, however I thoroughly enjoyed it. I was able to realize my passion for medicine, specifically orthopedic surgery, and I had the opportunity to work with very supportive and helpful mentors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable place to work
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 25, 2013
I learned small animal imaging and multiple assays in my lab. I was able to choose and design my own project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at USC
ENROLLMENT SERVICES (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 16, 2013
Pros: 7.5 hour work day and vacation time
Cons: very little downtime and pay
This USC education culture, is unique when compared to the corporate world. It has a quasi-corporate style but prides itself on it high quality student base and alumni. These brought the school to a world class university.
It was a nice environment to work in. My day consisted of early morning reports and any items left over from the day before. My – more... coworkers were the best and management was helpful. My day consisted of generating reports and printing letters of all types. The most challenging aspects of my day were the ad hoc reports. We helped out any department that used our reports to start their day. At times we had to do a report specific to their needs - this was challenging at times. The most enjoyable part of my day was the people I worked with and setting up the new challenging assignments that crossed my table. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sturn management
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 15, 2013
Pros: paid vacation, sick, 401k
This is a very serious environment with no tolerance for games. They are super professional and want the same in return.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting to help the students develop their ideas
Prototype Machinist (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 11, 2013
Pros: job satisfaction is was a pleasure to interact with dedicated students.
Cons: the employment was temporary i wanted to become a permanent employee.
The experiences that I had at sc was very pleasurable. I had a chance to participate in their robotics program. This was a outreach program that assisted local junior high school students with the construction of their robot to be entered into their annual robotics competition. The team work and discipline of the students was amazing.

University of Southern California Photos