University of St. Francis Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gratifying work
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Joliet, ILApril 20, 2015
I teach graduate level courses in the college of Education:
MSED 640-Learners with Mild Disabilities
MSED 644-Identification and Assessment of Special Education Students
MSED 642-Methods and Curriculum in Special Education
MSED 620-Data Driven Decision Making

courses range from 1 week in length to 8 weeks in length. I teach site-based, online, and blended courses.

I enjoy working with adult learners because they are invested in their education. I learn from them, as they learn from me.
Pros
working for and with great people
Cons
travel for site-based cohorts
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Video Production Specialist (Current Employee) –  Joliet, ILMarch 12, 2015
Working for USF has been great. I have learned alot of things that I would not have learned in class. The Professors are helpful and encouraging.
Pros
experience
Cons
minimum wage student pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great institution!
Communications Specialist (Current Employee) –  Joliet, ILFebruary 17, 2015
Close knit institution with wholesome work ethic. Excellent health benefits and perks for education after 1 year of service.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family feel work environment, easy-going, yet labor intensive
Student Worker, Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Joliet, ILDecember 28, 2014
A typical day at work involves set scheduled work task (work orders), assigned to each individual worker.
I learned landscaping, carpentry, and managerial skills in my 3 years of employment.
Co-workers are like your family, vibrant variety of skills and personalities.
Hardest part of the job is working in the blizzards that may occur in Chicago-land winters.
Most enjoyable part of being an employee of the University of St. Francis, is the faculty and students who thank you for your help, without prompt.
Pros
two 30 minute lunches, free class registration after 1 year of full-time working with university
Cons
sometimes involve outside labor (winter)
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deadline-driven staff with an atmosphere that nurtures creativity.
Assistant Editor in Chief of The Encounter (Current Employee) –  Joliet, ILNovember 2, 2014
This job has given me a taste of the proofreading/editing business and I love it. We release one, 42-page news magazine per month. This means that we have somewhat of a routine with meetings, deadlines, etc. From layout design to choosing stories, color choices to the creation of headlines, I love this job. However, the only thing that I find to be extremely challenging is the lack of communication between staff members. Often I am forced to work on the tightest deadlines due to a lack of communication between section editors and their writers. Though this can make my job more stressful than it needs to be, I really enjoy proofreading the content and formatting the text to fit in the layouts.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had the best time here and learned so much
Student Athletic Trainer (Former Employee) –  Joliet, ILOctober 25, 2014
I was responsible for the athletes and any type of file information that the athlete has
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed talking with students
Telecounselor (Former Employee) –  Joliet, ILMay 10, 2014
I enjoyed talking with students and enrolling them in school to move on to the next chapter in there life. I gained a lot of experience counseling students. the management was fair and I got along with my co-workers very well.
Pros
talking with students
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INApril 6, 2014
The University of Saint Francis in Fort Wayne IN. is a very close knit group of professionals that provides an atmosphere for growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct
Adjunct Instructor- NCLEX REVIEW (Former Employee) –  Joliet, ILMarch 25, 2014
Worked as Adjunct tor review of OB for nursing students prior to NCLEX
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Alumni & Parent Relations Manager (Current Employee) –  Joliet, ILMarch 17, 2014
Wonderful family atmosphere. Great place to work. Have been there many years and is a second family. I highly recommend working here.
Pros
benefits
Cons
none i can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
Nursing Student (Former Employee) –  Joliet, ILOctober 16, 2013
I learned many skills and met really nice people including professors.
Cons
hard to find employment once you are out of school, if you are not currently working or have "connections" on the inside of the hosptials.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Memorable.
Teacher's Aid (Former Employee) –  Joliet, ILApril 25, 2013
A typical day consisted of helping children outside of the classroom.
I learned that every classroom will have fast learners,average and some that need more help.
Management interwoven with the teachers.
My co-workers did want to help everyone.
The hardest part of the job was not being able to give more time to the ones that were falling behind considerably.
The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing that I do make a difference.
Pros
making a difference in the lives of children.
Cons
not enough time on any particular child that was falling behind.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Student Work Experiance
Student Admissions Assistant (Former Employee) –  Joliet, ILJanuary 7, 2013
I really enjoyed working in the Allied health office. It was a great way to earn extra money while attending classes.
Pros
can do homework during downtime
Cons
part time
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, The kids are Great!
Secretarial duties and switchboard operator (Former Employee) –  Joliet, ILSeptember 1, 2012
Worked in security support staff, worked with a lot of nice people, hours were good, pay was pretty good.
Pros
relaxed environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health Administration
Athletic Trainer/ Insurance Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Joliet, IlJuly 31, 2012
Performed evaluations and diagnosed athletic injuries.
Treatments were all in house therapy done by the athletic trainers
Managed a sports medicine team and was a liaison with team orthopedic physician
Negotiated insurance policies and filed all claims
Designed a concussion policy and utilized ImPACT
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Secretary to the Registrar (Former Employee) –  Joliet, ILApril 28, 2012
A wonderful loving group of people that worked hard to make a great school life for the students that went there. The hardest part of the job was letting the students know that they wouldn't be able to graduate because of a bad grade in a class. The best part of the job was watching the students walk across the stage on graduation day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture