University of Texas at Arlington Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 133 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXFebruary 11, 2015
Maintaining department website and help students if they have any issues
nice place to work
compensation is good
Co-workers are very friendly and helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Education and learning environment
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXJune 11, 2015
Regular shifts. Perfect to work part time with studies on the side and gives easy access to professors and solving difficulties about subjects. Great place to work while studying on campus.
Pros
free lunches and gifts
Cons
Silent and boring at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As all Universities it is a great place to learn and experience life!
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXAugust 17, 2013
Working as a Graduate Assistant with all types of professors is absolutely great because you learned a lot about yourself and how to work with others professionally.

The University of Texas at Arlington is a great place to work and study. It is a place were if you work hard, all your dream of education became a beautiful reality!

So, Dream Big! And Study hard!
Pros
great university life!
Cons
difficult to find parking space!
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good university
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXJune 22, 2015
UTA is a good university in many aspects. Cooperating staff and knowledgeable professors. extraordinary facilities and great location in case of job opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment, Friendly People
Front Desk Administrator (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXJanuary 3, 2013
This is a great environment to work in. The school has great connection with the students. The staff are friendly and care. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that help is always around the corner.
Pros
friendly environment. helpful staff.
Cons
there are many different cultures you may come across. not always a good thing, especially when they don't match with yours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere with emphasize on higher education of general public
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXAugust 11, 2014
My typical day consisted of conducting labs, grading papers, meeting with students, attending meeting with fellow lab assistants concerning next weeks labs.
Pros
teaching, associate lab assistants, student and public interaction
Cons
limited job security
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People matter
Resident Assistant (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXNovember 16, 2014
I really love the culture of UTA. Working at UTA I feel significant and recognizable. I also find the staff really helpful and understanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The ability to teach was great
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXJanuary 13, 2015
I taught 2 courses per semester. I enjoyed teaching and trying to help the students, especially those student who were really interested in learning and those students who had to take the courses as a requirement for getting a degree, but who would never use the language.
In my opinion, such requirement is a waste. Once in college, students should have more courses that will help them in their chosen field of study.
I did enjoy the friendships created at school.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work
Tutor/Mentor (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXMay 28, 2015
I had a blast at work, able to tutor/mentor kids that needed some guidance. Learned a lot about myself as a person and gave me a new perspective of high school students.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this job I love it that why I do good.
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXMay 17, 2012
. The work starts from 9 am to 4 pm
. I have learned, the civil engineering experiments, analyzing data, and writing proposals
. Management was good
. Co-workers are high educated people
. there is nothing is called hardest part of job, if you love your job everything is easy
. all the tasks of this job are enjoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Student Affairs (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXSeptember 3, 2012
What can I say....This job and school made me the leader I am today! Point blank period. Great opportunities for success, leadership skill development, tripping opportunities, promotional opportunities and a great network of faculty and staff.
Pros
everything is great
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work on campus
Retail sales associate (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXJanuary 13, 2014
*Its a fun place to work and keeps me balance with my academics and as I stay close to campus, its more convenient.
* The management is good and makes me learn things with ease.
* My colleagues are mostly from my school so we have a good bonding.
Pros
on campus with decent pay
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment with exceptional mentors
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXAugust 18, 2013
As a lab technician assigned to create a cysteine dioxygenase mutant I was primarily involved in generating the mutant as well as confirming the correct sequence for the generated mutant DNA. My direct superior was both informative as well as understanding, which to me created an ideal work environment. The procedure to generate the CDO mutants required optimization in order to work correctly. The most frustrating and difficult part of this assignment was the troubleshooting and optimization of the protocol. However, the sense of accomplishment garnered when success was attained more than made up for any frustration. I would gladly continue work in this setting were it a possibility.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Research Assistantship (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXMarch 8, 2014
good school with nice MEMS lab

•a typical day at work
•what you learned
•management
•your co-workers
•the hardest part of the job
•the most enjoyable part of the job
Pros
best engineering school near dfw
Cons
ranking
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough pay
Public Safety Officer (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXNovember 11, 2014
Benefits are great, pay was way less of what the market salary is for the same position.
Pros
benefits
Cons
low pay, no pay increases
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Exposure
Researcher (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXFebruary 17, 2013
Working at UTA gave me much experience. Studying in the day then working at night left little time for anything else. I loved the freedom and understanding shown by the managing PhD professors.
Pros
great experience
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Graduate Research and Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  ArlingtonApril 16, 2015
It was fun working with the professors and the students.
It was challenging as well as opportunity to learn,
Overall, I am very happy working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfied
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXJune 4, 2013
I am satisfied with professors and opportunities. I have been Graduate Research Assistant and Graduate Teaching Assistant in different area. Also, I submitted different projects in construction engineering and construction management area.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXAugust 7, 2012
As a student and a Research Assistant at UTA, I had the chance of working with experienced professors who have been in the industry for decades. Apart from studying some of the most advanced courses in Environmental Engineering like Physical Chemical Processes, Waste Water Treatment Plant Design, Air Pollution Chemistry and Meteorology, Biological Processes, etc. I got a chance to get hands on experiences with the most cutting edge instruments used in modern laboratories like the UV-vis spectrometer, TOC Analyzer, and HPLC. My job required me to analyze samples in the lab for presence of TiO2 nano-particles after a certain chemical reaction which I had to design and perform in collaboration with the chemistry department. My peers and mentors were a great support throughout the completion of my project. I enjoyed working with the latest technology and learning new things and found it hard not to be thinking about it when I was at home.
Pros
great work atmosphere, staff, and mentors.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXMarch 20, 2013
* Highly intense and demanding work culture as this job posting was research based .
* required indepth study of the system in consideration as it was a novel technology and not many background work was available to refer.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 133 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
4.2
Culture
4.4

University of Texas at Arlington Reviews by Location