University of Texas at Austin Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 15, 2018
I actually work for UT/ Arlington. The office I work in is small. Not much room for growth.Not sure what else to say. Have great benefits. You will not get regular salary increases
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Administrative Associate (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 15, 2018
UT takes good care of its employees. While pay is less compared to the private sector, benefits are extraordinary and job stability is extremely high. There is consistent room for advancement within the University structure.

There is little benefit to increased job performance, so there is a lot of complacency among staff. Common with public sector jobs in my experience.
Pros
Benefits and Stability
Cons
Not a dynamic work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a dangerous environment.
Rigger (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 13, 2018
Workers in the stage department should get paid much more. Wages are much higher in the rest of Austin. A specific skillset is required in order to prevent accidents and maintain a safe environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging and collaborative
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 10, 2018
I enjoyed the inner workings of the Department of Advertising, in the College of Communications. I was on a first name basis with the dean and most of the professors. I found the position to be interesting and somewhat exciting.
Pros
Free access to faculty facilities
Cons
Tight deadlines and slow materials acquisition time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good academics and good research
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 10, 2018
Thoroughly enjoyed my time as a graduate research assistant at UT while pursuing my MS in Civil Engineering. Good people, good education, good opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UT Review
Student Emergency Services (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 10, 2018
If you can get a TA'ship while attending UT, that's definitely the best plan and you should do it. The perks are ridiculous -- tuition reduction, great salary, completely paid insurance, and the hours you work are almost never completely accurate. I TA'ed "30 hours" last semester and had my tuition completely paid for and everything and never truly worked more than like 10 hours a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment and people to work with
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 9, 2018
I am a graduate research assistant and majorly work on my own thesis for PhD graduation. UT Austin has a lot of resources for students and employees to use. People are all collaborative.
Pros
Resources
Cons
health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UT is a huge bureaucracy but it works.
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 8, 2018
If you like cutting corners and you're not good with turning in forms and being patient, this is not the place for you. UT means well though, so if you can get past the red tape, you can do great things here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment, clear expectations, relatively low pay
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 2, 2018
The TAing part is well-organized for my department, and the professors are very understanding if you are busy. However, the examination periods (which coincide with your deadlines) can be a bit overwhelming in terms of working hours (40-60 per week).

There is an ok health insurance package.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
U.T. is pretty nice.
landscaper (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 20, 2017
This was a fun workplace I would recommend it to anyone looking to have a retirement,it was a pretty calm environment and nothing too back breaking,that's about all I have to say.
Pros
multiple long breaks, ping pong
Cons
you have to go through too much paper work to get things done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmoshpere to work in,
Researcher in Bilingual Acquisition (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 20, 2017
A lot of support and opportunities to learn. Good benefits and opportunities to grow. One can make a lot of connections and can serve the community in many ways.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed and fun
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 14, 2017
This is a ten hr workweek job. As a teaching assistant I was rigorous and under experienced. I did not like the students to cheat on the exam so I lost a lot of friends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, people are nice and supportive
Research Scientist (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 12, 2017
UT Austin is a great place to work. Have a lot of flexibility. Lots of exposure. The management is really helpful. People are very collaborative with research projects, which is extremely necessary for the advancement of science. I do not know anybody who is extremely unhappy working for UT.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School
Pharmacology Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 8, 2017
There's a lady who's sure
All that glitters is gold
And she's buying a stairway to heaven
When she gets there she knows
If the stores are all closed
With a word she can get what she came for
Oh oh oh oh and she's buying a stairway to heaven
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
HR Business Partner (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXDecember 3, 2017
Busy work day, learned about HR in higher education, management is fair. I have been doing employee relations in a generalist capacity for over 10 years. There isn't any "hard part" to this job. The people who work for this campus --
Pros
Nice buildings
Cons
pay for parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome working team to compliment school hours
Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 29, 2017
Team meeting for daily assignments,catering contracts and time of delivery for all dining facitlities on campus.I learn to manage time for all catering events and deliver results to all contracts. we were a dedicated team of passionate workers. The hardest psrt of the day was if we had a call out and the most enjoyable was the final contracts were complete and clients were satisfied.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Employer
Building Attendant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 29, 2017
Unfortunately i get sick and have to attend doctors appointment for muscle spasm, not very well take by my manager and higher manager. I wish i had more time to clean and dust the way is properly not just what you see.
Pros
not enough time to do the job well of cleanning
Cons
the same
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ut
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 27, 2017
Worked in Federal Relations for the Registered Lobbyist at the University of Texas at Austin.

This position was housed under the vice president for research although it should have been housed in the presidents office.
Pros
working at a university
Cons
opportunities for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place and Great People
Power Plant Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 21, 2017
As with any job, you get out of it what you put in. I retired from UT so obviously I liked it.

I will give all job applicants the key to success at this or any job you seek.

1. Show up early

2. Stay late

3. Give your boss more than he asks for EVERY time (not just when
it is convenient)
Pros
crazy smart people
Cons
crazy smart people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great place to work
Postdoctoral Fellow advised by Prof. Omar Ghattas (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 20, 2017
Very productive
Very peaceful
Very nice campus
Excellent facilities
Very good insurance, retirement plan, and other benefits
Very knowledgeable researchers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Texas at Austin. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 601 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0