University of Texas at Austin Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 386 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They have very advanced learning system all over the country.
Visiting Research Scholar (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJuly 19, 2016
They have very advanced learning system all over the country. The second excellent approach is the research methodology, which is unique among The United States Universities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
UFCU Disch Falk Field (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 15, 2016
everything at this facility was amazing. the workers are all happy and nice, the mangers are nice, the stadium was clean and well kept. the customers were friendly and the hours were great
Pros
free baseball
Cons
the sun
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University to start or continue your education
Project Manager student (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 12, 2016
Great place to enhance ones capacities and have better opportunities at the professional field.
Only attending as professional student for the Project Management Certificate Program which is valid to sit for the Project Management Professional Exam developed and created by the Project Management Institute.
Pros
Prestige
Cons
Cost
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Tyler, TXJuly 11, 2016
The University of Texas At Tyler is a nice place to work in general with amazing benefits. The only real downside is the lack of good management.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
salad prep
Salad Chef (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 11, 2016
use of my culinary degree to help kitchen prepare salad for Jester Hall students. Worked morning shift
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming environment.
Student Associate (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 7, 2016
I worked in the business office in the College of Pharmacy. I helped with data entry, prepared payment vouchers, paid monthly and yearly bills, purchased items for laboratories and departments in the College of Pharmacy.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for college student to make ends meet
Undergraduate assistant (Former Employee) –  ECE departmentJune 28, 2016
I worked here as a computer lab proctor. The hours are flexible and benefits are good. It was a friendly team environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temp job
Childcare Provider (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 25, 2016
the job itself was easy if you are able to handle 100 kids. normal day care job, was only temporary. was a floater didnt get to know to much about the place long enough
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Texas Student Media Need New Management
Advertising Account Executive, Texas Student Media (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 22, 2016
Texas Student Media is a great place to get experience working in advertising sales. The management and commission plan need to change in order to be up to par of the Moody College and UT.
Pros
Experience
Cons
lousy commission plan and Management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work environment
Graduate Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 15, 2016
There are programs with too many hands involved and some with poor organization and no help for training and support.

Many people are pleasant to work with, but I think UT needs to reevaluate many positions and help supplement those good workers where they need help.

All the money goes to athletics which is why the academics and culture suffers.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed it
Teaching / Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 12, 2016
Great experience. Teaching and Laboratory Assistant for machine tools and operations. Helped students learn how to operate and run several machine tools including the manual lathe and mill
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The University of Texas at Austin
Technical Services Manager (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 5, 2016
I have been with University for over 8 years in a variety of positions. I have learned many things during my tenure within the teams I have been a part of.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Working Environment
Work-Study Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 1, 2016
Working for UT has been a lovely experience because of the flexibility offered (which I need since I am a full time student) and my amazing co-workers!
Pros
flexible, friendly
Cons
slow paced
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, friendly staff
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Port Aransas, TXMay 22, 2016
I'm currently the night shift security guard. So the hours I work I interact only rarely with the rest of the faculty and staff. But from what I've seen it seems like a pretty relaxed environment.
Pros
Good Benefit package
Cons
Little chance of promotion
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for research
research associate (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 16, 2016
Good co-work
Safe environment
Time free
Good equipment
Good professor
easy access to journals
Good benefit
Good laboratory
Pros
Time free, Good benefit
Cons
Hot weather, low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Works
Separation Research Program Technician Assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 15, 2016
I had this job when I was in UT-Austin. I was guided by two professional technicians. They are really up in their game and extremely proficient in what they are doing.
Also, I am truly thankful for the kind team leader for helping me and recommending me to numerous universities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at UT
Research Associate Scientist I (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 13, 2016
My time here at the university has been a tremendously rewarding experience and has enriched my skills as a scientist. The work is challenging and I have never stopped learning as a result.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
No parking
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open door policy, lots of opportunities for advancement.
Clerk 1 Clerk 11 Clerk 111 (Former Employee) –  P.O.Box 7399 Austin, Texas 78713-7399May 8, 2016
A typical day at work would be hard to explain. I wore many hats during an eight hour shift,
The daily duties would rotate based on any given day of the monthly cycle.
The hardest part if the job was being able to see all the projects in a completed state.
Pros
A lot of artistic, entertainment, culture events
Cons
Unable to handle the growth of the work force.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great TA job
Teacher's Assistant in Machine Tool Operation (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 3, 2016
Great TA job as I was in school. flexible hours, fun environment, great people to work with, Gave me experience I needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful but confusing
Researcher (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 2, 2016
Working as a researcher at UT Austin is fantastic in terms of other committments, but the structure of payment is not well explained, and you pay severely in terms of benefits when you take on the position without much information on how it affects your insurance.
Pros
Good amounts of free time
Cons
Confusing, financially inferior to common alternatives
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 386 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1

University of Texas at Austin Reviews by Location

Best places to work in
Education and Schools
5. University of Texas at Austin
6. Penn State University
7. Auburn University
8. University of Florida
9. University of Texas at Dallas
View the list