University of Texas at Austin Employee Reviews

Found 530 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience for an Undergraduate
Laboratory Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXAugust 14, 2017
Gained many basic laboratory skills and learned a great deal about how much time is dedicating to academic research. I enjoyed seeing a multicultural lab work so closely together like a family. It was inspiring to say the least.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educative and helpful advisor
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 13, 2017
I learned a lot about petroleum and petrophysics including logging skills and tools, my Ph.D project helped me gain lab research experience and critical thinking in fluid, nanoparticles, and pore surfaces interactions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Permian Basin Childcare Center Director (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TX 79762August 10, 2017
it was absolutely an amazing company to work for I loved my job and would still be a part of the University of Texas of the Permian basin family if we had no relocated due to my husbands job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's great if you are not a girl
Senior Designer (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 9, 2017
Check out your department before you say yes! If you are a woman most likely you will be paid $11000 less a year, you heard me. This is all in black and white and the university does nothing to change it.
Pros
sort of stable
Cons
women get pay far less for the same work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity of advancement
Academic Advisor, Economics Department (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 5, 2017
Great work culture. Professional environment. Great Administrative support. Amazing IT office support. Great learning professional experience. Great peer support and encouragement for improvement.
Pros
Work Peer Encouragement for improvement
Cons
Overpriced parking for employees
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 2, 2017
Stressful and fast pace. Supervision was by doctors, however, we did have supervisors and no support from them. Whatever the doctors said was what happened.
Pros
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working environment
Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 1, 2017
Opportunities to learn new lab techniques and establish academic network for advanced research on condensed matter physics, especially semiconductors and superconductivity.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So So
Assisant director (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 1, 2017
I find that there is little to no training available. But that is okay because expectations are pretty low. No one is going to get rich there (unless your in athletics) but you have job security. The benefits are ok. Probably better than most places. Basically just 9 to 5 work.
Pros
Job security after 180 days
Cons
Parking sucks, outdated technology, no training
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average work place
cook (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 28, 2017
Most enjoyable part is time off during the holiday and summers. You are allowed to build up time for hours worked over 8 in a day which allows you to cash in essentially on extra vacation time
Pros
free meal and 1 hour break.
Cons
below average pay for the experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance and plenty of opportunities to learn
Information Technology Auditor (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 28, 2017
UT Austin is a small city. There are pockets of good, and there are pockets of bad. You find your niche there and learn all you can. The work culture is one where you can always grow.

Plenty of bureaucracy, so take what you like and leave what you don't, but the paid time off makes it all worth it.
Pros
Benefits, training
Cons
Top-heavy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good working place with a balanced life
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 19, 2017
It is a good working place with a balanced life. Besides, the benefit is good. However, the opportunity for job promotion, especially for a research scientist, is not high.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teaching Ph.D and Master's students
Associate Professor (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 18, 2017
I loved watching young people develop into professional counselors. Teaching was the highlight of my experience. The staff is professionally trained and ethically sound.
Pros
collaborative atmosphere
Cons
professional rivalries
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Building Attendant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 18, 2017
i would unlock buildings
check trash and respond to trouble calls in many different university buildings
i also assisted with other duties as assigned
Pros
benefits
Cons
rude management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunity for growth
Sr. Administrative Associate (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 17, 2017
UT allowed me to continue with my undergraduate degree and move into a management role. We were allowed to have a flex schedule and have 3 days off every other week. It was a very stressful job because of the actual work involved was time sensitive. Training was provided and encouraged.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
collaborative and supportive workplace
Post-Doctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 14, 2017
I was first a graduate student then post doctoral fellow with the department of Molecular Biosciences at University of Texas at Austin. The culture is very collaborative and fosters an environment conducive to higher learning and success. The work and productivity expectations are high but not unreasonable and many of the principle investigators are dedicated to the success of their students and employees.
Pros
benefits are fantastic
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits and working environment
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 12, 2017
I provided word processing for annual faculty report, resumes, and letters of reference and recruitment. I communicated with professors and associate chairman regarding assignments.

Learning to get job done in a timely manner.

Much traffic with students and professors and learning to work with much incoming noise.

Professors can be so demanding.

The most enjoyable part of the job interacted with students and professors.
Pros
week off at Christmas
Cons
short breaks, great vacations
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job with interesting students
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 10, 2017
My job as a TA at UT Austin was very rewarding. Not only did I get lots of experience with electrical circuit design and troubleshooting, but I also enjoyed helping my students learn new things about mechatronics.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outdated system, but some really excellent research happening.
Graduate Researcher (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 2, 2017
While the academic setting in the Psychology department is conducive to producing a lot of research and training tools for developing research skills, there is no protocol for helping graduate students succeed in industry-related jobs. Mentoring resources for non-academically focused students are becoming more popular at Psychology departments across the country, but it has not taken hold at UT just yet.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meeting people
Volunteer Language Tutor (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 1, 2017
more likely this job was more about meeting new people that come to Austin and they want to see around and learn about the people, city , and college life
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice student position
Peer Financial Aid Advisor (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 30, 2017
This position is great because the work schedule is flexible and
there is assistance if necessary. It is rewarding to be able to help students and parents with financial aid questions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Texas at Austin. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 531 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0

University of Texas at Austin Reviews by Location