University of Texas at Austin Employee Reviews

Found 520 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good working place with a balanced life
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 19, 2017
It is a good working place with a balanced life. Besides, the benefit is good. However, the opportunity for job promotion, especially for a research scientist, is not high.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teaching Ph.D and Master's students
Associate Professor (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 18, 2017
I loved watching young people develop into professional counselors. Teaching was the highlight of my experience. The staff is professionally trained and ethically sound.
Pros
collaborative atmosphere
Cons
professional rivalries
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Building Attendant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 18, 2017
i would unlock buildings
check trash and respond to trouble calls in many different university buildings
i also assisted with other duties as assigned
Pros
benefits
Cons
rude management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunity for growth
Sr. Administrative Associate (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 17, 2017
UT allowed me to continue with my undergraduate degree and move into a management role. We were allowed to have a flex schedule and have 3 days off every other week. It was a very stressful job because of the actual work involved was time sensitive. Training was provided and encouraged.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
collaborative and supportive workplace
Post-Doctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 14, 2017
I was first a graduate student then post doctoral fellow with the department of Molecular Biosciences at University of Texas at Austin. The culture is very collaborative and fosters an environment conducive to higher learning and success. The work and productivity expectations are high but not unreasonable and many of the principle investigators are dedicated to the success of their students and employees.
Pros
benefits are fantastic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits and working environment
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 12, 2017
I provided word processing for annual faculty report, resumes, and letters of reference and recruitment. I communicated with professors and associate chairman regarding assignments.

Learning to get job done in a timely manner.

Much traffic with students and professors and learning to work with much incoming noise.

Professors can be so demanding.

The most enjoyable part of the job interacted with students and professors.
Pros
week off at Christmas
Cons
short breaks, great vacations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job with interesting students
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 10, 2017
My job as a TA at UT Austin was very rewarding. Not only did I get lots of experience with electrical circuit design and troubleshooting, but I also enjoyed helping my students learn new things about mechatronics.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outdated system, but some really excellent research happening.
Graduate Researcher (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 2, 2017
While the academic setting in the Psychology department is conducive to producing a lot of research and training tools for developing research skills, there is no protocol for helping graduate students succeed in industry-related jobs. Mentoring resources for non-academically focused students are becoming more popular at Psychology departments across the country, but it has not taken hold at UT just yet.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meeting people
Volunteer Language Tutor (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 1, 2017
more likely this job was more about meeting new people that come to Austin and they want to see around and learn about the people, city , and college life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice student position
Peer Financial Aid Advisor (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 30, 2017
This position is great because the work schedule is flexible and
there is assistance if necessary. It is rewarding to be able to help students and parents with financial aid questions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about University of Texas at Austin?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Place
Usher (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 30, 2017
Working for this company you get to see some of the events that are being held and meet people from all over the world. The company so make sure that the employees who works a more than 8 hours a day do get a meal. the hardest part of the job is that you do have to stand for a long period of time and you do work in all weather conditions.
Pros
work when you want to work
Cons
standing all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peer-Led Undergraduate Study Coordinator
Peer-Led Undergraduate Study Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Austin, Texas, USJune 29, 2017
I supervised a team of tutors and coordinated meetings to facilitate learning outside of the classroom. The material involved game theory. The leadership position gave me experience in conflict management and ensuring the efficiency of people under me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome job
Document Digitization Technician (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 26, 2017
Exciting opportunities at a wonderful workplace that requires a 150 minimum word review in order to complete this form for no particular reason I know
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
No ping-pong tables
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lab Research Assistant
Lab research assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 24, 2017
Gained practical lab skills including lab safety, and lab maintenance. Familiarity with lab equipment, and proper lab procedure. Largely independent work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UT is a great place to work
Administrative Associate (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 22, 2017
Having worked for the University for the past decade, I can confirm that it is a great place to work and there is a lot of opportunity to learn and develop professionally. I am grateful for my time at UT.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits; poorly run
Assistant Instructor (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 18, 2017
Everyone is generally very nice and the benefits are good, but other than that, I would not suggest working here if you are looking to be inspired about where you are working.
Pros
Benefits; Nice People
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Secretary to the Dean of Undergraduate Business (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 18, 2017
great place to work, really enjoyed working there, enjoyed all the patients and employees, would highly recommend this employer to anyone seeking a job!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, flexible workplace
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 17, 2017
I worked at UT as an undergraduate research assistant, so there was no pay. Hours I worked were pretty flexible, but may depend on who you work for. I learned a lot of skills that I will continue to use.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Lecturer, Department of Philosophy (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 15, 2017
I love the University of Texas at Austin. The people are wonderful, the campus is beautiful, and the health benefits are outstanding. I would recommend working at UT to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 15, 2017
I like working with my colleagues there. They are super helpful and nice. If you have problems, they are so willing to help you. Also, we get along well and hang out together.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Texas at Austin. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 521 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.9
Culture
4.0

CEO Approval

86%
115 ratings
Add your rating

University of Texas at Austin Reviews by Location