University of Texas at Austin Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 20, 2017
Everything at the University was good except the pay. The department I was in did not have room for advancement and pay increases. Most days were normal for a work place. Not a lot of stress in the department I was in. Management at my last position was very accommodating.You made friends with your peers that lasted past your employment.
Pros
Routine not a lot of stress
Cons
not room for advancement in my department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Esl program is crashing
ESL Instructor (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 17, 2017
Autonomous, albeit impersonal work environment; fun job if you can overlook the favoritism and ignore the biases, which are blatantly obvious. Laissez-faire management style. Important to curry favor with management, if you hope to survive. Good benefits, however, little to no job security.
Pros
Fun job
Cons
Major layoffs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy but fun place to work
Account Receivable Specialist (Current Employee) –  austin txNovember 15, 2017
it is a busy fast pace place to work, I wish it just paid more money compaired to other places, but what it lacks in pay it makes up for in benefits..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 13, 2017
The differences in communication styles between men and women has been a topic of interest in the research world for many years. These differences may lead to miscommunication, conflict, and even dissatisfaction between couples. This study analyzes the communication styles among genders, more specifically among married
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends
Volunteer Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 10, 2017
Depends which part of the university you work for. I worked as a student research assistant. Being a university, there are lots of different positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night Staff Supervisor
Staff Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 8, 2017
Working for Food and Housing was a great joy during my time as a night staff supervisor for the residence halls. All staff and management worked well together.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well balanced, stable
Desktop Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Austin, UTNovember 8, 2017
The work-life balance, at least in my department, are very good. Benefits are excellent, pay is ok, vacation is gets better the longer you stay. If you're happy with your position its really easy to stay at UT for a full career.
Pros
Good benefits, vacation, stability
Cons
Pay for staff parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its okay
Phlebotomist II (Former Employee) –  Gatesville, TXNovember 7, 2017
not a bad place to start off! If you don't mind being in a prison, its not a bad place at all. good hours, balanced life. don't pay much, but if your just starting out in the medical field, its great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Parking Enforcement Officer (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 7, 2017
I really enjoy working for the University of Texas. It has helped me with my customer service. They would give white caps to the top ticket writer's which i received 4.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace - Good Work
Summer Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 6, 2017
Great Workplace - Good Work. Can suggest new methods and strategies to the research work. Work pressure is more. And we need to come up with latest methods and technologies to implement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very large, depends on where you work
Academic Advisor (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 5, 2017
Each department is very different and has its own pros and cons. Advising is paid poorly but is fairly balanced and has a great community. Other departments are paid better but far less balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Methodical
Business Analyst Data Warehouse (Current Employee) –  Austin, UTNovember 2, 2017
If you intended to look for a place to work with nice people, this is one of the places that I found. Managers are very reasonable but ask for results.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Research associate (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 31, 2017
Austin is good place for living. There are alot activities on campus if you want to join in. Work load depends on your direct boss. I think most of them are not too harsh.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place with lot of opportunities for advancement
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 31, 2017
Typical day at work is very busy
Lot of opportunities to learn
very helpful coworkers
very competitive and stressful at times
enjoyable and fun filled work place
Pros
Free lunches, holiday party
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review as Student Associate
Student Associate (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 30, 2017
Most, if not all, university offices work closely with their student workers to create an unique schedule to balance school, work, and life. They prepare you to succeed by developing your strengths in the related environment.
Pros
Flexible Schedules
Cons
Most likely to receive 20 hours per week
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working place
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 29, 2017
It was a good working place. But I had to leave the job because of lack of funding. My supervisor was excellent and the working culture. people in the lab were very helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balanced, low-stress, great benefits, salary on the low side.
Media Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 27, 2017
A great place to work - state jobs that provide great benefits and job security. Campus is beautiful with many food/lunch options nearby. Located in central Austin, near the Capitol Building. There are several way to commute here so you don't have to deal with bad morning traffic. Overall, a pleasant and supportive employer.
Pros
Benefits, location
Cons
Salaries not all that high
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great college job.
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 25, 2017
I worked as a lifeguard. As you'd expect, the job could get boring, but the management and coworkers were friendly and made the work fun. Working at RecSports is how I found my family on campus.
Pros
flexible scheduling, low effort
Cons
understaffing makes scheduling tight during peak seasons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 25, 2017
I always arrive early, I love the quiet time. I have office open by 8 to welcome all guest. Of most importance, maintenance request need to be submitted asap.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University
Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 19, 2017
Worked with excellent people and did a job I loved. It was hard to find much wrong with the university as an employer. They were going through a budget crunch, so advancement was limited.
Pros
Unlimited learning opportunities
Cons
Low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Texas at Austin. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 601 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0