University of Texas at El Paso Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly motivated research lab
GRADUATE RESEARCH ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  El Paso, TXFebruary 4, 2018
I work here as a graduate student. I have both teaching and research responsibilities. The supervising professor for teaching is very cooperative and understanding. The research group is a highly motivated place. The atmosphere overall is very congenial and friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Concession stand
Miner Maniacs (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXFebruary 3, 2018
Worked at the concession stand at UTEP. The concession stand is not there anymore and was replaced by a new store. This was a work study job and great for students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment and community
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXFebruary 2, 2018
Overall great community, everyone was friendly, the weather was nice, and the projects were challenging. The program was coordinated well and for the most part, the faculty and staff were friendly.
Pros
Nice campus, friendly community, safe
Cons
Very hot outside
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A collaborative and nice environment to work
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  El Paso, TXFebruary 1, 2018
Great management who are ready to help if you encounter any problem at the workplace
Salary a bit below average
The speed required in getting work done changes intermittently
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJanuary 19, 2018
I had an excellent time working for UTEP. If you are a work study student the department you work for, works with your school schedule. There are several restaurants on campus and the ambiance is easy going.
Pros
Could arrange schedule
Cons
Limited hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for students
Health Peer Educator (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJanuary 7, 2018
laid back
flexible
good for students
learning experience
fun
collaborative
creative
part time so no benefits
good for extra income
temporary
interesting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJanuary 5, 2018
The hardest part of the job was any part of the year where students were not around, because it made the days very slow. Each day was a new experience, and there was always something to learn. The benefits were great, not only healthcare, medical and dental, but also the educational benefits. The work environment was conducive to creativity and each manager I had was fantastic.
Pros
educational benefits
Cons
had to pay for parking
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXDecember 13, 2017
The change to People soft account software was not done properly and was so bad, you could not count on the information. hiring freeze is affecting the work load on existing staff.
Pros
health insurance
Cons
overworked staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive environment especially surrounding our program
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXDecember 10, 2017
I’m very thankful for the opportunity i was given to earn my masters and coach while doing so. Especially since being an ex player of the same team it really meant a lot that i was allowed to coach there as well
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work
Financial Aid Advisor (Current Employee) –  El Paso, TXDecember 8, 2017
Terrific professional place to work. Opportunities for learning are available and resources are user friendly. Workplace culture is friendly, family away from home. There are no hard parts of the job. The most enjoyable part of the job is assisting students in their educational and financial success.
Pros
Benefits, work schedule, campus culture
Cons
Annual salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job
Athletic Trainer (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXDecember 4, 2017
I honestly saw this as the best career I have had, even though it was only for Work-Study. There was so much self-improvement and teaching that it made the experience so enjoyable. Honestly forgot this was a job from how much I enjoyed what I did.
Pros
Self-Improvement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXNovember 10, 2017
I enjoyed the faculty at the university. Everyone was willing to help with any research questions. The professors will always lend a hand if one needs it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad when you work as a grad student
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXOctober 5, 2017
But we don't get paid much. Around $1000 a month and you can't work elsewhere. 20 hours per week. My boss and workplace were great. The summer and winter break are slower.
Pros
Worked and studied at the same place
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Assistant
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  El Paso, TXOctober 3, 2017
Duties include but are not limited to:
- Grading
- In class participation
- elevated writing and communication skills
- conflict management and resolution
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to launch your career!
Director (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXSeptember 19, 2017
The university provides core transferable skills and abilities, helping you be successful in your career. The beautiful campus is complimented by gorgeous mountains.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Suitable employment
Manager (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TX 79968September 11, 2017
Great place to work. Duties were great and full filling. My only complaint was management. Not supportive at the time and disorganized. Human Resources sides with management no matter what when they are supposed to be a mediator. That made me lose respect for the culture there.
Pros
Work was enjoyable
Cons
HR is unfair and management takes advantage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work enviroment
Sports Marketing Assistant (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXAugust 24, 2017
Great opportunity to meet international colleges and get published work. Writing ability for TV, CNN, National Geographic, journals, US cronicals and magazines.
Pros
Writing exposure
Cons
stuck at a desk post of the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for and Undergraduate biology student
Laboratory Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXAugust 14, 2017
I gained invaluable experience while working as an undergraduate. I wouldn't change a thing. All the professors have a vested interest in your future and it shows with how much opportunity they afford you in labs if you are willing to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job to start college life.
Undergraduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXAugust 2, 2017
Nice way to start College life. The manager is very flexible since she understands that we have classes to take care and to maintain good grades. Recommend this job for future college students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and
Lecturer Communication Department (Current Employee) –  El Paso, TXAugust 2, 2017
Friendly environment
Learned to manage and adjust instruction to meet student need
Family friendly
Hardest part is not having a permanent full time appointment
Most enjoyable part is interacting with my students
Pros
great schedule
Cons
no full time appointments offered
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Texas at El Paso. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 134 reviews
559
452
319
23
11

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

University of Texas at El Paso Reviews by Location