University of Texas at San Antonio Employee Reviews

Showing all 102 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Execellent University
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 14, 2017
UTSA provides top notch education to all of their students and allow opportunities for each student to gain all the necessary skills to be successful in their fields.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment.
Public Safety Officer (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 8, 2017
Patrols assigned area on foot, in assigned motor vehicle, or other specialized vehicle to ensure personal, building, and equipment security.
Examines doors, windows, and gates to ensure security; uses University keys to open and close buildings; monitors closed buildings for unauthorized persons and/or suspicious activities.
Informs and warns violators of rule infractions, such as loitering, smoking, or carrying forbidden articles.
Provides escort services for visitors, students, staff, and faculty, as necessary; provides other public assistance, such as lockout services, jump-starts, and routine information
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working at UTSA
Adjunct Professor Education (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 26, 2017
I enjoyed the opportunity to work with UTSA in the COEHD department. The classes were challenging to teach and gave me a new perspective on teaching.
Pros
Enjoyed working with the college students and being involved with UTSA.
Cons
The pay for adjunct professors is very low
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and job security
N/A (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 23, 2017
Great place to work overall, but not many opportunities for advancement and professional development. You can work in a great office with great people, but you have to do your research. Find out if you will actually fit in.
Pros
benefits
Cons
dealing with office politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encourages growth and a healthy work environment.
SI Leader (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 18, 2017
Very inviting place to work. I enjoyed my time there, and have no regrets working there. The pay was excellent, and my boss was very friendly and understanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching assistant job
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 16, 2017
It is an environment where you can grow by learning each and every day from your colleges and also your professor. You talk and interact with students, gain knowledge each and every day.
Pros
lunches, relaxed environment
Cons
he systemno career advancement in t
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time job while in school
Math Instructor (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 7, 2017
Supervisors understood that they were hiring students with obligations outside work and were very understanding. Instructed remedial mathematics courses and built curriculum for Algebra classes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and interesting place to research with different departments and laboratories
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 30, 2017
As a graduate researcher, i learned most of the technical skills and implemented them at projects which were collaborated with the university's various departments. I got a chance to work with various departments and also learned some skills which are related to the projects .
Pros
Good guides and Professors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tutor
Roadrunner Reader Tutor (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 17, 2017
The job was fairly easy. Tutoring and working with elementary aged kids helped my develop the skills I needed to become a preschool teacher. Very exciting job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and fun loving environment.
Administrative Assistant III (Current Employee) –  San Antonio TXMay 16, 2017
Fast paced and teaming with bright young minds eager to learn. The most enjoyable part of my day is seeing the students getting off the bus each morning and walking up the side walk smiling.
Pros
Free health care for employees and reduced for families.
Cons
Getting up at 4:30 am each morning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work
Assistant Director of Orientation (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 15, 2017
This is an exciting place to work. The growth of the institution provides for opportunities across the university. The students are excellent, and the staff phenomenal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inclusive and Ambitious
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 13, 2017
The team is dedicated to conducting quality research and providing meaningful findings that contribute to the community. I highly recommend UTSA to anyone wanting a one of a kind experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace culture
Research Analyst (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 13, 2017
Working in the academic environment can be challenging, especially since a large portion of the professors wear their political beliefs on their sleeve. This in turn creates an uncomfortable work environment.
Pros
The job
Cons
The people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Graduate Assistant, English Instructor (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 5, 2017
All the professors are willing to share their experiences and guide their students very well. I enjoyed teaching classes in my current job and it helped me improve my teaching skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair treatment of NTTs
Lecturer I (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXFebruary 27, 2017
My department has suffered unbearable cuts from all sides under the careless management of our University. NTTs are the most vulnerable employees at UTSA, we get paid the least and work the most with the least amount of benefits and job security and are just thrown in the trash. The students suffer and we are just circling the drain. There is no time for professional development, we are stuck in the trenches just barely scraping by. Shameful decisions by administrators are hurting real people. Meanwhile football is really taking off...
Pros
Comraderie in the department
Cons
Low wage, unstable work environment, demoralized by management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  TexasFebruary 7, 2017
Really best place to improve our self to get more technically strong and experience new technologies.
I learned new technologies over here .
Management is really awesome.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The mentorship is invaluable.
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 18, 2017
The entire staff is very encouraging and patient. The work ethic and dedication clearly seen with their history and ongoing research. Management allowed the development of a family atmosphere.
Pros
Brilliant and dedicated staff
Cons
Had to walk more than 100 ft from parking to facility
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for Kinesiology Majors
Strength and Conditioning Coach (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 17, 2017
Work study is a great opportunity for students at UTSA. It offered me enough time to focus on school while still working on the clock.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
SUPPLEMENTAL INSTRUCTOR (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 16, 2017
This school is located in San Antonio Texas area. The management is extremely very supportive and the students are very diligent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, team-oriented, encourage personal growth development.
Peer Mentor (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 2, 2017
The direct supervisors always make sure that the employees felt appreciated. Also, the supervisors help the employees to develop strong team support while at the same time encouraging each individual to growth personally.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Texas at San Antonio. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 102 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2

CEO Approval

95%
20 ratings
Add your rating

University of Texas at San Antonio Reviews by Location