University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 37 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Training Specialist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 8, 2017
Nice environment with great people to work with. Challenging yet engaging with supportive management. Diverse culture yet everyone respects each other.
Pros
Flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mdacc
Student (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 23, 2017
Amazing place to work
8 hrs shift
you can learn so many things
amazing management
friendly environment
the hardest part of the job is nothing
amazing colleagues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Love It
Diagnostic Imaging Service Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 19, 2017
Currently my management team is terrible and I'm trying to transfer...overall the institution is a wonderful place to work.
Makes you happy to put a smile on a patients face.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great!
Lead Educator (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 18, 2017
Great place to work. Pleasant atmosphere. Patient safety is priority at all times!

Team is awesome! Best Sterile Processing Team in Texas!
great! great! great!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employement Expereince
Associate Director (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 9, 2017
Research and academia focused
Leadership development opportunities
Patient focused care
#1 Cancer institution in the world


Culture is difficult to change
Large institution with many department working on similar initiatives
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what you know, but who you know
Personnel Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 8, 2017
Advancement is not based on merit (education, experience or hard work). Advancement is based on who you know or who the leadership likes. Management not experienced and partial. Classes and training available, but the huge workload will not allow the time for training. You will be given tasks with little or no training.
Pros
Admirable organization mission
Cons
Heavy work load, micro management, job instability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits and Worklife Balance
Personnel Assistant - Office of the CIO (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 19, 2017
MD Anderson was a wonderful place to work. My experience with the upper management and peers was the best. They also have a comprehensive compensation and benefits package that is second to none. If given the opportunity I would return to work there throughout the remainder of my career.
Pros
Multicultural
Cons
Too many politics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good Place To Work
Diagnostic Imaging Service Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 28, 2017
Place of growth.
Excellent Benefits.
A day at work can be stressful, but rewarding
All Cultures which gives learning experience
I enjoy helping pts.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Do Not Promote Easily
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 13, 2017
Very energetic work atmosphere. Team work is very important and encouraged. Very enjoyable knowing that you are working with staff to help eliminate and find cures to cancer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Enviroment
Sr. Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 24, 2017
Great Institution to work for. Although Management is not great. Very Diverse workplace. The hard part is dealing with management. The most enjoyable part is help people and the hardest is management. I have learned a great deal of skills working here.
Pros
salary
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Safety Specialist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TX 77030January 19, 2017
The goal of the institution is relevant to all man-kind. Employees work hard, train hard, and continuously educated themselves on innovative ways to meet that goal. Management practices are fair and relevant to the operations of the institution.
Pros
Teams working together to meet its goals.
Cons
Financial setbacks affecting its operations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Senior Autopsy Technician (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 11, 2017
A Typical Day at work included many cases/ Problem solving. Staff was more than helpful, but attentive and determined to finish the task. My manager effortlessly kept good rapport with employee, did excellent job in collaborating. My co worker was diligent, not limited to extending any extra hand/ time if available.The most satisfaction I received at my job was learning how to be an efficient worker with little/ minimum mistakes.
Pros
learning opportunities
Cons
layoffs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mdacc review
Accountant I (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 9, 2017
I have worked at MDACC for over 12 years. The work life balance of the workplace makes it a great place to work. I have had great career opportunities through out my career here. The benefits the company offers are very competitive. I enjoyed my co-workers, we all had a great working relationship as well as work relationship. The most challenging part of the job was the commute to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State Job with excellent healthcare and competiteive salaries
Transportation Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TX 77025January 5, 2017
Overall good company whose mission statement is healing. And that's always gold star in my book. Lots of outsourcing to contractors today. Salaries and boutique benefits--- dental, health, and retirement, plans under attack.
Pros
A state job with free healthcare for singles.
Cons
Lot of outsourcing and inshoring of foreign labor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Professional
Sr. Administrative Assistant/Surgical Oncology (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 5, 2017
Negative environment all the time. Benefits were not good. Pay was not good. Management was not the best. Overall not a good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Patient Services Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 22, 2016
MD Anderson is a great place to work and advance in healthcare.

MD Anderson values their employees although it is sometimes hard to move up within the organization without obtaining a BSN.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work here
Scientist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 10, 2016
It is a nice place to work. I am so impressed and pleased to be worked here for making cancer history.Great work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everything is OK
Research Assistant II, Department of Pathology (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 29, 2016
I worked in the research lab of pathology, and learned many traditional and new skills about pathology and biology. Everyone in the lab is so nice to cooperate with each other. The most enjoyable part of the job is that I can learn many new things with everyone, anytime, anywhere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Patient Unit Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 4, 2016
This is an amazing place to work. Great benefits and great place for cancer treatment. This place is huge but there is always room for career growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful coworkers
Building Attendant (Current Employee) –  1515 holcombeJanuary 12, 2016
nice place to work the benefits are good.. enjoy meeting the patients and family. the doctors are very hands on with there patients, everyone greets you upon arrival
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 37 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
4.2
Management
3.8
Culture
4.2

University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center Reviews by Location