University of Texas Medical Branch Employee Reviews

Found 418 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work overall
Information Writer/Editor (Former Employee) –  Galveston,TXMarch 27, 2017
I worked here many years ago. The institution has many good attributes. It is an interesting mix of medical and educational professionals with a large support staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Correctional Clinical Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 27, 2017
Working corrections with UTMB can be a challenge but it was very interesting at the same time, I enjoyed the company along with the benefits but my safety wasn't number 1 priority with the company and that's what I did not like,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees nice BUT over worked
Ophthalmic Technician (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXMarch 25, 2017
if your ok with being micro-managed, not being heard, not advancing, being a robot, not getting paid what you are worth, enjoying drama, enjoy getting talked to crazy by patients, being lied to about what you really thought you were being hired for, being lied to how the company really operates, enjoy tattle tellers, enjoy administrators, supervisors who tries and throw you under the bus or who just don't care, or enjoy a place that is boring<<favoritism, or enjoy not having incentives, or constant write ups
Pros
Insurance good
Cons
long hours/short lunches and constant travel the 25% stuff they tell you is a LIE
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good introduction into multi-specialty coding
Senior Medical Coder (Current Employee) –  Galveston, TXMarch 20, 2017
Willingness to teach coding to medical coders and physicians in order to successfully capture hospital encounters. Routine weekly meetings to discus issues, questions and advice.
Pros
Working from home
Cons
Office/co-worker connection
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement
Administrative Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Galveston, TXMarch 13, 2017
Tend to look for external employees instead of promoting within. Should look at skills and promote within department. Great talent is overlooked.
Depts should also consider flex schedules to reduce va/sl being used.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy the department that I am apart of
Business Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Galveston, TXMarch 8, 2017
Management was extremely supportive when I was pursuing my bachelors degree. They worked with my scheduling and encouraged me along the way. When I needed time off for school assignments, there was no problem with approval.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed, but unorganized and stressful
Desktop Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Galveston, TXMarch 7, 2017
The benefits are fantastic, but the daily job requirements are too unreasonable for the amount of pay received. The amount of bureaucratic nonsense that goes behind the scenes of this company out phenomenally outrageous.
Pros
Paid Benefits
Cons
System infrastsructure is too poorly maintained
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training in Trauma ED
Nurse Clinician II (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXFebruary 20, 2017
Only worked there for 1 year and enjoyed the ED trauma learning experiences. Educational opportunities superb! Worked 12 hour shifts with wonderful teams.
Pros
Great learning opportunity
Cons
poor salaries
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for.
Registered Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bryan, TXFebruary 17, 2017
working with this company was like been at school every day. so much to learn, I learn a lot about medical terminology, diagnosis, and variety of treatments.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace, Needs better management
Stores Clerk II (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, TXFebruary 16, 2017
This is a very good place to work. The work is easy and not too demanding. I think they should do some readjusting to their management staff because sometimes it feels as if the management is against the lower employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about University of Texas Medical Branch?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, great people
Licensed Vocational Nurse (Former Employee) –  Lockhart TexasFebruary 16, 2017
The pay was fair. The job was very structured. Knowledgeable and caring staff. This is a great job for a veteran.
Training was 2 weeks long, and 125 miles from the work site.
Pros
Military like structure and order.
Cons
Understaffed on weekends and the mold in the building was horrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Health Unit Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Galveston, TXFebruary 14, 2017
The benefits are great but because I work 8 hour shifts it seems as though I'm here all the time. The staff can be rude and uninviting but you kind of get used to it. The visitation is so open and I had to get used to that.

Pros: great benefits
cons: I'm here everyday almost
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical state university.
Assistant Professor, research track. (Current Employee) –  Galveston, TXFebruary 12, 2017
Good Benefits.
Lots of bureaucracy.
Good Scientific environment.
New contentious faculty compensation plan.
Financial decisions taken for the Health side of the institution (ie new hospital) can have drastic consequences on the Research side (shrinking budget).
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work was good
Senior Applications Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXFebruary 11, 2017
Work was good, management not so much. Expectations were hard to manage and there were double standards. Training was nonexistent.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resident who trained here
medical resident (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXFebruary 11, 2017
I did my medical residency here.
Honestly, I have some good memories. Overall nice people.

But the prison hospital is ridiculous, should have been shut down a long time ago. That place is miserable and will suck the life out of you.
Pros
overall nice people, decent benefits
Cons
prison hospital; galveston is just ok
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not a bad place
ANESTHESIA TECHNICIAN II (Current Employee) –  Galveston, TXFebruary 8, 2017
This is a hospital that seems massive in size but because this place is very homey, it has the small town feel for a hospital. Most of the people here actually know each other which makes this place in its own way like a large family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Mental Health Clinician (Former Employee) –  Marlin, TX 76661February 3, 2017
The supervisor had no idea what was happening at my job. The supervisors I had within the 3 years I worked there were 4. Three out of the four used me to do all the work. They choice not to do their job and made me the scapegoat for their problems. I was isolated with no support.
Pros
I did my job eithically and I work hard everyday.
Cons
I had no suport.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work was enjoyable
Correctional Clinical Associate (Current Employee) –  Teague, TXFebruary 2, 2017
A typical day at work was chaotic to say the least. I learned how to effectively communicate in a professional manner, as well as deal with hostile customers in an effective, but professional way. The management was ok, although there were some things that should have and could have been dealt with but always seemed to be pushed to the side. The work place culture often lacked the secure mind. Employees became complacent in their every day duties until there was a tragedy that triggered them to go back in to the "secure" mind.
Pros
Excellent Benefits, Paid time off
Cons
Long days, deal with hostile co workers as well as customers
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Healthcare business
Health Unit Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Angleton, TXJanuary 26, 2017
• Efficiently managed up to 16 patient’s personal records nightly throughout multiple units.
• Worked with a matrix team of 6 in taking care of all of the patient’s need.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good employer for fresh graduates
Research Associate-II (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXJanuary 26, 2017
UTMB is a good place to start a career in the Houston area. I like the place especially since Galveston is a beautiful city and the people are great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Texas Medical Branch. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 419 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7

University of Texas Medical Branch Reviews by Location