University of Texas Medical Branch Employee Reviews

Found 380 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Correctional Clinical Associate (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXAugust 31, 2016
The most enjoyable part of the job is serving the community that you live in, and the convenient locations of surrounding clinics. I've worked with a great group of people, and great leaders. The services provided, and excellent patient care is what makes UTMB a great place to work.
Pros
Daily commute is not bad at all.
Cons
A great distance to walk from the parking areas on the main campus.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
ADMINISTRATIVE COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXAugust 30, 2016
Worked at UTMB for 15 years, I had a good team to work with, we helped so many with the counseling we provided for employee's and their family memebers
Pros
Free medical and TRS
Cons
Sometimes managers aren't trained well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive place to work
Medical Assistant /PCT/ Phlebotomist/Cast Tech (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXAugust 29, 2016
This place has been a part of my life for a long time. Great place to work and learn different things in medicine. Wonderful team! Exciting things to see everyday. Awesome medical benefits. They care about you and your family. Fun meeting different people from all walks of life
Pros
benefits and accrued time
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Correctional Nurse (LVN) (Current Employee) –  Galveston, TXAugust 23, 2016
I currently work for this company as a LVN..This is an excellent company to work for...The benefits are great and you also have a great chance at advancing here.
Pros
benefits
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunities
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Galveston, TXAugust 17, 2016
UTMB has many opportunities for its employees to learn a great deal about providing quality customer service while providing excellent health care. I have had the luxury of moving between departments which has helped me grow professionally.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't take this job
former dental assistant (Former Employee) –  Travis, Kyle, LockhartAugust 15, 2016
This job was one of the more horrible experiences in my life. The dental staff are treacherous in a bullying, verbal abusive way. There is a high turnover of dental assistants within UTMB. Move on to something else if you know what's good for you!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good overall
Mental Health Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Livingston, TXAugust 14, 2016
UTMB is a good company to work for. As a Correctional Managed Care employee, my opportunities to see interact with the main campus and operations is very limited. Like all large entities, it has some problems, but it is generally a good place to work.
Pros
Security, Quality peers
Cons
Limited advancement opportunities. HR polices can be demoralizing.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We are a family and work to provide the best patient care.
Health Unit Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Galveston, TXAugust 13, 2016
The NICU is fast paced. My co-workers and I work as a team to make sure all work is done for each patient. The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing I can make a difference in the smallest of ways.
Pros
medical, dental and vision insurance. Longevity pay
Cons
Getting a break can be challenging on some days
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job could be better
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, TXAugust 8, 2016
The job could offer better for PCT's and Med Aids. I also feel like they should have a part time schedule for people that would like to continue their education. The only reason why I resigned from my job is because they did not allow part time or a different type of shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Financial Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXAugust 1, 2016
The company culture is one with a lot of bureaucratic red tape. The company does not enforce self thinking, self inventing, or bringing new ideas to the table. The department morale is very low. I have never seen so many employees leaving for other jobs, as I have with this employer.
Pros
Free Healthcare, longevity pay after 2 years, good pay, wellness programs.
Cons
Management is constantly looking over your shoulder.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy ED
Emergency Room RN (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXAugust 1, 2016
I was able to learn a lot from this ED and improve my assessment skills. Most of the people were really fun to work with but, there was one clique of nurses that made working somewhat difficult at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office was pleasent
CSR II (Former Employee) –  Dickinson, TXJuly 26, 2016
Posted daily charges, processed patients, maintained confidential files, answered phones. The learned working for a large company can have lots of red tape. I enjoyed my boss and coworkers. The hardest part of the job was to get things approved to improve the business. The most enjoyable part was the patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace with lots of great people to work with.
Floor Stocker (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TX 77550July 25, 2016
A typical day at work was a normal day. real busy, not a lot of time to sit in talk because it was stuff the that needed to get done at the time. Working there I learned what working as a team about and my co-workers helped me with that. The hardest part of the job is when it got busy but that was expected, working there I enjoyed the people as well as the work that came with it.
Pros
Free lunchs
Cons
Health care
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Sr. Online Training Specialist (Current Employee) –  Galveston, TXJuly 25, 2016
Friendly environment.
Close to home.
Love my Co-worker.
Working near the ocean.
Great recognition.
Great work schedules and allows work from home.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization
Admitting Coordinator II (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 25, 2016
Awesome professional co-workers and Bosses!
Bosses were fair and respectful to employees. We looked forward to
seeing our bosses from Galveston.
Cons
Hospital Closed
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a productive place to work.
Histology Student (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXJuly 19, 2016
A typical day for me would be to come in and make labeled slides on the slide writer for surgical cases. Then assist other histotechs with
popping their embedded blocks. Afterwards, embed autopsy tissue.
Take a break then clean metal molds. Possibly file blocks. Deliver
surgical case to the pathology department.
I learned to work quickly in a heavy workload.
The management was undergoing various changes at the time.
My co-workers were at odds sometimes.
The hardest part of the job was working with difficult personalities.
The most enjoyable part was all the knowledge I gained while interning at UTMB.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working with faculty members and interesting field of study
Business Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXJuly 18, 2016
I worked for UTMB for 12 years. When I was having problems staying focused because my Mom was on her death bed, Administration felt the need to set up for counseling. I was aggravated at first, but ended up needing them in the end. However, they felt I needed some time off and sent me home for 30 days. I believed I needed the work environment to help me not grieve so hard.
Pros
great faculty members to work for, interesting job, co-workers were very nice
Cons
Administration didn't understand what was really taking place on a day to day basis
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work at
Mental Health Clinician (Former Employee) –  Tennessee Colony, TXJuly 16, 2016
There is a high level of professionalism and motivation for the professional advancement of staff within the organization.
Pros
Free training and workshops for staff
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would seriously hesitate to work for this company again given the management they employed when I worked there.
Charge Nurse (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJuly 16, 2016
Co-workers could be un-cooperative. When asked to do a task, they did not hesitate to say "no". Management did not support me in this area.
I learned to better prioritize my time.
The most enjoyable part of my job was to help the inmates.
Pros
helping the inmates without being judgemental
Cons
lack of support from co-workers and management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the diversity at UTMB,Fun place to work.
Adminstrative Associate (Former Employee) –  Galveston Island, TXJuly 7, 2016
I loved working there until my contract was up. Meeting new people everyday and learning new customs. Like the fact that I could workout at my place of employment and the health benefits that went along with it.
Pros
easy access to job
Cons
parking!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 381 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7

University of Texas Medical Branch Reviews by Location