Find companies:
University Of Washington
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
196 reviews

University Of Washington Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a major university with the usual pluses and minuses
Curriculum Development - Teaching Courses (Current Employee), Seattle WADecember 13, 2014
Pros: teaching
Cons: hr, administrators
I love teaching and long classes with bright students. I learned as I always do that teachers learn more than they teach. Top management, i.e. Deans are first rate. It falls off from there. The more titles, the more academic jealousy especially from those with mediocre accomplishments. Strong bias against non-academics except those serving food or sweeping – more... floors. The hard part of this job is fielding non-content complaints from academic administrators. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The University of Washington is a place of incourgement.
Motor Vehicle Service Attendant (Current Employee), Seattle, WADecember 9, 2014
Pros: shop bq, s twice a year with monies from pop sales.
Cons: i like the 1 hour lunches
It's a great place to work everyone is greeted with a smile. We start the day with a 5 to 10 minuet meeting to go over the plan of the day and safety tips. I like the way management lend space for self supervision, my co-workers are always willing to exchance information and Ideals about work. I've learned a lot of thing about the vehicles we service, – more... and making the customer feel informed when they have questions. They say if you like what you do you'll never know a days work. That what working at the U has been for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on what dept or lab you are in
Sr. Computing Specialist (Current Employee), Seattle, WADecember 8, 2014
I have worked in several labs and it can vary greatly. Some labs have been great and others terrible. The UW does offer great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average at best
Senior Fellow (Current Employee), Seattle, WADecember 7, 2014
Depending on who you work for this can be a great experience or you may dread each day. Some expect hours well over what you were told or expect you to do things that were never disclosed when interviewing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a Great place to work at.
End Device Support Supervisor (Former Employee), Seattle, WADecember 3, 2014
Pros: location to restaurants.
I learned more than words can express while working at the UW and the feel from the staff and my team was not measurable to say the least.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work.
Computer Science Tutor (Former Employee), bothell, waNovember 16, 2014
Working as a tutor at University of Washington Bothell is enjoyable experience. I helped students on their assignments by explaining the concept and approach how to solve it. But at the same time, this helped me improving my self as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Washington has great benefits and opportunities.
Outpatient Charge Coordinator (Current Employee), Seattle, WANovember 15, 2014
The students and researchers are top notch. There are so many interesting projects and people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Assistant to the Investment Team (Former Employee), Seattle, WANovember 6, 2014
My role was temporary during a period of being short staffed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting & challenging work that offers an opportunity to make a meaningful contribution.
Grants and Human Subjects Manager (Current Employee), Seattle, WAOctober 27, 2014
Pros: good salary, excellent benefits
Cons: periods of high stress.
the Social Development Research Group is a non-academic research environment. The researchers at SDRG are professional and appreciate the non-research professionals (like myself) for the assistance that they provide.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it was a eye-opening healthcare experience
Senior Consultant (Former Employee), Seattle, WAOctober 26, 2014
Pros: it's a trauma center and they save lives!
Cons: public sector salaries tend to be less than private sector
A typical day was never the same. I advised and counseled clinical and non-clinical client groups on human resources issues. A day involved meeting with management, the union, and/or employees.

I learned that management, the union and employees all had a vested interest in making the workplace a productive, safe, and harmonious environment.

My coworkers – more... were experienced with much tenure. They were resourceful and helpful and interested in the greater good for all persons in human resources.

Hardest part of my job was navigating the State system .

The most enjoyable aspects of my job was working with such experienced and dedicated clinical and non-clinical professionals. I also enjoyed an alternate work schedule. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good computer lab and support
Computer Operator/Helpdesk Support (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAOctober 25, 2014
Working at the IT department of the University of Washington Tacoma is a good chance to improve your IT technology experience while you are a full-time student. Computer lab helps students with its high capacity and strong supports for school staffs as needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, historical and cultural research
Intern (Former Employee), Seattle, WAOctober 25, 2014
Managed well, laid back, highly academic. This was a really fun thing to do!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn leadership.
COMPUTER SCIENCE TA (Current Employee), Seattle, WAOctober 19, 2014
Friendly and vested is making you a better person. Co-workers are friendly, and bosses are understanding. As an undergraduate TA, it would be easy for the department to abuse us, but instead we are treated as equals and are given a ton of responsibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convenient workplace for students
Student Assistant (Current Employee), Seattle, WAOctober 17, 2014
During the week, I am in a gatehouse on campus selling permits to customers who would like to park. I would usually have to give customers directions for certain parking lots or buildings in which they are going to. I have become proficient in handling cash as I work with it everyday. As some of the lots around campus are restricted during the day, – more... I have learned some people are not going to take no for an answer and you must try to work with them as best as possible. Management facilitates the incorporation of the students with the full time employees which helps camaraderie. The hardest and most enjoyable part of the job are the customers. Like I mentioned before, some customers do not take no for an answer. For the most part, I enjoy making conversation with the customers as it makes my day more pleasant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting discoveries and innovations
Research Coordinator, Medical Genetics (Current Employee), Seattle, WAOctober 16, 2014
Pros: mentally stimulating; extremely respectful and supportive of employees, beautiful views, great gym
Cons: big city issues - traffic congestion, petty crimes, etc
I support a Professor and his wife in our division. I assist with correspondence, PPT presentations, data sorting and presentation, travel reimbursements, and more.

I order supplies for the department and affiliated labs. I also reconcile invoices for the entire division.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creating great working relationships
Liaison (Former Employee), Seattle, WAOctober 10, 2014
Pros: government/professional/community relations, problem solving, education
Cons: reimbursed travel expenses
I loved this job, the places I got to go, the projects that helped professionals and the community were amazing to be a part of. I communicated with so many people in person and via "Telehealth" for education and training from Wyoming, Washington, Alaska, Montana, Idaho, North Dakota and South Dakota. I was the Liaison who worked with no supervision – more... in the field, talking and meeting with Doctors, Nurses, Hospital Administrators, Government Leaders regarding Community Health Awareness, Education and Issues. I set up hardware to be used for Telehealth projects, I wrote Memorandums of Understanding, Resolutions and agendas. The biggest challenge of the job was the salary was not competitive. I would have stayed anyway had I not had to face the challenge called cancer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn
Peer Mentor (Former Employee), Seattle, WASeptember 29, 2014
Taught me a lot about myself as an educator and as a student. Still many opportunities to improve within the program, but it's still early and I see a lot of potential for future Tutor/Mentors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job (Career) Killer!
Member Services Coordinator - Rec. Sports Programs (Former Employee), Seattle, WA.September 22, 2014
UW is destructive place where job seekers go to end their careers, not to enhance it. Office politics, and shady deals play a lot of their philosophy. Remember UW is a job killer!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very uplifting and satisfying place to work
Program Assistant II and III (Former Employee), Seattle, WASeptember 18, 2014
I worked at a number of departments at the UW and thoroughly enjoyed them all. However, my all time favorite was Civil Engineering.
My last job at CE was being responsible for all of the Graduate and Undergraduate students, their applications and files, the NSF report, registration and entry cards, room assignments, interaction and correspondence with – more... students trying to enter the program as well as with the Registrar's office, typing, phones, as well as supervising two additional employees.
I learned that I really loved working with the students.
The hardest part of the job was when their was a "freeze" on hiring and I had to do two jobs.
The most enjoyable part of the job was the whole thing! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable environment alongside ships engineering crew and helping out ships scientists
3rd Assistant Engineer (Former Employee), Seattle, WAAugust 28, 2014
Pros: great shipboard life with crew and scientific researchers
Worked alongside two other licensed marine engineers while conducting preventative and scheduled maintenance on ships machinery. Supervised several unlicensed engineers with their daily duties. Daily duties I conducted included rebuilding pumps, creation of ships potable water through reverse osmosis, treatment and disposal of ships sewage, making thorough – more... rounds of engine room machinery looking for leaks, observing gauge readouts, and listening for irregular noises. I became a more skilled electrician, and more confident diesel engine mechanic after rebuilding one of our Caterpillar generators. I always looked forward to my work shift and working alongside the unlicensed engineers that were part of my shift. In addition, I made myself readily available to arriving early for my shift and staying much later after my shift to assist the other crews where help was needed. – less

1 2 3 4 5