University of Wisconsin-Madison Employee Reviews

Showing all 94 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place as a student. Very Lively
Research Assistant-Plasma Diagnostics (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIFebruary 9, 2017
I was a research assistant. So I went into a lab ever day.
The hardest part about the job was trying to communicate with advisor and colleagues.
Pros
flexible with schedule
Cons
Very fast paced work place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Student
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIFebruary 7, 2017
Great place to work with good pay and with lots of opportunity in research. Helpful supervisor and faculties are great.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and encouraging work place fostering creativity and experimentation.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIFebruary 6, 2017
Design curriculum for Intro to Creative Writing workshop. Design, administer, and grade original writing exercises, craft lectures, and one-on-one consultation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corrupt University with no job ethics
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIFebruary 2, 2017
Never recommend the School of medicine and public health for any researcher. There is a hierarchy and this will work all the way to chancellor. If you do not have a good connection you have no chances of promotion. There is extreme amount of conspiracy and ill talking among employees. Horrible management and ignorance of moral rules.
Pros
Good equipment for research
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience working in flexible environment
Systems Programmer (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIFebruary 2, 2017
Tons of opportunity for personal development because of the challenging tasks, flexible work environment that puts a premium on initiative. Not a whole lot of opportunities for promotions/advancement though.
Bosses can also be irresponsible because of the tenured nature of their jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with smart and productive professors
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIJanuary 27, 2017
The working environment in my department is great. All the colleagues are very collaborative and productive. Professors ware willing to work and teach graduate students. Students learn greatly in the process of working.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High level academic institution.
Director Office of Multicultural Affairs (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIJanuary 11, 2017
Fast pace with several stakeholders. One of the top 20 research institutions in the nation with a focus on public health and commitment to served underprivileged communities.
Pros
Excellent benefits
Cons
Nothing to add.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
Language Instructor (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIJanuary 9, 2017
I learned to work collaboratively with my fellow workers, it gives new experience and challenges to reflect on one's teaching. Language teaching to me is the best experience, I can see how my students learn and master the language after a short period of time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school with cutting edge research projects
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIDecember 26, 2016
- Brilliant peers
- Great advisors/professors
- Excellent place to learn
- Amazing city and locals
- Tight budget for grad students
Pros
one of the best schools in the US
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with a strong residence life program
STUDENT AFFAIRS COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Madison, WINovember 30, 2016
Managed two residence halls or students - one smaller and one larger. Facilitated administration related to operation of each of the residence halls - supervised the staff. It was fun to work at a Big Ten University. Very high standards and strong school spirit. Colleagues were all very bright people who I enjoyed working with.
Pros
Wonderful college, beautiful city.
Cons
cannot think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment for research
Research Scientist (Former Employee) –  Madison, WINovember 29, 2016
I worked in a very good lab with capable and fun individuals. Life/work balance was ideal with the ability to set my own schedule to a certain extent. Ended up leaving because of the government shutdown and lack of compensation but overall it was great.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Below average payrate
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Madison, WINovember 18, 2016
The payrate for TAs is a little below average, but the health insurance benefits are good. I do not know what it is like for other types of employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work/ life balance
Research Assistant - Ultra Precision Machining (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIOctober 21, 2016
its a great company to learn in initial part of you career. Company is the the biggest manufacturer in India and gives you one of the best compensions in the industry
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great new experiences as a travel nurse
RN (Current Employee) –  Madison, WISeptember 18, 2016
I end my contract here in October. I work 8 hour days in PACU and enjoy the staff and learning experiences.
The hardest part is being 3 hours from home.
Pros
Good staff and experiences
Cons
Far from home
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Madison is amazing!!
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Biotron buildingSeptember 13, 2016
Excellent PhD program, world class in structors.

Unbelievably awesome college football team..Go Badgers!! Learning and study were rigorous, Campus and facilities are top-notch.
Pros
Brats at ther lake
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love them.
New graduate student (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIAugust 21, 2016
My first time to study abroad. people are warm and friendly. professors also help a lot. we know that sometimes it's lonely to be a foreigner, but here you can definitely find friends.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only the supervisors will advance and make money
Office Operations Associate (Former Employee) –  On campusAugust 17, 2016
Every year they complained about budget cuts, yet management kept getting merit raises while hourly staff got nothing. The hardest part of the job was watching management mistreat staff and then laugh about it. Just a demeaning place to work. There is a real sense of entitlement, and if you don't make any money, you are considered a deadbeat. Just a real bad place. Supposedly grown educated professors using slurs and talking down to people. Threatening people. I was glad to get out when I did.
Pros
Cute co-eds
Cons
bullying, working above pay grade, no union representation
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIAugust 12, 2016
The University of Wisconsin-Madison is a great Institution that has given and shown me a way to not only grow as an individual but as a researcher as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun college job providing opportunity for personal growth
Supervisor and Team Member (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIJuly 25, 2016
The people you work with are around your age and the management is very kind and personable. The job allows you to meet new people and allows you to work and communicate with others.
Pros
The people you work with, the management. Fairly flexible hours
Cons
Sometimes employees do not take the job seriously enough.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best University Ever
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIJuly 22, 2016
Worked in the bacteriology department with amazing PHD and other undergraduates. Understand the teaching mentality of UW-Madison and allowed for many academic doors to open.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Wisconsin-Madison. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 94 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.0
Culture
4.3
78%

CEO Approval

Based on 19 ratings
Add your rating

University of Wisconsin-Madison Reviews by Location