University of Wisconsin Madison Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIFebruary 5, 2016
UW offers a few solid, industry related courses that benefit my careers. The grad school program in the college of engineering is highly recommended!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school!
Academic Projects (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIOctober 27, 2015
I completed my Master's from UW Madison. I'm glad that I selected this school, this is the best school. Great faculty, beautiful campus, nice people.
Pros
Beautiful Campus
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to study and live
Student (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIOctober 21, 2014
As a master student, I have a great chance to work with the professors and graduate students. They are very helpful and creative. The courses provided are useful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grad school, enough said
Research Assistant (BP graduate fellow) (Current Employee) –  Madison, WISeptember 29, 2014
It was great 5 years. Madison is a fun place to live in. Job is demanding as you are working at forefront of technology. Lots of unknown. Fellow graduate students are great. As such management of dept. is not great and there is not lot of training in terms of how-to conduct research for new grad students which might become challenging for some.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and effective time management
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIMay 20, 2014
The laboratory I'm working with is well organized and my typical day of work usual starts with performing experiments and also ends with experiments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience working
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIMarch 17, 2014
Good working Environment
Lot to learn.
Worked over two projects during the summer and fall semester
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and learning experience.
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIJanuary 28, 2014
My usual duties include holding discussion sessions on the week's concepts covered in the class, and work towards making the class discussion more interactive by encouraging students to solve problems on the black borad, and also working together in the weekly home works. I have learned how to express myself in an articulate manner by being concise and was able to get over my fear of public speaking up to some extent and still working on it.

The hardest job will be encouraging few students to get involved in the discussion sessions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in Botany department
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIAugust 16, 2013
Learned how to identify mychorizae and studied which types helped plant roots thrive. Used a microscope every day. Co workers were great, I loved working in a green house and a lab.
Pros
getting paid to do something i love
Cons
working weekends when in college
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work and study.
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIJune 18, 2013
I researched for credit and I enjoyed the helpful environment.
Pros
fun
Cons
slow at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
4.2
Management
3.8
Culture
4.5

University of Wisconsin Madison Reviews by Location