University of Wisconsin Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente ambiente laboral beneficios aprendizaje
Ingeniería de Producción sobre Remanufactura (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WISeptember 13, 2017
Adquirí valiosos conocimientos en la universidad de Wisconsin Milwaukee a través del programa de pasantía en convenio con la universidad Nacional de Colombia sede Bogotá Alma Mater de la cual soy egresado y recientemente graduado.
Pros
Conociendo experiencia intercambio cultural
Cons
Ninguna
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place if good salary gotten
"Research Intern" aka Electrical Engineer at large (Former Employee) –  Madison, WISeptember 12, 2017
Nice place to work,wish I could have gotten regular Engineering Job there instead of a student pay for Electrical Engineering work.

If yoy get a chance with a regular salary the benefits are outstanding;
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow and easy
Front Desk Attendant (Former Employee) –  Eau Claire, WISeptember 11, 2017
As the attendant at a residence hall front desk, much of the job is just waiting for something to happen. This leads to lots of time to read, surf the internet, chat with friends, and the like.
Pros
Super casual
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
does not meet expectations
University Assistant (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WISeptember 9, 2017
I had higher expectations of a university setting. They are extremely understaffed and underpaid and disorganized, yet are expected to maintain a high level of functioning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great volunteering experience
Journey House Tutor (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WISeptember 8, 2017
I took social work 100. I had to volunteer and the school helped me set up my hours. It helped me keep track of my hours and being on track helped me with my essay.
Pros
once a week
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Maintenance Staff (Former Employee) –  Stevens Point, WISeptember 5, 2017
I worked here as a college student with work study. It was a good job to earn some cash while going to school but there are no advancements. Everyone was great to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace.
Locksmith / Journey (Current Employee) –  Whitewater, WISeptember 5, 2017
Typical workday? Fun.
What I learned ? Anything I wanted , it's a college.
Mangement . Good.
Workplace culture ? Live! Learn! Engage!
The hardest part of my job? Going home at night.
The most enjoyable part of the job ? The college kids.
Pros
State employment.
Cons
State emploment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers and hours
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  River Falls, WISeptember 5, 2017
Great little job to have while attending school full time. Just a couple hours a week with great staff. You must be a student at UWRF to be eligible to work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average employer
Sous Chef /Lead Cook (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WISeptember 4, 2017
Contract employment. Subject to the University changing of contract every 7 years. Difficult to all of the expectation of the students and faculty 3 meals a day 7 days to the week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Part-time Job
Associate Lecturer (Former Employee) –  West Bend, WISeptember 3, 2017
Absolutely loved this job! Had personal issues that led to my resignation. It was a great place to work for me at a time in my life that I needed a flexible part-time job.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
pay could be improved
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Place To Work
Front Desk Assistant (Former Employee) –  La Crosse, WIAugust 28, 2017
You meet a lot of people while working the front desk. Very flexible hours, and a good place to work on homework and other things. Typically the number of hours per week is 5-10.
Pros
Easy job for a college student
Cons
Little hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Job
Administrative Assistant / Projects Assistant (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIAugust 28, 2017
Working at the dorms was a great job for a college kids. I've learned a lot of responsibility and how to manage administrative work for a manager. Always some fun going on to there.
Pros
great for college kids
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great climate for employees
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stevens Point, WIAugust 25, 2017
The strength of this organization is the focus on wellness and outdoor education. These aspects show up in so many unique and creative ways in the employees and the work we did.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, really depends on your superior
C-NERVE Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Menomonie, WIAugust 24, 2017
Enjoyed working here for the most part, it was a clean facility and it had access to most things needed. The staff was very friendly even on late nights. Happy to have done most of my graduate work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Lead Assistant Coach (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIAugust 24, 2017
UWM is in transition right now, so there are a lot of interim titles, which makes it hard to get some things done.

Very good, midwestern school! Very good people to work with@
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my hospital, not my department.
Supply Clerk (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIAugust 22, 2017
UW is a FANTASTIC environment for nearly anyone, and I can't recommend it highly enough! Not only are all employees paid a living wadge and fairly treated, but there are so many different possible job descriptions that many kinds of people can find work there. I left because I wanted to work with patients, not just in the building with them. My manager had issues fully staffing her department and spent a year denying my requests to transfer to a patient care job. Ultimately, I quit, in search of that patient care position of my dreams, but I miss my hospital terribly and hope to return some day in a different position. Management in my department was sometimes borderline hostile, but ultimately I understand their position and love UW, flaws and all. The campus is comfortable--the cafeteria is affordable and healthy, the outdoor seating areas great for breaks. UW offers great benefits, and the feeling you get, knowing you work for one of the greatest hospitals in the Midwest, working as one of 5000 employees of UW health, there is nothing like it. I wish my department issue could have been resolved another way, but I fully intend to return.
Pros
nice cafeteria, great enviroment, friendly culture, respectful employers.
Cons
short staffing means we are sometimes overworked and makes transfers impossible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Student Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wauwatosa, WIAugust 22, 2017
Typical Day: solo work on a computer analyzing data
Learned lots about the Biomechanics industry
Management was perfect and was able to talk to all administrators
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place if you enjoy PC culture
Management employee (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIAugust 21, 2017
No focus on profitability. Becoming more politically correct with no room for dissent. Individual performance not especially important. More of a keep your head down and don't upset the apple cart type place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fired for Requesting Medical Leave
Financial Specialist Senior (Former Employee) –  Stevens Point, WIAugust 21, 2017
I was diagnosed with a serious medical condition needing surgery and was fired for requesting to take unpaid medical leave. Terrible experience - do not recommend.
Cons
depressing environment, poor morale and bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter place for college
Student Manager (Former Employee) –  Platteville, WIAugust 20, 2017
Great co-workers and staff. Management is very helpful. High stress but overall great atmosphere and starter job while in college. The most enjoyable part was interacting with other students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Wisconsin. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 919 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1