University of Wisconsin Employee Reviews

Showing all 186 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace is good
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WINovember 13, 2014
Work environment is good, typical day starts with working with students and helping them, I have learnt lot about asphalt research.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team oriented, novel and creative research environment
Research Engineer (Current Employee) –  Madison, WINovember 6, 2014
Different projects and people to work on/with every day. Team oriented environment allowing individuals skills to shine.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
electrician
Master Electrician (Current Employee) –  Whitewater, WINovember 4, 2014
maintenance electrical repairs
additions
renovations
door controls and openers (handicap access)
firealarm
low voltage
Pros
coworkers, pay
Cons
advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Creative Environment
American Indian Student Services Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Madison, WINovember 4, 2014
It was an LTE position that unfortunately came to an end. I enjoyed my supervisors, co-workers, and the students I supported. Every day was new, dynamic, and exciting.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Water Technician (Former Employee) –  Stevens Point, WIOctober 13, 2014
Great place to work, got a lot accomplished, and had fun doing it.
Pros
great work environment
Cons
inconsistent work
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Platteville, WIOctober 7, 2014
Great place to work while in college. Learn lots of applicable skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative student development department
Sales & Marketing Coordinator - Union Marketing (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIOctober 6, 2014
The Sales and Marketing Coordinator works with a vibrant student staff which includes account managers, social media coordinator and copywriters and designers. The focus is to coach and mentor the account team in order fulfillment and client interactions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goods and bads, just like any job
Academic Department Associate (Former Employee) –  La Crosse, WIOctober 5, 2014
You'll meet some really great people, and you'll meet some really arrogant people that won't give you the time of day.
Advancement is slim. If you get hired, you'll probably be stuck in that position until you quit or retire.
Pay was decent, but for the job I was in it should have been a couple $ more an hour. All 'similar' jobs are not the same. I had the same title as many others but did 3x the work!
Pros
okay place to work
Cons
some teachers will treat you like dirt if you are in a 'helping' position (secretary, maintenance, housekeeping, etc).
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for grad school
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Madison, WISeptember 29, 2014
I had both 50% and 75%. It was good, although I was not making as much as my friends in industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Process applications
University Services Associate I (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WISeptember 26, 2014
They will terminate your employment if you attend funerals that are close together. It was like I planned on two close relatives die within two weeks of each other and chose to take days off within the limits of posted work rules.
Cons
tedious work
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good school to go for engineering degree
Data Entry (Student Help) (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WISeptember 23, 2014
Really good school to get a degree. Tough and challanging course.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome work environment in athletic seting
Graduate Assistant Athletic Trainer (Current Employee) –  Madison, WISeptember 16, 2014
I got to work with athletes on campus while getting my masters degree. I learned about injuries as well as developing professional relationships with co-workers, coaches, students and administration.
Pros
tickets to sporting events, gear
Cons
working on weekends, pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place for the work study program
Philosophy Research Assistant and Logic Tutor (Former Employee) –  La Crosse, WISeptember 14, 2014
I was part of the work study program and worked in several departments. In all departments the working environment was nice, and I had the opportunity to interact with my fellow students on a daily basis. I enjoyed helping in the Graphic Arts lab, Tutoring, and planning the WPA conference the most. These positions were challenging and fulfilling for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Job
Senior Enrichment Staff, Animal Care-staff (Former Employee) –  Madison, WISeptember 2, 2014
Excellent management but very demanding job. Largest Con: High responsibility job but pay did not reflect this.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, excellent learning and fun loving research environment
Post-doctoral Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Madison, WISeptember 1, 2014
It is a great exciting start everyday. Everything I do is science for learning and fun. It is difficult to express everything I do here in words. What I like in science, specifically in chemistry, is everything available here. Just enjoying everything here.
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teachers aid
Graduate Associate Instructional Specialist (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIAugust 25, 2014
• Learned time management of the classroom well at the same time remaining flexible.
• Able to communicate information clearly and concisely to my students
• Was able to control and coordinate groups of individuals
Pros
full tuition remission
Cons
poor benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UWWhitewater
Writing Tutor (Former Employee) –  Whitewater, WIAugust 12, 2014
Loved helping fellow students. Excellent college job. Flexible and fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent University
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  Eau Claire, WIAugust 1, 2014
Taught entry levle Latin courses. Loved the academic environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UWW-TV is awesome
Executive Staff (Former Employee) –  Whitewater, WIJuly 21, 2014
Working for UW-Wisconsin was a great experience.

The pay was on the low end but for a part time job that does a great job of accommodating to personal schedules.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Job for Students
Group Exercise Instructor (Former Employee) –  Eau Claire, WIJuly 18, 2014
The group exercise program is a way for students to set their own hours while combining their job with their workout. It is an excellent tool for time management, and the working community is inclusive and encouraging.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 186 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture