Find companies:
University of the District of Columbia
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

University of the District of Columbia Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Program Evaluator of the UDC Economics Program (Former Employee), Washington D.C.February 1, 2014
The program review did not lend itself to a lot of interaction with others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place and learn alot
Sanitation Assistant (Former Employee), Washington, DCDecember 16, 2013
this was a summer job it got me prepare for college. physically and mentally. They was very organize from not losing my work to keeping my timesheet right. Co-workers was very friendly. there was not really never nothing hard about this job because we was learning and getting paid at the same time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University District of Columbia Experience
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Washington, DCDecember 4, 2013
Overall, working in the Record Management Department as a full time student enrolled at the University along with having the opportunity of being established under the Student Temporary Employment Program (S.T.E.P.) with outstanding flexibility to work around schedule class hours was very refreshing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun day at work
Staff Assistant (Former Employee), Washington, DCNovember 4, 2013
Pros: being able to leave on time
Cons: irate students
My day consist of Typying all correspndence. Answer phones, Time and Attendance. And registering Students for classes. Filed xerox. Processed Personnel Action Forms (SF-50). Process purchase requisitions. Kept track of all files making it easy to retrieve if necessary. Received all incoming/outgoing mail. Responding to those that needed immediate attention. – more... I've learned to deal with irate clients without getting out of character. My co workers were a little laid back and care-free. The hardest part of my job was watching them come and go as they please. The enjoyable part of my job was seeing the needs of the studnets and instructor's satisfied. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Position
Administrative Assistant Work Study Program (Former Employee), UDCSeptember 30, 2013
The position prepared me for the work place in a whole new light. The office was very large and I worked under a dean and several other professors. The workload was a lot more than I was used to but it taught me better multitasking skills and enhanced my customer service as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Law School Educational Environment /Fun
Office Clerk Assistant (Former Employee), Columbia, WAAugust 27, 2013
Pros: lots of learning and activities
Cons: wish it would have been extended
I had a great time learning and studying. This was work study at the University of District of Columbia David E. Clarke School of Law where I assisted professors, students, staff and potential students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and comfortable work environment
Student Intern, Office of the General Counsel (Former Employee), Washington,D.C.August 12, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Basically, during my last academic school year, I was selected to become a student intern for the Office of the General Counsel for UDC. Typing Memorandums and filing university cases were my main duties whereas other duties followed. The office environment was comfortable to the point where I can complete my schoolwork as well once my tasks were completed – more... for the day. Overall, the job was productive to me as it taught me values for dealing with workplace ethics and responsibility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place in Transition
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Washington, DCJuly 17, 2013
The university is making positive changes, but I have to move closer to family due to a severe illness in my immediate family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Work Study-Clerk (Former Employee), Washigton, DCJune 23, 2013
Work Study non permenate position, part-time, no benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duties
Director of Student Accounts (Current Employee), OFFICE OF STUDENT ACCOUNTSJune 5, 2013
Pros: work hours
Cons: short staffed
General Student Accounts tasks.This includes the collection of payments from students and 3rd party vendors, the maintenance and adjustments to student accounts, the issuance of bills, the issuance of 1098 T's, monitoring of all collection activities by 3rd party vendors, monitoring of 3rd party vendor who services all Perkins Loans, issuance of all – more... student refunds. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academics and academia fantastic!
Office Manager (Former Employee), Washington, DCMay 21, 2013
Pros: great health care and retirement benfits
Academics and academia fantastic! I worked in admissions and loved working with the students. The Admissions Office truly cares about the students, it is overworked for the volume of people whom come through their doors...

I will the Office of Admissions only the very best!!! They were a terrific group of people to work with...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff
Program Assistant (Current Employee), Washington, DCApril 22, 2013
Working at the university allows you to come in contact with various people in all walks of life. It is a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work.
Management Assistant (Current Employee), Washington, DCMarch 5, 2013
Pros: educational credit
Working with students and staff. I learned to manage work load and helping students. Worked with different cultures of people in a team setting. The enjoyable part of job was being on the team and working under the mission for the University.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The only public university in the nations capitol and is committed to a broad mission of education, research and community service.
Office Manager/ Staff Assistant (Former Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: servicing the students and attend school at the university.
Cons: poor management.
Answer emails and telephones and facility requests; assist Deans, Directors and Professors with administrative assistance; process payroll and prepare leave audits; procure supplies and services and resolve invoices issues.

I learned that if you love your what you do it makes your task easy.

The management could use some help at the University. I've – more... been there 10 years the University is working on their 3rd President.

The co-workers were very helpful to one another and very professional.

The hardest part of the job was when you had to depend on other departments to get your job done. Sometimes it would take too long to get simple information so you could complete a task.

I enjoyed providing administrative assistance at the University and I believe my services provided outstanding managerial functions at both the Law School and the Law Library. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See my review below
Biology Professor (Former Employee), Washington, DCOctober 15, 2012
Pros: great location and access
Cons: not enough funding and administrative support
I rate this company as five star and overall excellent. I enjoyed the friendship of those in my department and some in other departments.
The current management went lacking in many respects. Lack of management support made the job difficult in many respects. A typical day included teaching classes, meeting colleagues, committee meeting, grading papers, – more... monitoring research and talking to students during office hours. I learned a lot about people and their concerns. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching is fun
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 8, 2012
Watching the students minds open up to things they no nothing or little is a very rewarding feeling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent institution for students and staff
Student Tutor (Current Employee), Washington, DCJuly 16, 2012
I attend this institution and also tutor my fellow peers in different academic subjects
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Enrollment Management Officer (Former Employee), Washington, DCJune 13, 2012
Pros: salary
Cons: short staff, short breaks
A typical day at work consists of constant ringing telephones and walk in clients. I have learned that you must separate the institutions, meaning although the title is University of the District of Columbia, it is first a government agency and therefore, very bureaucratic.

Management is sub-par at best, because not all managers understand the concept – more... that the organization is a government agency first, and an institution of higher education second; therefore, management is not always abreast of the organizational structure and policies and procedures affecting management. Especially, the fact that the organization is heavily unionized.

My co-workers are awesome! They all pitch in when necessary and find ways to make work exciting and fun. I always learn something new from my co-workers, regardless of the department they are in.

The hardest part of the job is communicating with management. Management pretends to be open and understanding, but this is only an illusion.

The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with the students. While, sometimes frustrating, knowing on a daily basis that I have done something to aid in the success of the students is remarkable and rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor academic standards and lack of students' commitments
Adjunct Professor, Department of Biology (Former Employee), Washington, DCMay 21, 2012
Most unproductive and filthy lab and class room environment.
Very poor academic standard.
Poor lab facilities.
Majority of the students are irresponsible and lack learning aptitude
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity, management, professional and personal growth is encouraged
Interim Director of Residence Life (Current Employee), Washington, DCMay 9, 2012
UDC is an environment where professional growth in encouraged.
The University encourage prodcutivity and personal growth. I have grown as a young professional with the organization.