Find companies:
UPMC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
231 reviews

UPMC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my clients and coworkers
Mental Health Specialist (Former Employee), McKeesportSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: close to home, wonderful coworkers, enjoyed the population that i served.
Cons: no advancement opportunities, poor management
My day would start with a report of all consumers. My coworkers and I would identify any issues and brainstorm on how to deal with them in the most positive and productive manner. We would also identify strengths and work to foster those. The best part of the job was having one on one time with consumers. The worst part of the job was knowing that the – more... management would not take in to considerate any ideas or suggestions to improve the workplace. The number one suggestion being safety. I learned so much from this job that it would be difficult to list it all. I think what I learned the most was how to get information from people that would allow me to do my job to the best of my ability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting experience
Transporter (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PASeptember 15, 2014
• Escorted patients safely and in a timely manner throughout the hospital to their destination
• Provided patients with needs such as oxygen during trip and ensured their comfort.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great friendly environment
Systems Analyst (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PASeptember 15, 2014
Pros: being able to work without being micromanaged
Cons: the uncertainty of job security within the company
A typical day at work consists of solving problems via e-mail, working a daily queue of EHR in a variety of systems, answering questions about the systems, and looking for patterns in the quality of the data. I've learned a lot about data management and looking for patterns within the data. I also learned that team work is an essential component and – more... a great resource to have in a company. My co-workers are great and helpful in every way. They welcome any question I have and answer them to the best of their ability. The most enjoyable part of the job is the ability to work freely without being micromanaged I believe that I makes me more productive and more eager to learn new things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Patient Information Coordinator (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PASeptember 10, 2014
My daily activity in work was all customer service based. Working with patients of all backgrounds and personalities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of opportunities
Lead Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PASeptember 4, 2014
Lots of opportunities and challenges, great people, and a patient focused career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management
Team Assistant (Current Employee), Seven FieldsSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: patients and co-workers
Cons: no breaks, poor management
This was the worse place under incompetent management I have ever worked for in my 20+ years. Nurses are over worked, office staff is underpaid. The benefits are the only reason I have stayed, that and the patients and my co-workers. Nurses in management with no experience is a terrible concept. Typical day is doing the job of 2-3 people and the same – more... expectation to complete all work in your shift. Hardest part of my job is swallowing the line of bull feed by management. The most enjoyable part are my coworkers and the patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding yet challenging
Mental Health Worker - Primary Clinician (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PASeptember 2, 2014
No two days are the same. The best part of the day is when one of the adolescents masters a skill or can see things click and their persepective of themselves and the world changes. They become hopeful, it's wonderful to see everytime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment!!
WorkSource Data Entry Pro (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAAugust 29, 2014
Pros: paid breaks and lunches
Working for UPMC has been the best work experience. I met many friends. I would recommend friends and family to work for UPMC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very advanced in their technology, great people to work with
Vascular Technologist (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAAugust 27, 2014
Pros: good management, friendly co-workers, great teachers
Cons: far from where i lived.
Very busy during the day, less during the evening.

I learned a lot about vascular ultrasounds and how they can fix blood flow issues.

Management was great. Always checking to see if we need any help.

Co-workers were great, very friendly .

The hardest part of the job for me was learning the positioning of the patient to get the very best viewing – more... window.

The most enjoyable part of this job was the variations of problems presented to us every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice learning environment for new nurses
Clinical Instructor (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAAugust 25, 2014
Good place to work. Patoent is required as efforts made to advance in nursing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job but limited upward mobility
Patient Information Coordinator (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAAugust 22, 2014
Pros: great schedule
Cons: little advancement, few days off
I am happy to divulge any and all information about this employer, this job and my responsibilities, my co-workers and management upon request. There was nothing I found difficult about this job while there were many things I enjoyed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HealthCare
Director of Clinical Operations (Current Employee), Pittsburgh PAAugust 18, 2014
High pressure, high intensity, teamwork, large organization, compliance, outpatient practices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my work on the IV Team
Registered Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: function largely independently
Cons: demoralizing to watch co-workers play games on ped.
A typical day at work is not typical as anything can happen however the work itself was very enjoyable and I felt confident and enjoyed PICC insertions. I learned to be competent and efficient in PICC placement and my manager expressed this both verbally and in annual review. My co-workers often without solicitation regarded me as the go-to person for – more... PICC insertions and called upon me as resource. The most frustrating or hardest portion of my job was being prohibited to educate how the IV team functioned with regards to PICC insertion in order to benefit patients as a whole. The most enjoyable part of my job was the rapport I established with physicians and radiologists. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Researcher (Former Employee), Cancer centerAugust 11, 2014
Very good work environment and a great place for research and academic advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thoroughly enjoyed my duties and the people I worked with
Medical Records Technician (Former Employee), Monroeville, PAAugust 10, 2014
Pros: location, great co-workers and managers
Cons: sometimes super hectic but again, doable
I was allowed to work independently but was always willing to help others when they came to me for help. My work was always appreciated and I know I made the office run better.
I garnered more knowledge of the running of a multi-doctor medical record department. My managers always supported me and helped if I had any problems. I got along well with – more... ALL of my co-workers. The most difficult part of the job was when my associate in the medical records department was off and I had to pull the full load, difficult but doable. The most enjoyable part of the job was being so appreciated
and being able to work independently. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with great work/life balance
Sr. ETL Architect / ETL Lead (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAAugust 8, 2014
Had a blast working at UPMC. A lot of cutting edge work is being done there and is supported by an excellent group of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Police Officer, (Current Employee), Monroeville, PAAugust 8, 2014
Management and Co-Workers are professional, I just hope someday the legal staff and corporate officers will understand the true difinition of law enforcement duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy yet fullfilling
Health Unit Coordinator (Current Employee), Oakland, PAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: under staffed
Check In/ Out
Highly efficient in the EPIC system
Efficient in Cerner System
Efficient in Excel
Strong in patient communication, answering phones and directing phone calls to the proper destinations.
Provides general administrative support to department
Routine clerical functions: copying, filing, faxing, and typing
Maintains office files and patient – more... records
Answers, screens and triages calls and messages
Responds to routine questions
Handles correspondence following established protocol that does not need managerial review
Assists in researching, drafting, and abstracting routine reports
Complies and analyzes basic information
Assists supervisor and department in preparation for presentations.
Eprocurement Training – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
ETL Informatica Developer (Current Employee), pittsburgh, PAJuly 29, 2014
Its a good experience working here at UPMC.
I like the place and work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to Work for
Employment Services Coordinator (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJuly 25, 2014
Great environment. Ability to advance and to grow both personally and professionally.

About UPMC

UPMC is one of the leading nonprofit health systems in the United States. A $10 billion integrated global health enterprise headquartered – Read more