Find companies:
UPMC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
214 reviews

UPMC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy yet fullfilling
Health Unit Coordinator (Current Employee), Oakland, PAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: under staffed
Check In/ Out
Highly efficient in the EPIC system
Efficient in Cerner System
Efficient in Excel
Strong in patient communication, answering phones and directing phone calls to the proper destinations.
Provides general administrative support to department
Routine clerical functions: copying, filing, faxing, and typing
Maintains office files and patient – more... records
Answers, screens and triages calls and messages
Responds to routine questions
Handles correspondence following established protocol that does not need managerial review
Assists in researching, drafting, and abstracting routine reports
Complies and analyzes basic information
Assists supervisor and department in preparation for presentations.
Eprocurement Training – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
ETL Informatica Developer (Current Employee), pittsburgh, PAJuly 29, 2014
Its a good experience working here at UPMC.
I like the place and work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to Work for
Employment Services Coordinator (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJuly 25, 2014
Great environment. Ability to advance and to grow both personally and professionally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly
Postdoctoral research associate (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJuly 24, 2014
Research network within the institute is commandable. Improves productivity as people are open for colLaborations and suggestions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Answered inbound calls to schedule appointments.
Patient Information Coordinator (Former Employee), Pittsburgh,PAJuly 24, 2014
Hours were 8-5 M-F. Came into the office answered calls and tried to assist the patients.
I learned that this type of work was not for me.
Management was not supportive and really lacked leadership.
I did enjoy working with my co-workers. We all got along. There were only 6 of us in the department.
Coordinating all appoints and tests for the same day – more... for patients was the hardest part o the job.
I enjoyed the company of my co-workers while I was there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get along with everyone. Enjoyable work enviorment
WorkSource Admin Professional (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: friendly enviorment
Help produce badges, set up as well as help with New Employee Beginnings Orientation. Data Entry of new hires.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would like to work there again
Human Resources Assistant (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJuly 8, 2014
nice company lots of opportunities and I would like to work there again
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great coworkers
Costumer Service Representative (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJune 29, 2014
I enjoyed my coworkers. We constantly stayed busy answering about sixty calls per day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No support from management, bad benefits, no raises or room for improvement
Developmental Specialist II (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJune 26, 2014
No support from management, bad benefits, no raises or room for improvement or growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
surgeries, clinics
Administrative Assistant - Associate (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJune 20, 2014
Pros: co-workers are great to work with
Cons: the pay is not good
I schedule surgeries for two surgeons, make sure that all pre-testing is completed and in a packet to send to same day surgery nurses. I also, pull clinics and make sure that the patients chart is in the correct order and that all the labs and any other pertinent information in the chart for the surgeon. Answer multiple phone lines, as well as fax information – more... to other doctors, and scan paper wok into the patients charts. The hardest part about my job is trying to get a hold of other doctors offices to obtain patients records. I enjoy everything about my job. It is a busy environment and the day goes by. My co-workers are great to work with and we help each other out when needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Emergency Medical Technician (Current Employee), PittsburghJune 18, 2014
Great place. Scapegoated as an evil company often-times. I truly enjoy working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJune 17, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job was helping patients with everyday needs and my co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJune 11, 2014
great environment to work. great job and loved going daily.
I left this position because there was major construction going on on route 28
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a Lot
System Analyst (Current Employee), Pittsburgh,PAJune 9, 2014
Provider related work, learned lot in Informatica and in SQL.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No long-term growth
Accountant Associate (Present) (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PennsylvaniaJune 8, 2014
Great for a career boost if you need a holding pattern in your life until a REAL job opportunity comes your way...definitely a fine place for a newly grad. Get in, get your experience, get out!
You're in Pittsburgh's largest company, so run with it while you can!

Coworkers are miserable and work only to collect a bi-weekly pay. There is a major lacking – more... of passion an/or willingness to learn. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Temporary Service/ Environmental Service Aide (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJune 6, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job was helping patients with everyday needs and my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinical environment
HR Assistant (Former Employee), PittsburghJune 5, 2014
This was my first experience in the clinical setting registering patients. I learned a lot about communication and patience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Organization
Manager (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMay 28, 2014
A very well managed and treated organization with excellent opportunities to grow
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Offers very much to the employees.
Medical Assistant/Receptionist (Current Employee), North Hills, PAMay 27, 2014
Pros: very stable employment
Cons: traveling
A typical day was patient care, scheduling surgeries with administrative duties.
Enjoyed working with co-workers and their enthusiasm for their job.
Hardest part of the job was traveling, and explaining to a patient the negative of their injury,
The most enjoyable part of the job was giving the patient good news and a positive outlook with their injury.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place, no micro managing
RN (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMay 19, 2014
Pros: no micro managing
Cons: management and how they implement new projects too much confusion and disagreeing
Typical day meet pts where they are and get them where they need to go.Face to Face. Coordinate care with physicians
Address and close gaps in care both in person and on the phone
Great co-workers
Managing the High BH, you coordinate all their care but they do not follow through.
You see improvement in peoples' health as you have coordinated and facilitated – more... their care – less

About UPMC

UPMC is a $10 billion global health enterprise with more than 55,000 employees headquartered in Pittsburgh, Pa., and is transforming – Read more