Upper Chesapeake Health Employee Reviews

Showing all 37 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
miseralbe and negative place to work.
Medical Assistant/Medical Secretary (OB/GYN) (Former Employee) –  Bel Air, MDFebruary 16, 2017
uch is not a great place to work. the most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the patients, mgmt. sucked. would never go back to work there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding in helping others
Medical Records Analyst (Current Employee) –  Bel Air, MDDecember 29, 2016
no third shift and flexibile with excellent people there and benefits given but could pay more hourly and diversity could be better
Pros
flexible
Cons
salary could be higher
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and interesting work enviorment
Dietary Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bel Air, MD 21014December 27, 2016
Supervising all areas of the kitchen and cafeteria,
Learned to be recipe compliant for all diets,
Management was not very helpful in many ways,
My co-workers worked really well along side me to make difficult situations easer,
The most enjoyable part of my job was all my employes were alway happy to see me when i arrived at work.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Hard to get managers to help when it was needed
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
LPN/Anesthesia Tech (Current Employee) –  Bel Air, MDNovember 15, 2016
Works well with home life. Understanding of family issues. Coworkers are great. Staff willing to teach. Fun environment. supervisors are well knowledged
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job and I appreciated the opportunity
Equipment Distribution Tech II (Current Employee) –  Bel Air, MDJune 28, 2016
Good first job and I appreciated the opportunity. Learned valuable management skills that will help me anywhere I go. I had a very good manager that has mentored me over the years.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leaned new skills.
Home Health Aide (Former Employee) –  Bel Air, MDMay 17, 2016
The other Nursing Assistants worked as a team and Nurses also worked as team. I leaned skill that couldn't leaned in homecare.
Pros
Leaning new skills and working with the ederlery.
Cons
Missed homecare and connettion with my clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay and decent team enviornment
Distribution Clerk (Former Employee) –  Bel Air, MDMarch 31, 2016
If you want a hospital job here make sure you have at least a BSN or 4 yr degree. Budget cuts seem to take place here every 3-4 years.
As a distribution clerk I delivered carts of medical supplies to family birth place and the west wing of the hospital. The nurses and secretaries were nice and helpful.
Management does what it feels in its best interest (Departmental).
HR is good and does offer assistance to employees in the workplace.
Most difficult part of job was breaking down pallets of medical supplies and stacking them on your delivery carts. Lots of lifting involved,
Pros
Biweekly paycheck and benefits.
Cons
Short breaks. Worked my tail off!
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love love love
Volunteer Work (Assistant) (Former Employee) –  Bel Air, MDNovember 6, 2015
People are like family and care for each other. It was a fun environment even when it got to being a lot of people and stressful. Everyone always left with a smile.
Pros
Loving, family and fun
Cons
Had to give my two week notice cause of another job after 3 years there.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place, Sorry I left
prn (Current Employee) –  Havre de Grace, MDNovember 3, 2015
Great place to work. As an advance practice clinician I left thinking the grass was greener. It certainly wasn't. I still work PRN.

Great autonomy and MD supervision is excellent.

Senior leadership seem a bit untouchable but that is likely just my personal opinion.
Pros
Culture of excellence.
Cons
Can be very busy at time.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a Very comfortable atmosphere.
Peri-operative Nursing Technician (Former Employee) –  Bel Air MD.September 22, 2015
A typical day was to prepare IV fluids for the incoming patients in the Out Patient Surgi-Center for which I was a peri-operative Nursing Tech.,vital signs,IV starts,getting the patient changed into hospital attire,securing thier valuables,assisting with recovery room care of the post operative patient,assist with bedside procedures,and discharging patients at the end of his or her stay.
Pros
a very nice place to work
Cons
No opportunity for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cash Poster
Patient Accounting - Cash Poster (Current Employee) –  Bel Air, MDSeptember 12, 2015
Upper Chesapeake Health is a good company to work for, treats employees well. The most enjoyable part of job is working with coworkers and learning from them. Management is supportive.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have a degree / technincal trade b4 applying here!
Distribution Clerk (Former Employee) –  Bel Air, MDJanuary 20, 2015
Busted my hump here.
Management: Fair.
Team members: 50/50 helpful.
Advancement would occur with degree or certification or if you exhibit exemplary work ethics.
Pros
1/2 hr lunches. Days off work.
Cons
Lack of climate control.
Was this review helpful?Yes29No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place with constant change, had to be aggressive.
Chief Operating Officer and President (Former Employee) –  Fallston, MDJuly 24, 2014
A good place for new managers, you learned how to be aggressive and to think.
Pros
all ways changing
Cons
Not all ways good changes
Was this review helpful?Yes36No27Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Central Sterile Technician (Former Employee) –  Bel Air, MDJuly 20, 2014
management was poor due to HR Management team. uggh management poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes37No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
VOLUNTEER (Former Employee) –  Bel Air, MDJuly 18, 2014
Upper Chesapeake was my first job experience, though, I was only a volunteer so my tasks were very limited. Still, I was able to try a few different departments which kept my time there interesting and enabled me to meet various people.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Charge Nurse (Former Employee) –  Bel Air, MDJune 30, 2014
the unit coordinator as well as staff spend too much time on cell phones rather then patient care. because of this, patients are not tended to. one confused patient was left in a geri chair and unobserved. she feel directly on her face and broke her nose. pt,s nurse was found 10 minutes after the incident
Pros
learning cardiac care with tele
Cons
poor leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes42No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Less than mediocre workplace
Registered Nurse (RN) (Current Employee) –  Bel Air MarylandJune 16, 2014
Always short staffed, especially with RN's. The pay is not competitive and the benefits are less than mediocre. AN employees commitment is not appreciated, nor returned. You are reprimanded for not taking a 30 minute lunch break, although one would be greatly appreciated. I've worked for this organization for many years and hoped it would get better, but with no raise in 3 years and only given one recently because there is a hiring freeze and they know the staffing will only get worse, they want their dedicated employees to remain on staff. There is absolutely no work/life balance. The only pro is that it is the only middle sized healthcare facility within a 30 mile radius to where I live.
Was this review helpful?Yes61No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper chesapeake provided excellent opportunity
RN,OCN,BC,CHPN (Former Employee) –  Bel Air, MDApril 24, 2014
Upmc provided me the opportunity to expand my knowledge base and experiences by sending me to geneva for the world cancer in 2008 and I made a palliative care presentation. And, in 2012 at montreal world cancer I presentated a smoking cessation program.
Pros
GREAT EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITIES
Cons
NURSE PATIENT RATIO
Was this review helpful?Yes13No28Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conducting clinical laboratory testing
Medical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Harford, MarylandApril 21, 2014
Work would include general lab testing. One tech may handle many benches. Management is unaware of the corruption of its lead techs.
Cons
Not a good work culture
Was this review helpful?Yes31No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Admitting Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Bel Air, MDJanuary 9, 2014
Decent work hours. They work with you to ensure you have shifts if you are not hired on in a full or part time position
Pros
Good staff
Cons
No room for advancement or raises
Was this review helpful?Yes38No7Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Upper Chesapeake Health. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 37 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

Upper Chesapeake Health Reviews by Location