Upward Bound Employee Reviews

Showing all 125 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good beginning job
Counseling Specialist (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIDecember 12, 2015
Helped high school students prepare for college by helping them with pre preparatory activities such as act prep and summer courses in math and science and english
Pros
love working with teens
Cons
not a career move
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Residential Counselor (Former Employee) –  Fitchburg, MANovember 5, 2015
It was one of those jobs where i felt i made a tremendous impact on someones life. I worked with disadvantaged youths and i was able to guide them as best i could. It was a great opportunity for me to grow and learn many things about myself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working/teaching students at NYU
Teacher/Tutor (Former Employee) –  NYC, NYNovember 4, 2015
Amazing People to work with
Quite fulfilling
Tutoring students high school curriculum
Great co-workers (helpful and lively)
Director of the program is great to work with!
Pros
Manhattan area, fulfilling experience
Cons
Short time at work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best work environment ever
Teacher Aide/Recreational Lead (Former Employee) –  Hilo, HIOctober 20, 2015
I love this program. I cried at the end of it, I didn't think I'd get so attached to my kids. I'd do it again if I could. Great program.
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a tutor
English Tutor (Former Employee) –  PROctober 2, 2015
Interesting place to work at. Students were different with also different difficulties and strengths which were helped through the time period. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing that the student had every doubt they originally brought in answered with their own capabilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and life giving
Tutor underprivileged (Former Employee) –  Abilene, TXSeptember 22, 2015
Working with Upward bound was one of the best decisions i made while in college. It was a part time job ( work Study) and it had me brush up on general knowledge and general studies in high school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enriching work environment
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Denton, TXSeptember 8, 2015
This was my first true experience teaching in a classroom environment, and I could not have asked for a better one. I worked with a number of talented, bright students as well as working for administrators who clearly cared about the education and well-being of the students. Upward Bound, a program that helps minority and low-income students get into college, is a vital program, and I'm glad that I got to be a part. It only lasted for the summer; however, should the opportunity arise, I would gladly teach for them again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very active and interactive day with students on a college campus
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Madera CASeptember 3, 2015
-Monitoring of college course classes
-Dealing with high school students
-Time management was a regular skill
-2 weeks spent at a Reedley college campus
Pros
Free Lunches, Trips were part of the job
Cons
Non stop contact with kids throughout the day, hardly any down time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job
Part time English instructor (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSAugust 8, 2015
Tutoring and instructing the students was a lot of fun. The students were bright and inquisitive. Being teenagers, they were also opinionated. Management and co-workers were optimistic, supportive, and empathetic. I enjoyed the latitude in planning and presenting lessons.
Pros
Awesome atmosphere
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant, but not a structured teaching session
Spanish Tutor (Former Employee) –  Long Island City, NYJuly 25, 2015
Being available for the only purpose of answering questions robs the tutor of the opportunity to give a student a more comprehensive answer.
Pros
Making adult help available for students to seek answers to academic subjects.
Cons
Last minute appointment cancellations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Effective and Fun Summer Camp
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, N.C.July 23, 2015
This was a great seasonal job at Fayetteville State University. I enjoyed mentoring and serving as a role model for the male and female high school students. A typical day went as the following:
7:00am-Wake up students
7:30am-breakfast/last call
8am-12pm: Students had class/supplied tools for teachers
12pm-lunch
2pm-Computer time/study hall or P.E
5pm-Break
7pm-Dinner/ breakout session with mentors(group or individually)
10pm: Reminder about Light out
11pm: Made rounds to each door, lights out
I learned how to make every second of the day worth while with/for each student. Management was very clear and direct. If I had any questions they were handled and fairly easy to resolve.The complete experience was enjoyable for me. I love giving helping the youth and serving as a role model to perspective students.
Pros
Having a positive effect on a child's life
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work
K-14 Academic Preparation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAJuly 23, 2015
I worked with them for two years and it was very demanding but very interactive and rewarding. The students are great though they require a lot of attention. The staff is big on communicating which allowed me to develop my verbal skills. The staff go out of their way to make sure the workers are taken care of.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with youths
Counselor Intern (Former Employee) –  Troy, ALJuly 15, 2015
• Served as a counselor for grades 9-12
• Coordinated weekly activities
• Teach various workshops to prepare them for the upcoming school year
• Answering and directing phone calls
• Taking and distributing messages
• Organizing and scheduling appointments
• Organizing and coordinating meetings
• Handling inquiries and incoming work requests
• Reviewing files and records to answer requests for information
• Checking and distributing documents and correspondence
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great program
French and Spanish Teacher (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJuly 9, 2015
I loved being a part of a program that exuded such a passion for the future of disadvantaged students! It was a good challenge and taught be a lot about myself and my teaching ability.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student
Internship (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 7, 2015
Participated in college level classes. English, math, and science. Gained experience of being in a college environment.
Pros
Prepare for college
Cons
Hours was to short
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
Internship (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, MAJuly 6, 2015
Upward Bound is a program like no other. A typical day at work with Upward Bound was filing papers and working behind a desk like a receptionist. I learned the importance of organization. The hardest part was dealing with the many high school students who interfered with the job but the easiest part was helping them graduate. The most enjoyable part was the high school students interfering with my work to talk to me like a counselor and how bonds were made.
Pros
The students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This isn't an actual job, just referenced for experience only.
Senator (Former Employee) –  Manti, UTJune 21, 2015
It's a great way to get involved, build experience and a wonderful learning experience. Everyone is nice and is willing to work with you.
Pros
Learning experience
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and experiencing job
Holiday Program Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 17, 2015
• Motivated low-income students to reach their potential and encourage them to pursue college
degrees. Helped students with class work after school.
• Collaborated with other instructors to organize classroom, direct students, maintained discipline.
• Conducted workshops to educate students on good study habits and applying for college.
Pros
most students graduated and advance to college like UC, Xavier
Cons
NA
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive work environment
Tutor/ Counselor (Former Employee) –  Pine Bluff, ARMay 20, 2015
Working with the younger students was always enjoyable. I would tutor and be a positive role model for them as well as provide a safe and comfortable environment for everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a student worker job through UC
student employee (Former Employee) –  Batavia, OHMay 15, 2015
I loved this job. Flexible, fun, worked with my school schedule. This is a job that was offered through work study. It was limited to college student experience.
Pros
flexible
Cons
can't do it after college
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Upward Bound. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 125 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.2
Culture
4.5