Upward Bound Employee Reviews

Showing all 105 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday was something new
Driver (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 4, 2014
Fast pace work environment. It could be stressful at times but analyzing and comprehending different routes to efficiently overcome an overwhelming work load.
Pros
down time i was able to have a satisfying lunch
Cons
long hours equal a long drive back home from san diego to commerce ca
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Student Advisor (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAFebruary 20, 2013
This is a great company. I love any program that help our youth young reach and realize their true potential. I would recommend this program to any child who needs that extra help getting into college. I am so glad that I was apart of this organization.
Pros
everything else
Cons
no overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked as a tutor, at Upward Bound
Tutor (Former Employee) –  BostonFebruary 26, 2014
I worked at Upward bound as a tutor. I was basically available to students when they needed help with any homework or classwork. I learned teaching methods. My coworkers were other high school students. The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to help students.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Preparing high school kids for college
Summer Residential Advisor (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHDecember 9, 2012
Mentored High school kids during the summer while they live in college dorms and attend summer classes. If anyone had questions you would have to be assessable to them 24 hours.
Pros
helping high school students experience college life
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great program
Summer RA/Tutor (Former Employee) –  Carson, CAAugust 9, 2013
this was an overall great job. the students and staff were great for the most part. the mission of the program is absolutely wonderful. the days were really long (7:30 am -11 pm) but it was personally rewarding.
Pros
free lunch, great students, great staff
Cons
few breaks, long schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and Fun
Student worker (Former Employee) –  Downtown,BostonJuly 29, 2014
Took college courses in this summer program, learned about many rules, tips and educational material and learned more about the importance of responsibilities and respect. It was a very fun program. Received $60 stipends once/twice a month
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working/teaching students at NYU
Teacher/Tutor (Former Employee) –  NYC, NYNovember 4, 2015
Amazing People to work with
Quite fulfilling
Tutoring students high school curriculum
Great co-workers (helpful and lively)
Director of the program is great to work with!
Pros
Manhattan area, fulfilling experience
Cons
Short time at work
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Residential Counselor (Former Employee) –  Fitchburg, MANovember 5, 2015
It was one of those jobs where i felt i made a tremendous impact on someones life. I worked with disadvantaged youths and i was able to guide them as best i could. It was a great opportunity for me to grow and learn many things about myself.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Mentor (Former Employee) –  Montclair, NJFebruary 27, 2015
The ability to help others and shape the outcome of there lives helped me to realize I was pursuing the right career. Was able to apply in school knowledge with real life experiences.
Pros
helping others and fun events
Cons
not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal Growth
Residential Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAFebruary 3, 2015
It was a good experience. Worked with high school students. Motivation was important and would need to handle unexpected situations. Stressful at times due to the workload and time investment but definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive worked around class schedule
Office Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Kent, OHNovember 4, 2014
cleaning, filing, working with students and parents. Learned leadership skills. had a good relationship with management. Students were respectful and enjoyed work
Pros
friendly work environmen
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Job
Assistant To Director (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 12, 2012
Nothing good or bad to say. good trips to colleges around the united states and thought me a lot about life and growing up helped me a lot in high school
Pros
get to see sporting events bulls games, blackhawks, whitesox, bears etc..
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great time with the kids!
High School English Tutor (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAMay 14, 2015
The typical work day consisted on grading the student's homework and helping them become better writings during tutoring. There is a lot of time to get to know the students better during other student activities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
ASSISTANT DIRECTOR OF UPWARD BOUND (Current Employee) –  Godfrey, ILJanuary 25, 2013
Upward Bound at Lewis and Clark Community College is an outstanding opportunity to help 9th - 12th grade students attain their goal of preparing for college.
Pros
time off, working with kids, being a mentor
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Job
Teaching Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Johnson, VTMarch 13, 2014
Perfect job for a student live on campus with the students for 6-7 weeks over the summer and helped them with getting into college, taking college courses and many other activities.
Pros
living on site
Cons
only during summer
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good beginning job
Counseling Specialist (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIDecember 12, 2015
Helped high school students prepare for college by helping them with pre preparatory activities such as act prep and summer courses in math and science and english
Pros
love working with teens
Cons
not a career move
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a student worker job through UC
student employee (Former Employee) –  Batavia, OHMay 15, 2015
I loved this job. Flexible, fun, worked with my school schedule. This is a job that was offered through work study. It was limited to college student experience.
Pros
flexible
Cons
can't do it after college
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great summer job
Tutor/Mentor (Former Employee) –  Mars Hill, NCSeptember 6, 2013
Great tutoring kids and teaching them the values of life. Going on different trips and college visits was amazing. Got to understand not only what children deals with but a new focus on life.
Pros
teaching high school kids
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and life giving
Tutor underprivileged (Former Employee) –  Abilene, TXSeptember 22, 2015
Working with Upward bound was one of the best decisions i made while in college. It was a part time job ( work Study) and it had me brush up on general knowledge and general studies in high school.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding summer experience
Prefer not to say (Former Employee) –  South Orange, NJJune 1, 2014
All-around great place to work. Very rewarding working less-privileged students.
Pros
great work environment
Cons
compensation varies from summer to summer and more recently has been greatly reduced
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 105 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture