Find companies:
Urban Outfitters Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
229 reviews

Urban Outfitters Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic work environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Newark, DEJuly 28, 2014
Pros: self expression, no dress code
UO is a great company to start in. Even in a sale associates position there is room for growth and experience. Because of my background in graphic design I am able to help in managing the stores Tumblr page as well as take part in setting up displays. There is also plenty of opportunity for advancement within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun environment to work in.
Floor Salesman (Former Employee), Dunwoody, GAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: the environment
Cons: seaonsal
The job really wasn't that hard. All I would have to do is manage the mens floor of the store. That would consist of helping with sales and making sure the shelves were neat. All of my co workers were awesome. In urban outfitters it is a different type of environment where you can really be yourself, which I really enjoyed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment, unprofessional management,
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 20, 2014
Typical days included enhanced customer service and running around trying to help everyone get through the day as smoothly as possible. Leaned how to delegate work to coworkers and lead my fellow associates to a productive day. Management was OK, some were very good, others were very unprofessional. Great interactions and relationships with all of my – more... coworkers. I would say the hardest part about the job was rationalizing management decisions that hindered the success of the store. The most enjoyable part would absolutely be the relationships i built with my fellow co workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Sales
Department Manager (Former Employee), San Jose, CAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: learn a lot about retail
Cons: inconsiderate upper management.
I learned to manage a team in a high stress no sleep- scheduled environment. I learned a lot about management, about team work, and about helping to develop people to be at their best potential at a daily basis. I also learned to juggle the requirements of fulfilling duties while helping customers and providing the best possible service. The hardest – more... part of the job was the unforgiving way managers are scheduled in this line of work. I lived 1 hour away y driving and often had close-open schedules. It was physically draining. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professsional zone
Team Lead (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJuly 8, 2014
Pros: exposure of the urban page online and perks monthly
Cons: short breaks
Honestly loved being a part of the team of UOF. I was able to excel into other positions and gain strengths and be apart of the management and making our store run more smoothly and perform great customer service to our guest by being prompt working together and making new concepts as a group,small projects in and around the store. Working along other – more... employees to learn or help enhance a certain task to simplify the store or a product at that time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Urban Outfitters is a Productive, engaging environment to work in.
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee), Paramus, NJJuly 7, 2014
Cons: short breaks also not enough work hours [sometimes]
Urban Outfitters is one company that i have worked for, that takes respect really serious. The companies employees and managers, I would say are all on the same level. A typical day at Urban consist of Intensive Customer Service and maintaining the store's merchandise. I would say the hardest part of the work day is putting all the stores merchandise – more... back in place, being that its a big store finding and placing things could be a bit challenging. The most enjoyable part of the work day is shipment. Receiving new merchandise and being able to have an opinion on where the merchandise is being placed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Real Laid back
SEASONAL SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 8, 2014
Pros: no dress code, employee discount, flexible hours
Cons: management can be petty, moving up is pretty hard
It's a real laid back place to work. You basically wear whatever you want, just don't come in naked. There is always something to do, whether it's runs or customer service or keeping things neat. Co- workers are great. Management is ok. of course you have the manager that everyone likes, and you have the manager that no one likes. just like at any place, – more... so things can get a bit petty. Hardest part of the job is closing, but only if it is a perfect close, or u have the manager that always wants to do a perfect close even if it's xmas season and things get trashed. most enjoyable part is just working with co-workers and the 40% discount – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a fun place to work and forever friendly
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 4, 2014
Pros: easy advancement, fun work environment
Cons: low pay, short breaks, possibly long hours, possibly shallow hours
Coworkers are always friendly and open to meeting new people.

Pay is unfortunately tends to be quite low compared to competitors.

Hours can get long and associates are expected to deal with it.

Great opportunities for advancement within the company, especially in larger cities. Easy to advance quickly into management positions.

The Urban Team became – more... like a second family.

There wasn't a great raise when advancing, but way more responsibilities. The responsibilities I feel were too much for what the pay rate was. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun upbeat
gift carder (Former Employee), edgefiled scMay 28, 2014
Pros: free lunches and overtime
Cons: sitting all day doing same thing
easy job great pay catered lunches overtime offered manger laid back easy to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people and creative environment
Store Manager, Several Locations, CA & MA (Former Employee), MA & CAMay 20, 2014
Pros: creative, fun work environment
Cons: managers are salaried at 40 hours per week. even if they work 70, they are still only paid for 40.
I worked at several locations on both the east and west coast over 11 years. I loved everyone I worked with at every location. As a store manager, I was given almost full reign over my store. I made merchandising decisions based on our demographic and I was also allowed and encouraged to implement new ideas to see what worked best for my stores, obviously – more... within company guidelines but the environment is very creative and everyones' ideas are encouraged – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really Active Enivorment
Picker/Shipping Lead (Former Employee), North Augusta, SCMay 10, 2014
Pros: experice
Cons: working everyweek
I enjoyed working at Urban Outfitters. I worked as a picker until I was hired on permanent. I was promoted to Shipping Lead and scheduled for every weekend. I've learned much from working at Urban . Picking, packing, receiving, shipping, induction, wsi software, writing BOLs, etc. I think Urban for the type of experience they have provided me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun environment to work in.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 8, 2014
Pros: lunch hours were reasonable, breaks were good, discount amazing, and always a great environment
Cons: hours weren't always given to you, and on call shifts were never used
Urban Outfitters was a very fun job to work where I was always busy and had something to do. I enjoyed helping customers with selections. The people were fun to work with and management always guided you in the right direction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible with school
IT Support Technician (Former Employee), Trenton, SCMay 6, 2014
rotating competitive shifts. great job for part time students and for furthering knowledge
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun enviorment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 5, 2014
great fashion and very cool urban place to work. Lots of cultural people with many different styles and uniqueness.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Men's Sales Associate (Former Employee), Garden City, NYMay 5, 2014
Fun place to work. Management is very relaxed and outgoing. Most enjoyable part of the job was seeing different styles in the same place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and layed back
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Elmhurst, NYMay 5, 2014
This job environment was a very relaxed one...the managers were cool, but the employees were subject to favoritism and a certain type of style was required...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ups and Downs
Team Leader (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 1, 2014
Pros: great discount, decent clothing
Cons: training is really sub par, pay rate.
From what I can say working at this company has its good points and its bad points. I have enjoyed working with some really great people and not so great but it does make the job easier. I would have to say management also has its ups and downs. Sometimes I see why a manager is a manager and other times I wonder how in the world this person maintains – more... this position. I love the fact that I can explore many different creative styles when it comes to clothing. I've learned that sometimes hard work pays at this job but not all the time, it's all timing. As far as advancement some people move up pretty fast on the ladder, others seem to get lost in the mix and end up becoming a missed opportunity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job
Team Leader (Current Employee), Tempe, AZApril 30, 2014
•Acquired skills: customer service, data entry, inventory accountability, and financial reliability.
•Effectively able to communicate and delegate responsibilities to fellow co-workers.
•Established a positive rapport with superiors.
•Maintained a strict and prompt rate of service.
•Acknowledged for customer service and satisfaction by consumers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
creative and challenging office workplace
Home Office employee (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 29, 2014
Be ready to put in a lot of late hours and be challenged. Amazing office to learn and be creative in but not the best training and development in place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good area to work at for starter
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Milwaukee,WIApril 24, 2014
Fast keeps you on your toes.
Fun, stylish place.
Just needed more workers on the schedule

1 2 3 4 5

About Urban Outfitters Inc.

Urban Outfitters, Inc. is a lifestyle specialty retail company that operates under the Urban Outfitters, Anthropologie, Free People – Read more

Urban Outfitters Inc. Photos