Find companies:
Urban Outfitters Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
205 reviews

Urban Outfitters Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment that encourages individuality
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Berkeley,CAApril 15, 2014
Pros: great team
Cons: amount of hours given change due to season
Best job I've ever had. Managers are friendly and help you out whenever its needed. Sale associates work together to make our daily store goals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it!
Cashier (Former Employee), Aventura, FLApril 9, 2014
I loved working at Urban! The managers were all really awesome and helped me learn new skills such as merchandising. Also the company as a whole just really cares about their employees and it shows.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a cool experience but...
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 8, 2014
Pros: networking, discount
Cons: not too much room for advancement, retail, no hours
I think this is an awesome company to work for, ideally, but the only thing is there was NEVER any hours... at our store at least. Only "on call" shifts where you call 3 hours before to see if you're needed and have to base your entire day around whether or not they say yes or no. Management was super cool, inspirational, and friendly. They really encourage – more... you to be yourself. They're all about "loss retention" aka making us security guards who dress well. Idk. It's like any retail job. A somewhat great discount but oh yeah I'm doing slave work to barely be able to pay my bills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplace that truly under appreciates their employees
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, OnApril 2, 2014
Pros: discount can be used online, coworkers all around the same age
Cons: no hours, short breaks, they don't care about you
I worked for this company as a sales associate for almost a year. For an extremely long time they only gave me on-calls and said it was because their were no hours to give. They were lying, the store employed over 40 sales associates, and only about 10 of them were consistently getting hours; people who have worked there for over a year would literally – more... get one on-call a week, and this would go on for months. How did they decide to solve this? By having open group interviews and hiring more people. They do not care about their employees and will show you no appreciation until you decide to quit, and they will hire 5 people to take your place (and these 5 people will take hours away from everybody else who have been working there for a year). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dissatisfying Experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLMarch 31, 2014
Management Seemed To Be Overly Obsessed W/ Meeting Sales Goals That Didn't Have The Customers To Fulfill. The Store Was Disorganized At Times & Seemed To Have A Balance Set Of Managers At All. They're Obsessed With The Idea Of Being 'Hip' and Cool' So Much It Displaces The Workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, hard to live off of such low pay
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 28, 2014
Pros: great people/atmosphere
Cons: repetitive/low pay
I loved working at Urban in Nashville. It's in the gulch so it's already a great place. The atmosphere is really laid back and the coworkers are all great people to work with. When I comes to Management, they're great as well, but when it comes to being paid it's kind of rough. Around $7/hour isn't enough to make a living off of. Luckily it's pretty – more... easy to grow with the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun beach atmosphere
Salesperson (Former Employee), Pacific Beach, CAMarch 26, 2014
Pros: huge discounts, great schedules
Typical day at Urban outfitters consist of first seeing wither I would be in inventory or on the floor. I have learned how to deal with upset customers, perseverance, being able to manage a busy area and keeping an eye on the store. My co-workers were always upbeat, staying on task and never had a negative thing to say about anyone. Hardest part of – more... the job was on black Friday when i was over looking 2 huge sections of the store by myself and there were tons of customers browsing through clothes. I enjoyed working there in general, it was a great welcoming environment by the beach and the employee discount was a definite plus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UO at Mall of America
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee), Bloomington, MNMarch 25, 2014
Pros: great people to work with, free food, open environment, the music, and fashion
Cons: compensation
It's a fun place to work, it keeps you busy but entertained at the same time. I love helping the customers and seeing everyone taste in fashion. It's an awesome place to be yourself and express yourself through clothing. My co-workers are all welcoming and fun to be around; yes we may have differences but at the end of the day we are all a family. The – more... managers are great and outgoing people, they try to make everyone strive to their fullest. I've learned to accept my individuality and not hide it anymore. I've also learned to just pay attention to more than one thing. The hardest part would be just be the cleaning part of the store, but it's not really hard just a lot of work. Otherwise, everything else is great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work just don't miss too many days
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Augusta, GAMarch 19, 2014
It's an easy job. The calls are usually pretty slow & everyone working there is nice. But if you miss a day it takes 6 moths for your occurrence to fall off. If you miss 7 days within that time frame you'll get fired. Just keep your scored up & come to work everyday!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Culture but......
Sales Associate/Reciever/Processor (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 18, 2014
Pros: music, being able to come as you are, the people who work there.
Cons: late closes, favortism, bad managment
The Culture of Urban Outfitters is amazing. The free spirited atmosphere is what made me apply to the job. As far as moving up in the company, I found it difficult competing with other employees who might have a little bit more education than me or might be in the "inner circle". Other than some favoritism the company is a great place to grow and learn – more... the ins and outs of retail. The most enjoyable part of my job would probably be my coworkers and the music that Urban sells and play throughout the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and colorful place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 12, 2014
Great customers and great staff. Nice work place with great music playing to help past time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment easy work, minor management issues.
Packer/Picker (Former Employee), Trenton, SCMarch 10, 2014
nice place overall just have childish leads in some area which will try their best to eliminate competition when they see new good workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome atmosphere, Felt like a big family, Great Opportunities for someone in the Fasion Field
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: employee discount, enjoyable music playlists, & merchandise
Cons: all sales positions were part time, & had no benefits
A typical day at work consisted of a Daily.
the Daily had the employees and managers on duty for that specific day, where your zoned for each hour, and when your break was (tens and halfs).
It also had the Slant Attached which basically announced any new promotions going on, sales, Opportunities, activities going on within your district, floor layouts – more... with Merch, and the ideas and inspiration between all of the different sectioned off clothing/brands (i.e. Gypsy Warrior, Hippie chic, Casual Festival)
I learned How to operate a Cashier, mpos (mobile point of sale), and how to take/transfer telephone calls.
Also how to operate the stock room, the proper way of folding garments, and how to deal with Stressful situations well remaining calm.
Management was great in making sure we were where we needed to be, had proper training in all zones, kept us up to date with the daily sales we made, returns we checked in, and our goals for the days.
my coworkers grew to be like a family, due to us having to interact so much (i.e. Switching zones, transferring phone calls between floors, Helping each other with send sales or with customers in general.
The hardest part of the job was maintaining the floor between busy hours or through holiday.
The most enjoyable part of the job was that I fit the store demographic (age,style,lifestyle) so it made work enjoyable...not so much like a duty. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUDE AND RACIST
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Indianapolis, InFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: free snacks
Cons: racist
I worked at the Urban Outfitters in INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA at the KEYSTONE MALL. My staff member were very racist towards me. It was to the point where people who came in to shop would come up to me and tell me they would never shop in that location again. The pay was okay $8.75 starting but I had to go after hours were cute to 6hours a week and racist – more... co-workers took it too far. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment and very cultural accepting
Sales Audit Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: dog friendly, close to home, culturally diverse, domestic partner benefits
Cons: overextended hours, too much work
Great company! However, for the job that I was doing I was not compensated appropriately. I was in charge of every penny that came through our point of sale systems. That being said, it was a "9 to 5" job, however, it became an on-call seven day a week job. I rose to the occasion, however, was a bit unhappy with the lack of direction given by my supervisors. – more... I could have done a lot more IF had the time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun productive energizing
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Roosevelt Field MallFebruary 18, 2014
Its a great job while your young. Urban Outfitters promotes individuality. I usually get straight on the sales floor and do what I am assigned to do, whether it is greeting or cleaning the sales floor. It's a great environments and a great building block for growth
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Young, enjoyable and creative minded atmosphere!
Sales/Mens and Housewares Team (Former Employee), New Haven, CTFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: 401k, healthcare, discount on all products, job security, breaks.
Cons: long hours, weekends
A typical day at URBN would consist of taking part/working with fellow co-workers in almost if not every aspect and area of the store.
We would be assigned certain areas/posts and projects throughout the store on a daily/hourly basis. Such areas would be:
- Mens
- Womens
- Housewares
- Fitting Room
- Cashwrap (Registers)
- Sale
- Door (greeting/customer – more... service/loss prevention)

We would work together at helping customers/accomplishing our goals and projects, as well as keeping the store clean and tidy after we close.

During my time at URBN I learned every aspect of the store and was even trained in a little back room inventory/shipping.

Management was very professional but at the same time remained one of us (the employee, a team player) always treating us with respect, listening, and never acting above the rest of us.

Hardest part of the job would be sometimes long hours on weekends, and working busy holidays. However, this is all part of the fun and keeps us on our feet.

Most enjoyable part of the job would be the people we work with, the products we handle and sell every single day, and of course the customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Petty, unorganized, lacking in communication
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Providence, RIFebruary 12, 2014
Extremely unorganized and lacking in communication; cuts down on productivity and makes the work place frustrating. There are some really good people working here, but there are also some extremely petty people who ruin it completely. They also higher people randomly, 4-5 people at a time, but there is already barely enough hours to be distributed to – more... people who have been working there for 2-3 years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting and cultural.
Sales Specialist (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: very interesting culture.
Cons: no cons.
I love working at Urban Outfitters because of the many aspects of business that I learn that can provide a basis for other work opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Picking
Lead/Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Trenton, SCFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: no pro's but you do have a job
Cons: no con's but you have a job
Working lead for picking is all about staying on top of the orders that will be droping on your shift. Making sure that you come in early to get up dated on what has already been droped so that you can clear all unnecessary items out of the computer. Keeping your crew motivated, also knowing the right people to assigned task to, know all you members – more... weakness and strength so that everything will be balanced. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Urban Outfitters Inc.

Urban Outfitters, Inc. is a lifestyle specialty retail company that operates under the Urban Outfitters, Anthropologie, Free People – Read more

Urban Outfitters Inc. Photos