Urban Outfitters Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed
Sales Associate/Specialist (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDDecember 6, 2017
Relaxed atmosphere, store goals provided at the start of each day which gives the associate constant reminders of what needs to be accomplished. The hardest part of the job can be unruly customers but not to often dealt with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job, long hours
Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 2, 2017
Spent my life working at URBN for peanuts, but had a lot of fun doing it. I had zero social life outside of the people I worked with but every day was a (tiring) party. Culture changed. Very stingy on the pay, but coworkers were great.
Pros
People, Pto
Cons
Long work hours, work life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Urban outfitters
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CADecember 1, 2017
Working at urban was great. There was a lot of friendly co workers who i shared many interests with. At the time work conflicted with my schedule so I had to leave.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very great place to work
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Gap, PANovember 30, 2017
I loved it the people and management are very nice great work place it's a fast paced job very clean alot of overtime if your looking for hours,work..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZNovember 29, 2017
I liked learning about the sales aspect of this job, also gained a lot of customer service experience, along with retail. Management was great. I loved working in a creative environment with like minded people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not much to tell
Processor (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PANovember 29, 2017
it was an ok place to work really just keep to my self wile there.did have meals for us some times like for holidays like thanks giving christmas. didnt like how clocking in and out worked had to wall a long period to time clock
Pros
free food at times when goal where meet
Cons
short brakes had to walk like a mile to clock in and out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 27, 2017
very interesting customers
the associates are very welcoming
sometimes the managers dont listen
work usually goes by fast depending on what you have to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would go back if i can
Materal handler (Former Employee) –  Gap, PANovember 24, 2017
It was am awesome experience. I enjoyed my co-workers trying to teach me their language. The managers/leads were very helpful. They provided us with coffee throughout the day because we worked 10hrs. The building was clean
Pros
Meet a lot of new people
Cons
Too many diffrent launguish
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very easy, lenient job
Support Department Processor (Current Employee) –  Augusta, GANovember 23, 2017
very good company to get a foot in the door and gain experience. it is very easy work. they are very lenient about scheduling, appearance, time off, etc.
Pros
easy work, good schedules, low stress
Cons
hectic peak season, poor processing software
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 22, 2017
Love it, very fun if I could do it again I would love the people and the clothes and the experience it was very fun and flexible enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great aesthetic and product, good learning experience
WOMEN'S DEPARTMENT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHNovember 14, 2017
Urban Outfitters has a very forward-thinking company culture and fabulous product. I learned a lot about time management and merchandising standards there.
Pros
Product, people, aesthetic
Cons
Taxing on home life due to company structure and salary structure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat and rewarding
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 14, 2017
Fast paced with fun coworkers. Shifts were varied back when I worked there. A closing shift would start at 3pm and could last until 2am at times. It was a cut throat work environment.
Pros
Fun and Fast Paced
Cons
Can be stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work enviornment
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYNovember 14, 2017
Working at Urban Outfitters, or any retail store in general, requires you to be friendly at all times and to provide customers with the greatest and highest level of customer experience to encourage customers to return to THAT specific location.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Augusta, GANovember 13, 2017
Working at Urban was self sufficient and it was easy to assist customers with their online purchases. The management team was friendly and did everything in their power to make me feel welcomed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A hot mess...
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 12, 2017
The store was almost never staffed correctly, the elevator was out half the time, and management was not organized.

Biggest pet peeve: They don't use headsets on the sales floor, every walkie conversation is on speaker. It's extremely distracting and disruptive to customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Urban outfitters
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZNovember 12, 2017
I felt this job could be amazing, although the new manager often says hurtful things to employees. I find her to the the only issue, alongside the other managers and employees who are struggling with her emotional and verbal abuse.
Pros
discounts were awesome
Cons
general manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work enviornment. Makes trhe time fly.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 10, 2017
this was my first job in retail. I had a blast. l loved my colleagues. They were super dope. the store discount came in handy at times. ill never forget the fun times I had there.
Pros
fun work enviornment
Cons
short break
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic retail job with great co-workers
Product Flow Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 9, 2017
A place where a lot is expected, but there isn't much to look forward to after all of your hard work. There are also little to no chances of advancement within the company, mostly lateral "promotions" with less than $1 raises. You meet a lot of cool people though.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
pay rates
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Champaign, ILNovember 9, 2017
A fun and interesting place to work because of the fellow employees, but as tedious and mind-numbing as any other retail job. Discount is exceptional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
urban
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 7, 2017
helping customers with whatever it is that was needed and making sure that their experience in the store is one they'd want to have again. Making sure they store always looked up to par.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Urban Outfitters Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,005 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
4.0