Find companies:
USAA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
344 reviews

USAA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional environment
Auto Adjuster III (Former Employee), Tampa, FLApril 13, 2014
Pros: healthcare
Cons: advancement opportunities
I worked for USAA in the claims department until suddenly it was outsourced. The upper-management were not helpful with employees transferring to other departments at this time. The entire culture at USAA is backwards and unprofessional to say the least. I suggest trying another company that pays better and offers more advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the members and my team
Finanancial Foundations Associate (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZApril 12, 2014
Pros: great benefts, bonus. wonderful team members
Cons: phone burn out, mentally exhausting
This company has a lot to offer its employees, however, there is no free lunch. Their process is to ask "high capital questions" as they call if which is a fancy way of probing into the member's personal circumstances. If a member is calling to add or delete a car they really don't want to talk about their finances or their kids college. The whole thing – more... here to have all the "eggs in one basket" so to speak. They want you to ask very invasive questions that I was not comfortable with. This led to me hating the training which resulted in my separation from this company. I left a position to work for USAA because I have a huge respect for the military community. I still have that same respect for the military but was really disappointed with this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture, Everyone believes in the mission, lots of flexibilty and opportunities to work on wide range of technology
IT Software Developer/Integrator (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 11, 2014
Pros: free coffee, soda, relaxation zone, recharge zone, on site fitness, intramural sports, awesome culture
Cons: a lot of new middle management, not playing the political game can stall your progression
A typical day includes daily standups (agile), team collaboration, coding, mentoring and a work hard/play hard mentality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be careful
Financial Foundations Senior Specialist (Former Employee), Tampa, FlApril 9, 2014
Pros: 32 days paid vacation and educational benefits.
Cons: short breaks, management and expected to act like a robot.
Good company if not taking phone calls. Management shows to much favoritism to females for promotions. Absolutely no advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Licensed Insurance Agent, Team Leader (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAApril 9, 2014
Great place to work, call center environment. Good place to advance your career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work. Management were great
Medical Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAApril 9, 2014
Pros: beneftis
Cons: coverage had cancelled for our member
My typical day at work was coming in and being greeted by everyone. worked in a call center environment so myself and co-workers sat at workstations. used computer 90% of the time and talked to our military members who were involved in automobile accidents
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Financial Foundations Senior Specialist (Former Employee), Killeen, TXApril 8, 2014
They have excellent employee benefits
Great career development
Good work/life balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kool Aid Serving Robots
Financial Foundations (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COApril 6, 2014
Cons: everything
If you want to be a part of a culture that bows down to the alter of the almighty military b/s and kool aid serving corporate culture then this is the place for you. You will be treated like less than a human being and more like a robot. But, before I go on and on about how terrible this job is, let me give you some tips for those that are still there – more... because they will get immediate help from this. As you know, calls are coming through relentlessly and you are required to meet unrealistic goals on every call. Try this for some relief. On the days that are somewhat slower, like some Saturdays ect. balance switching your open time with AUX 3. you'll find that if you balance it properly. you will go hrs without taking a single call from the abrasive membership. For example, I can stay open for about 1 min then switch to AUX 3 for 15 secs and then open again for 1-2 mins without taking a single phone call from the braindamage that feels entitlement ect...I'm not gonna get into it as much as I want to. just try it and feel some relief. I just really want to help those stuck with those obese or lazy managers in Colorado Springs. more tips to come :) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Financial Foundations Specialist (Current Employee), Colorado Springs, COMarch 27, 2014
Great company, day to day taking care of the military community and securing their financial future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environmentg
Mortgage Loan Processor (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMarch 21, 2014
Pros: shops onsite, resteraunts onsite, flexible schedule, high pay
Cons: no benefits, too many loans in pipeline, contract position
A typical day at work included processing refinance loans. I was responsible for completing and verifying financial information on loan applications. I had to look over the application files and contact verification sources such as credit bureaus, sellers and buyers’ employers to make sure the information was thorough, accurate and met individual loan – more... specifications. The data I collected confirmed type of mortgage, terms of the loan and a buyer’s assets and income. I also had to correct data errors and obtain missing information when necessary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very extensive training program
Insurance Service Specialist (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAMarch 19, 2014
excellent benefit package, daycare on site for working parents
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere with positive people
PERSONAL TRAINER (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXMarch 19, 2014
Pros: great fitness centers
USAA is a great company to work for. They provide their employees with the best benefits any company could offer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment with above average fringe benefits
Member Relationship Specialist II (Former Employee), San Antonio, TX 78218March 18, 2014
Pros: tuition reimbursment was above what i needed for my part time classes
Cons: changes in company goals became harder to reach with out a sales backround
The days were very busy but for the most part there was not micro managing. I enjoyed learning about insurance. My managers were very supportive for the most part. My co-workers were easy to get along with and you felt like a real "team".
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USAA is a place to get comfortable
Senior Relationship Specialist (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMarch 16, 2014
Pros: annual performance bonus 18+% of annual salary
Cons: see my review, its a fair assessment
Pro:
I loved working in this environment. They have plenty of benefits for employees. There are several 24 hr gyms that you do pay membership fees to. There are also sports teams to join. There is wide selection of food choices on site, although a little pricey for most it's convenient if you forgot to pack you lunch. There are also designated nap rooms – more... and quiet area at the end of H building that anyone may use to snooze on your lunch or break. Video game areas if you feel like you want to get some energy out. I like the recreational areas with Ping Pong table and Billiards.

There are so many people from all walks of life, as of 2014 there were over 16000 people at the main office in San Antonio Tx.

I found the fact that you dont have to generate leads, which is a common mandatory part of Insurance and Investment industry is a MAJOR plus.

Con: Being a military focused company, I found the company to be a tad politically "in your face", as they ALWAYS hosted Republican candidates to come speak at job site(both presidential and state elections) and Fox News played redundantly in most break rooms. I am conservative in my views but I think its just a little insensitive to not be a little more respectful to all views.

There are SOOO many people making competition for jobs very fierce and promotion opportunities a VERY big office political game that most arent willing to play.

There seemed to be TOO many people whom got comfortable working at USAA. Everywhere you turned people had been a customer service agent working answering phone calls for 10 + years which seems to me like more folks should have promotion opportunities after that length of time.

It was a frequent thing to have folks say they have been "stuck on the phones for XX amount of years" rather than say how long they have been working for the company.

Overall, I would DEFINITELY recommend someone working at USAA if given the opportunity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warning: Anti Anxiety, Depressant and Stress Precriptions Required
Senior Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COMarch 15, 2014
The companies strategy, upper management and overall vision of the company is excellent. The uneducated, over paid, inadequately trained management in Colorado Springs is a absolute joke and embarrassment to the company. My Manager put in one of my reviews that I had great hair. The employees are uptight and many are pretentious, which cause a hostile – more... work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yes there is a gym and a ping pong table and a coffee shop that we used during orientation. Once you start working you never see those things again.
Non-Injury Auto Adjuster (Former Employee), PhoenixMarch 15, 2014
I studied this company for my Senior Seminar in Management. Looked great on paper but when I started working for USAA it was nothing like the company I read about. The one thing that is true is the compensation is good but it is also good at other insurance companies. There is a strong culture of competition instead of collaboration. This leads to lack – more... of team work and back stabbing. There are EEO investigations open one that I am personally familiar with and it is not mine. I got a bronze eagle award which took 40 hours of my off time to earn. When I was let go for not selling enough extra products to people were trying to file a claim my manager took my eagle off my desk and said it was property of USAA. I found out later they do this all the time and recycle the awards. How cheap is that? I did like most of the people I worked with but there is a very high turn over rate. I have been in the Air Force for 24 years and USAA is nothing like working in the military. We have integrity,trust and loyalty. You can't fake that even though they try. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a DRP repair shop for USAA for more than 10 yrs it has been a pleasure to workfor this company.
Direct repair facility (Former Employee), Multiple Connecticut repair shopsMarch 15, 2014
As an Independent CT Licensed appraiser it has been a great 10+ years for me to work with USAA. From the staff appraisers and my direct PDA, to working with its insureds and claimants all are memorable. Being a Vet and knowing that this company is as supportive as they are has giving me the best experience possible in my 25 yrs in the automotive industry. – more... The only thing that would make it better is to have the opportunity to work for this prestigious company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT COMPANY!!!
Member Relationship Specialist (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMarch 11, 2014
Flexible work hours and GREAT PAY!! Located in SAN Antonio, TX
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teletech USA (USAA Credit Card Servicing)
Call Center Credit Card Specialist (Current Employee), Springfield MoMarch 10, 2014
Pros: great benefits, decent pay for the area...
Cons: lacks advancement opportunities. no pay raises based on experience or time with company.
I love working for USAA as a contractor through Teletech. we have very high call volumes, and typically great members who are willing to work with us - Some members dont like some of the wait times or the answers we have for them. We do what we have to to make our members feel that they have been taken care of.

Management in our particular site ranges – more... from superb to having something to be desired...

The co workers are for the most part happy and willing to go the extra mile.

Hardest Part of the job, difficult calls where the caller is in duress due to personal loss, or severe hardship.

Most enjoyable part of the job, Seeing through to completion a difficult situation and having the member disconnect from the call feeling satisfied that you took care of their needs... esp if they started the call under very difficult situations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call center
Claims Adjuster (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXMarch 9, 2014
Pros: great company to work for all around
Cons: heavy inbound call center
Heavy inbound call center with heavy focus on adherence to time on phone.

About USAA

FOR OUR VETERANS: Did you know USAA has numerous career opportunities that don’t require corporate experience? If you’re – Read more