USAA Employee Reviews

Found 686 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working with the military
Property Field Adjuster (Former Employee) –  TennesseeMay 3, 2016
Too many restrictions
Manager not a people friendly person
Most of our team have left
Enjoy meeting people in person and on site
Pros
All equipment needed to handle claims adequately
Cons
Claim load and restrictions
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time management required
Total Loss Claim Adjuster (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 3, 2016
over great company
amazing benefits
great advancement opportunities
must be able to multitask
overtime is available (required to maintain good numbers)
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAMay 3, 2016
Great pay, tough workload
Managed 125 claims files
Self-managed most of the time
Great office
Lots of stress with this job but people are great at the company
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to retire from...
Sr. Banking and Insurance Specialist (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 2, 2016
Get in, stay in! They take great care of their people and set you up for success. This company really listens to the employee's input and makes changes to improve the workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission focused, process challenged
HR (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 1, 2016
No development provided. Constant change in HR leadership for last eight years. It's who you know and can you dazzle everyone. No sound business practices are used.
Pros
Great call center employees.
Cons
Use military management tactics at the cost of sound business practice
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company, much red tape
Insurance Adjuster - Auto (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 1, 2016
I was hired as an insurance adjuster but told of all the other opportunities I would have for upward mobility and to work in departments more suited to my experience, skills and desires. This was completely untrue.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the benefits over all
Business Manager (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 29, 2016
Management comes from the top down.. Still one of the best employers in the city..

USAA gives you room to grow into position.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Political.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security
Member Security Specialist (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 23, 2016
Great place to have a rewarding career. Great environment to be at. Manager and leaders know line of business and help members get their as well to obtain employment roles.
Pros
Great Company
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
some areas are micro managed
Auto Insurance Claims Handler (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 21, 2016
Do not micro manage different departments. Overall the company is good to work for and provides a stable environment. The building and grounds are enjoyable. The facilities are more than other business provide for their employees. Training is provided in house to allow insurance licenses to be kept up. Lunch was the best part of the day when time was spent with friends in the cafeterias.
Pros
covered parking
Cons
healthcare has been drastically cut
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USAA good place to work
Life and Health Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 20, 2016
Excellent compensation and benefits. I was trained in Life Insurance when I started I did not know anything, and learned a lot about life insurance because of the awesome trainer. The facilities are amazing.
Cons
Very strict on absences even if family is ill.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Injury Auto Adjuster
Adjuster 1 (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 20, 2016
At first was great, then the workload became unmanageable and management seemed to exist just to make excuses. "it will get better" Lots of people on stress leave, fmla leave. bonuses are great, health insurance is not that great. lots of time off, but you will need it because you are worked to death. Incoming call center enviroment, where you are told that you have been away from your desk for too long, and questioned constantly about your breaks. (even if you just needed a cup of coffee because someone just cursed you out on the phone). I was an exceeds employee who left.
Pros
bonus
Cons
being tied to phone, workload, management
Was this review helpful?Yes16NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract work
Publication Production (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 19, 2016
USAA has always been fair and generous to me as a contract worker. I have developed lasting relationships with several of the people who distribute work to me.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good experience
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 19, 2016
I worked as a temp - short term assignment.
I met other temps who where there three years and still not hired direct.Manager was helpful she had been there 13 years and her job was being transitioned to work at home.
Pros
no stress atmosphere
Cons
short term assignment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company but limits on Military Exp
Internal Auditor (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 18, 2016
USAA is a great company to work for, with outstanding work/life balance and friendly employees. USAA struggles with promoting those with leadership skills over those that have been in the company for long periods of time, often times overlooking military experience and leadership.
Pros
flexibility, company amenities
Cons
promotions, value of leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days
MORTGAGE ORIGINATOR II USAA (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLApril 14, 2016
Great benefits but work life balance is off. Many times on the phone way past your end of day making it difficult to plan or make appointments for personal situations.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving those who serve us
Casualty Claims Adjuster (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 13, 2016
A typical day - Helping people in need of assistance during a challenging time.
My co-workers are awesome - can't work with them for 10 years and not love some of them like family.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Claim work load over 200 pending
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love our Veteranse.
Casualty Claims Adjuster (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 10, 2016
It is a great place to work if you can handle frequent feedback on your work.
I have had quite a few managers, some great to work for, some micromanage.
The hardest part no one was happy when they called, since they had been in an auto accident.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
mircromanagment
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Usaa
Customer Service and Sale Representative (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 5, 2016
Working with USAA has given me the best opportunity of assisting our Military Forces. With all that they are dealing with it gives me great comfort that I am there to help them when they need that assistance. When they are getting deployed and are needing help with banking and just advice we are there to listen and make their transition easy .
know that I have helped a serviceman, And knowing that they have one less thing to worry about.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst training program and instructors in the industry.
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLApril 3, 2016
Relocated from out of town to work for USAA. Bad decision!
Training bored me to death.Very unprofessional people.They even brought an employee once to the training room to badmouth her previous employer.
Pros
My training classmates.
Cons
Everything else!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ethical and committed work place for employees
Financial Advisor II; III (Current Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COMarch 29, 2016
Working in a contact center is never easy but USAA works very hard to ensure that they are doing everything they can to take care of both their employees and their members. A truly ethical company that lives by their mission and values.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report