Find companies:
USAA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
445 reviews

USAA United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tbd
Sr. Marketing Manager (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXNovember 24, 2014
USAA has a great culture, they believe in their commitment to the member. Very refreshing, positive culture. Work life balance is fair, and compensation is fair as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Financial Foundations Associate (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXNovember 21, 2014
Pros: pay is good bonus is great
Cons: micro managing at its worst
Very nice environment to work in. Lots of perks. The amenities available on campus and the discounts available around town and the country are great. There are many different departments to move to and the college tuition help is awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Support Associate II (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXNovember 21, 2014
Pros: on site facility has a gym, lounge, and many outdoor activities
Cons: very difficult place to get into
Typical day is coming to work and checking emails and doing the daily tasks to better serve the customers. Always learning something new at this place due to the vast size of what the company handles. Co-workers here are amazing with great attitudes because of the atmosphere USAA creates. Most difficult part of the job would be getting used to doing the same task on a daily basis. The most enjoyable part is the people who work there. They make it a very enjoyable place to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
usaa
Call Center Representative (Former Employee), las vegasNovember 13, 2014
i loved it i wish i couldve stayed with the company but they couldnt pay us all
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Module Leader (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXNovember 11, 2014
Challenging
fast paced environment
Very secure environment
very good benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work for good benefits, no time for life
Claims Representative (Former Employee), Phoenix, ArizonaNovember 8, 2014
benefits are good and great facility. They push lots of hard work but no time for life. Marriage of military and corporate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced and interesting place to work.
Auto Adjuster (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZNovember 5, 2014
Working for USAA was a great experience. I enjoyed talking to different people everyday and helping our military members with difficult situations. A typical day involved taking multiple phones calls and helping members through accidents and easing their stress. I learned the true definition of multi-tasking by switching between multiple computer programs within seconds and enjoyed working with the entire USAA team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Culture of Customer Service
Sales, Trainer, Director (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXNovember 5, 2014
*World Class Customer Service
*Sales and Sales Training
*Opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Wealth Management Auditor (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXNovember 3, 2014
Learned more things regarding investments which really interested me
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Credit Cards Financial Foundations (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXOctober 27, 2014
Very pushy with sales..made members frustrated. Very hard to get any days off when requested, they record everything you do ex: times you would you the restroom and for how long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fun and more stress than required
Customer Service Representative/Call Center (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 24, 2014
Pros: benefits and pay
Cons: slave to a phone, it is your only purpose
The management is burdensome, over your shoulder all the time, making some suggestions not based on policy but personal opinion on how what when you say to the customer. It is not easy being someone else and some managers did not understand that goals can be accomplished without turning people into clones with no individual thought.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT place to work
Financial Foundations Associate (Former Employee), Colorado SpringsOctober 23, 2014
Pros: child care, fitness center, cafe
Micromanaged but great place to work. Get your own desk. Work by yourself for the most part. Constantly on the phones. Kind of wish I didn't quit because you could get over time when you wanted it. Great bonuses!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Property & Auto Claims Adjuster (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 16, 2014
Pros: 10k education assistance, medical, dental, vision, 401k, pension, travel, corporate card, company car, phone
Cons: short breaks, working 60 to 80 hour weeks, micromanagement, taking time from my family
A typical day at work is coming into daily tasks in the properly claims office or in the field, handling member calls on claims issues, taking new claims losses, determining contract law and coverages, liability losses, contacting attorneys on settlements and liability losses, closing exiting claims, using Xactimate & Xactanalysis, PLR, CLR, & ICU databases, handling large losses, Additional Living Expense (ALE), and CAT deployment in major storms across the country.

I continue to learn and grow in the claims industry each and every day. I continue to volunteer for training on anything claims related to become a better and stronger adjuster.

I work with senior management on assigned projects, tasks, goal, and CAT issues on a monthly basis to assist my department.

My co-workers come to me for assistance and answers when manager and senior manager aren't around to assist with complex questions, member issues, and concerns.

Hardest part of the job is being on site at CAT's and telling the client their home is a total loss or any case where a denial comes into play and no coverage is afforded.

Most enjoyable part of the job and shaking the members hand face to face and tell them everything is going to be alright and working with the general contractors to get the members home back to better than pre loss condition.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
CLAIMS SERVICE MANAGER (Current Employee), Tampa, FLOctober 14, 2014
USAA has a unified workforce with a common mission. Great opportunities for advancement and great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Fraud Detection Analyst (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXOctober 6, 2014
I would like to work for USAA again. I have my car insurance with them. They have great customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Atmoshphere
TATA Consultant Agency (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXOctober 4, 2014
This was a challenging but pleasant assignment. Assisting with building a new worship center from the ground up was rewarding both professionally and personally
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to Work!
Senior Admin Support Assoc (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXOctober 1, 2014
Pros: compensation, benefits
Cons: inconsistency in rules of management
There are so mamy great things about USAA it is too difficult to pick just a few. Compensation is great, 401k match is more than any other company, the San Antonio campus is almosta city in itself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work and the company really cares about it's employees
Licensing Analyst (Former Employee), San Antonio, TxSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: helping customers
worked from 7am to 5pm. learned licensing and compliance. worked with good management and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USAA is an excellent employer
Member Services Representative (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXSeptember 29, 2014
Daily I would make corrections to member personal information, resolve billing concerns, advise members on coverage and how they worked while telling them how they could save money on the benefits provided by the auto insurance. management was very regimented and was not very flexible. My co-workers were easy enough to work with, I never had a problem with anyone. the hardest part of the job was being micromanaged. The best part of the job was resolving customers concerns and putting members at ease.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Medicare Sales Rep (Current Employee), 9800 Fredericksburg RdSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: culture
Cons: culture
I managed numerous processes over the last 8 years of leadership at USAA
*Responsible for most HR aspects (FMLA, STD, Releasing employees, hiring employees)
*Coaching and mentoring both in-bound and out-bound employees
*Call center and productivity metrics
*3rd party contracting
*Global Sourcing responsibilities
*Six Sigma Lean- 2 years of process improvement implementation.

My passion is growing and developing people, while maintaining a productive atmosphere for the enterprise.

The hardest part of management is implementing new processes and getting employee buy-in, since change is difficult for most.

About USAA

FOR OUR VETERANS: Did you know USAA has numerous career opportunities that don’t require corporate experience? If you’re – Read more

USAA Salaries

Claims Adjuster
$42,000 per year
Adjuster
$40,000 per year
Financial Associate
$35,000 per year
Financial Specialist
$39,000 per year
Senior Specialist
$48,494 per year