Find companies:
USAID
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
67 reviews

USAID Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Provider
Security Assistant (Former Employee), Wazer Akbar KhanSeptember 9, 2014
Keep an eye on everything to insure the safety. I learned how can I be strong enough to face difficulties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic place to work
Technical Advisor (Current Employee), Washington, DCJuly 24, 2014
Pros: free gym
Cons: bureaucratic
Interesting placed to work with a lot of passionate people. Great opportunities to network and get to know top level professionals in the field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, work from home
Intern (Former Employee), College Park, MDJune 9, 2014
Lots of odd jobs with flexible hours. Ended up mostly creating training videos.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of USAID
SPPM (Current Employee), Washington, DCApril 8, 2014
Great place to work

 Provide cross-functional support to SPPM team
 Work closely with Directors of Budget and Communications to provide daily operational support
 Work closely with Communications & Engagement (COMs) team with creating, editing and submitting print requests for fact sheets, handouts, info graphics and other print materials used by – more... USAID
 Assist COMs with editing of newsletter articles and updating fact sheets
 Work with COMs to create Administrator’s taskers
 Process travel requests
 Obtain country clearances via email/cable (eCCs) for travelers on SPPM team
 Process travel vouchers and document travel in Agency’s electronic system (e2 Solutions) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PROJECT COORDINATOR AND FINANCE ANALYST
Project COORDINATOR (Former Employee), DOMINICAN REPUBLICFebruary 6, 2014
WORK IN PROPOSAL DESIGN OF PROJECT, IDENTIFICATION OF NECESSITY OF THE POPULATION FOCUS.
DIRECTION OF THE TECHNICIAN TEEM SPECIALIZE IN AGRO-INDUSTRIAL PROCESS AND COCOA BEANS COMMERCIALIZATION WITH USAID SUPPORT
NEGOTIATE WITH LOCAL AGENCY FINANCING FOR REHABILITATION OF COCOA FARMER IMPACTED FOR HURRICANE IN DOMINICAN REPUBLIC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE ENVIRONMENT
Grants Manager (Former Employee), KOSOVOFebruary 3, 2014
Responsible for overall management of the grant program - monitoring, evaluation and coordination of grant-making components of USAID EROL Strategic Activities Fund worth $975,000.00 and the capacity building components of EROL grants program under USAID FORWARD.
Designed the Grants manual
Compiled an assessment report of the Kosovo Local NGOs and educational – more... institutions capacities working in Rule of Law sector
Developed Request for Application package of documents under USAID Forward
Designed implementation plan of the USAID EROL Strategic Actives fund grant making and administration process
Responsible for court monitoring data collection, reporting, advising USAID Forward 13 su-grantees on their advocacy initiatives, coaching, mentoring and on job training
Member of a Technical Evaluation Committee for reviewing proposals under USAID Forward RFA Designed the policies for ensuring transparent open and fair grant making process
 Provided on job training and advice to two main USAID Forward Grantees and 13 sub-grantees on project data gathering systems and reporting
capacities as well as their overall advocacy initiatives.
 Conducted organizational technical needs assessment of two main USAID Forward grantees, Advocacy Training and Resource Center/ATRC and
Balkan Investigative Reporting Network/BIRN; provided regular advise to both NGOs to successfully implement respective projects under USAID Forward
 Reviewed and recommended proposals for court monitoring for USAID approval
 Review Panel Member of several solicitation of IQC, Architecture & Engineering/Kosovo court Refurbishment Design and Project Management – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Interagency Curriculum Developer (Current Employee), Washington, DCNovember 18, 2013
Pros: international work
Cons: insular
OFDA is the lead government agency for the coordination for international disaster assistance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and engaging
Senior Business Analyst (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 24, 2013
It was fun to work with different professional people with the same goal/objective - to make a change. I learnt that the there is strength in diversity and in working together. Though you may have different ways of achieving an outcome, just participating in those JAD sessions helped ease those concerns and by building on each others strength.

The – more... hardest part of my job was the frequent long overseas missions. Sometimes away from family for a long time. The most enjoyable part of the job was making things work for every key stakeholder. Listening to people from different cultures and designing a product that meets their needs was just gratifying. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Secretary (Former Employee), overseasSeptember 15, 2013
very pleasant people to work for. great working experience. good pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting, mission centered, excellent facility, wholesome work environment, professional and vast potential
Program Specialist (Current Employee), Washington DCJuly 7, 2013
Pros: benefits, consistency, quality people, good management, global mission
Cons: there are not any offices in states in us besides the washington, va area.
The mission of USAID is to provide assistance to developing countries throughout the world and to this end give people in impoverished conditions the opportunity to fulfill their God given potential.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In General working with JSI/USAID was productive
Consultant of Research Method (Former Employee), Rome, GAJune 28, 2013
Pros: free coffee and snack were provided
Cons: far away from where i live and traffic jam - thus driving made me tired.
Working with JSI/USAID was exiting and productive. The staff members who were working with were very helpful in providing necessary information regarding the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good Asset for the company
Engineering Assistant (Former Employee), Pristina, Kosovo US EmbassyMay 11, 2013
Pros: lunches.
Cons: nothing.
I have learned too much from this Company for the work for the Projects and the time and respect the job and co-workers, hardest part dealing with warious Projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
standard operating procedure to improve the lab working management
senior laboratories advisor (Former Employee), egyptApril 27, 2013
working day starting from 8.0 AM till 5.0 PM
I learned how to be profession person
vice president is a good manager
co-workers very helpful
the hardest part is the limited time
the enjoyable part of the job is the good cooperation and coordination between me and the team
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USAID is an effective frontline agency for advancing US Government influence and ideals of good governance, democracy and international peace.
SURGE FOOD FOR PEACE OFFICER (Former Employee), Washington, DCOctober 13, 2012
Pros: travels on tdy and visiting program sites and beneficiaries.
Cons: absence from family.
On a typical day, one reviews incoming communication on the status of programs/projects one is responsible for in the respective countries and provides responses and/or guidance for further action. Issues beyond one's authority are reported to one's supervisor for directives. Further data is requested from the field when required.

I learned teamwork, – more... data assessment and evaluation, the necessity for good judgment and the reward of hard work and constant learning of new approaches to obtain program/project objectives.

Management provides continual training commensurate with delegated authority/responsibility.

Co-workers are a valuable asset on account of the variety of skills,
perspectives and backgrounds that they bring to teamwork.

The hardest part of the work is that one is always "on call" when in the field on account of time zone differences. One has to keep Washington apprised of urgent situations in Washington time.

The most enjoyable part of the work is meeting program beneficiaries in the field and feeling that one is making a difference in the lives of others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning work experience (practical)
Monitoring and Evaluation Manager (Current Employee), HarareOctober 16, 2014
Pros: fun workplace
Cons: short contract
My first work place in a sub-office with a small staff compliment that imparted skills to me as a recent graduate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Interest
Public Private Alliance Coordinator - (AFG) (Current Employee), KabulOctober 12, 2014
Work under standard rules and regulations according to Organizations format!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Computer Instructor (Former Employee), AfghanistanOctober 11, 2014
I work with USAID (United State Agency for International Development) as a computer Instructor for more the four years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work and grow professionally and personally.
DEVELOPMENT ASSISTANCE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Lima, PeruSeptember 29, 2014
The most enjoyable event of the year was the Halloween contest. The most enjoyable part of the job I performed was my interaction with co-workers. The hardest part of the job was that priorities were always changing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
vERY HUMANITARIAN
FACILITATOR (Former Employee), NAIROBISeptember 29, 2014
Pros: got to meet people from all walks of life
Cons: no salary just transport allowances
WE WORKED WITH THE DISADVANTAGED AND EVERYDAY HAD ITS HEARTBREAKING MOMENTS BUT ALSO FOLLOWED BY JOY AND HOPE AFTER MAKING A DECENT LIFE A POSSIBILITY FOR THEM.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
playing football
PSD (Former Employee), kabul afghanistanSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: be for the starting workshop
Cons: it was important for me and all to run the organization
i wrote that work in different org
for Example in USAID I worked as a PSD(personal security deductive)
that was save the foreign stuff
2: i learned about security ,how to communicate with high level organization medical training and how to be a professional in your work.
3: i had very good relation with my co-workers
4: when i was trip to the province – more... because i must save the people that was my task.
4: the end of each months i had training it was very enjoyable for me. – less

1 2 3 4