Find companies:
USIC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
64 reviews

USIC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
/
locator (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 9, 2014
working in the heat and cold can become unbareable...........................................................................................................................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull Job
Revenue Protection Agent (Current Employee), Decatur, ILJuly 8, 2014
Pros: gas
Cons: management
Risky job and pay wasn't very good. Never had enough work and hours weren't consistent
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
usic what a big joke
locator (Former Employee), columbus ohioJune 25, 2014
Well I just got let go from usic ... I was into the second week of training and today 06/25/2014 I was sitting in class ..I am the only white person out of 10 black employees that are in this training class well all the black people desired the wanted to talk about interracial stuff. After all the laughing and giggling they ask me what I thought ...Me – more... not saying a word just ignoring them..I get fired for make a racial slur ....Although I said nothing ... not a fair company at all – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Job
Manager (Former Employee), Detroit, MIMay 30, 2014
Pros: company vehicle
Cons: unsupportive management
This job was not as hard as it was made out to be. It started off ok and turned into a prison demanding more and more with little or no rewards for the employees. Management was also unsupportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ONLY if you have no family
Utility Locate Technician (Former Employee), TXMay 21, 2014
Pros: company truck, pay is alright
Cons: management is trash....and pretty much everything else is a con
This job isnt for the ones that have families or young kids. I worked the east tx area for 2 yrs and besides when I first started, the bottom fell out. Come out of training which doesn't prepare u at all for the actual job, then get thrown to the wolves. I caught on quick just to get my own area and work load increased by 70%...literally. You get all – more... the hours you want; even if you dont want em. On-called sucked, I averaged 2 days out the week plus my turn for weekends. I have 3 young kids and pretty much got screwed out of 2yrs of their lives because we literally worked that much. It had its benefits, but in the end, it wasnt worth it. As the saying goes tho, money is money. Good luck – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company for people who like to work independently. Company vehicle, gas card, cell phone and laptop all provided.
Utility Locate Technician (Former Employee), Spartanburg, SCMay 11, 2014
Great company for people who like to work independently. Company vehicle, gas card, cell phone and laptop all provided.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your success is up to your supervisor
Locate Tech (Former Employee), GaylordMay 4, 2014
Pros: work at a fast pace
Cons: micro management
Three weeks of classroom studies of what you can NOT do or you will get sued or fired. We went into the field to actually work on locates at prime, easy jobs. One week with a mentor working again on easy locates. Then, it is up to your sup. to designate what locates you get. Day two I was on the third busiest corner in my home town. Called my sup. for – more... help- took him three hours to mark one corner with tools that I could not have, yet. Day four and I get to locate same busy corner, with no clamp with 100 ft radius. Now working somewhere else. Good luck with WM I supervisor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible company to work for
Utility Locate Technician (Former Employee), Lombard,ILApril 24, 2014
if you have a life outside of work avoid this company at all costs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work hard
Lead Locator (Current Employee), Taos, nmApril 23, 2014
work good with others, and love working outside. self starter
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'd like information on working for this company
Utility Locate Technician (Former Employee), Atlanta, Georgia and Metro Atlanta, GeorgiaApril 10, 2014
Is it hard to get a job within the Atlanta, Georgia and metro Atlanta, Georgia area as a Utility Locate Technician, and what does the training for 2 weeks consist of? What's the pay rate for training and what's the regular pay rate?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weather and Tech Savvy
Utility Locate Technician (Former Employee), Lawrence KSApril 1, 2014
Job consisted of working outside in all weather conditions. Locating Gas, Electric, Water, High Profile Cables and Telephone Lines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
negative reviews are true
field locator (Former Employee), midland, tcMarch 26, 2014
Pros: get paid for some classroom stuff
Cons: almost everything, company vehicle is strictly for work route theirfore its not a perk worth $2 an hr guys
Trainer wasnt happy. Tried to take classroom seriously but wasn't allowed to for multiple reasons. Didn't want to be one to report something like that. Mentor in field training told superior i didn't know maps when i had them mastered. Proved this w new mentor and than some.next day told i had to be certified and to sit tight. Tuesday came and told – more... by district manager and supervisor IM being let go for accident where i was almost ran over at training locate. In fact this never occurred, quite to the contrary i impressed mentor. Perhaps Im naive about how some companies work. Wish i could give this place positive feedback.. i do but exceeding every test and training they gave me didn't matter and superior did not like me for unknown reasons. Tried emailing company – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you love driving.
Locate Technician (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIMarch 25, 2014
Pros: driving most of the day
Cons: over wellming feeling at times
Marking underground utilities is a great job to have, especially if you like driving around different areas in your state. Hardest part really is just being over cumbered with locate tickets that are due that day or sooner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work place
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INMarch 17, 2014
Pros: relaxed, hours
Cons: short breaks, management, attendance
The job is very relaxed and sometimes boring on some days. Other days it can be very busy and overwhelming also. A typical work day includes answering phone calls, looking up information with in system (tickets) and transferring contractors to their locators. I've learned how to work with different systems and got more experience with working on computers. – more... The co- workers are outgoing and fun. We all help make the day go by. The management can improve with communication and being more courteous of their employees. The hardest part of the job is probably dealing with the unhappy customers. The most enjoyable part is not knowning who you will talk to, each day is never the same. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting day to day
Assistant Claims Coordinator (Former Employee), San AntonioFebruary 20, 2014
I worked to find out who and what caused a damaged, by using spreadsheets and company specific software I was able to find pictures and notes of other employees about the damage. I participated in company wide conference calls where in depth discussion about damages occurred, with me having to speak clearly and efficiently to get my point across.

I – more... worked in the office which had 4 people, including me, in on a daily basis. Working with a close-nit team was helpful should a problem ever arise.

The company was bought out recently and because I was fairly new they laid me off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job in the world
locate technician (Former Employee), Springfield, ILFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: worked outside
Cons: unrealistic deadlines on call ever other month
It was the best job i have ever had I worke with little supervision it was outside. l met the customers face to face.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only care about production not well-bieng
Damage Prevention Specialist (Former Employee), georgiaFebruary 9, 2014
Tries to force 10 hour work days 6-7 days a week. Overloads with work but expects you to complete ALL
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor management
Underground Utility Locate Technician (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCFebruary 9, 2014
Purposely understaffed and pushes for quality and production but both are not able to be obtained without mistakes. Long hours low pay and management that believes in verbally beating the employees down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Line Locator (Former Employee), Waco, TXFebruary 7, 2014
This place expects you to know what to do straight out of training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, needs better pay
Utility Locate Technician - Electric and Gas (Former Employee), King of Prussia, PAFebruary 3, 2014
I very much enjoyed the work I did here. You get to set your own hours based on your workload (all the overtime you want when work is available). However there is an on-call requirement, which would be fine except for the fact the company provides no premium. If you are assigned on-call on a Saturday for example, you can't make any plans for that day. – more... If you don't get called out, you don't get any sort of pay. Also, if you do get called out, you only get paid for hours worked; there is no minimum you get paid. If you get called to a water main break 10 minutes away and put in 40 minutes, you get paid for 40 minutes. Also the health insurance here is very expensive and is the high-deductible health plan. – less

1 2 3 4