Find companies:
USIS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
131 reviews

USIS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Associate Investigator (Former Employee), China Lake, CAJuly 21, 2014
There is no typical day as an Investigator. Each situation is different and each case load is different. Time management is a must.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production and Quality
Investigative Specialist (Former Employee), Boyers, PAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: training
Cons: long hours
I was able to expand on my leadership and teaching skills. Management was not always clear on what was going on within the organization, but was very good at communicating changes as soon as they occurred. The hardest part of my job was sitting at a desk all day. The most enjoyable part of my job was getting to work with the other employees on creating – more... a more positive work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
conduct background interviews
Contract Specialist (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJuly 10, 2014
Pros: work schedule
interview subject's of investigation and conduct follow up with information.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
All Source Intelligence Analyst (Former Employee), Reston, VAJuly 9, 2014
Everyday I felt like the products I provided to the customer was rewarding and motivating. Co-workers were helpful and made you feel like a family. The hardest part of the job was the fear of not providing accurate critical information that could lead to failed missions. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning of the products provided lead to – more... successful missions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Specialist
Independent Contractor/ Consultant (Current Employee), Falls Church, VAJuly 3, 2014
Provides investigative coverage in various exercises to support operational objectives
Effectively communicates with all levels of individuals while performing in difficult and stressful conditions
Demonstrate sound judgment and flexibility in a dynamic team environment
Ensures successful completion of teaching objectives for all exercises
Analyzes – more... specific operational objectives and assist in tailoring training exercises to meet the needs of students based on student's geographic assignments
Provide feedback to students regarding methodology to assist with ensuring the proper execution of operational tasks – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay for People Just Entering the Work Force with a Clearance
Research Analyst (Former Employee), Winchester, VAJune 10, 2014
Pros: competitive pay, decent benefits
Cons: low morale
Not a bad company to work for, but certainly not the best. Morale was very low and the company did nothing to remedy the situation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USIS has a very busy work environment
Escort/Monitor (Current Employee), McLean, VAJune 10, 2014
A typical day at work is very busy. I've learned how to communicate with lots of different personalities. The management team I work with have been very helpful to the team when needed. Most of my co-workers are team players. The hardest part of the job is when we have to stand for long periods of time. The most enjoyable part of the job is that everyday – more... you get to do something different. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive place to work
Retention Specialist (Current Employee), Grove City, PAJune 3, 2014
Things always changing and have to adapt to them.Sometimes a relaxing enviroment for the most part until like any job work picks up and then there is a surge of stress
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ability to work from home is a positive. Driving all the time takes a toll on your body.
Investigator (Current Employee), Hoffman Estates, IllinoisJune 1, 2014
Pros: work from home and company car
Cons: driving long distances, long work hours and low pay
A typical work day usually starts at 7:00 am Monday - Friday and there are times that you are working until 9:00 pm or 10:00 pm to get all the work completed. Management really does not care to much about the driving distance or time it takes to get to 1 interview. There are co-workers that would rather pass the buck instead of obtaining the information – more... themselves. The only thing I really like is being able to work from home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress atmosphere.
Senior Investigator (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAMay 28, 2014
I prefer not to talk about his job, other than it was very stressful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Special Investigator - received client cases and handled them from initial interview to final report.
Special Investigator (Former Employee), Fairfax, VAMay 21, 2014
Pros: working independently
Cons: overtime required to keep up with caseload.
A typical day began at 8am and ended approximately 10-11 hours later. Constant daily contact required with clients via phone and in-person interviews. Finalized reports at end of workday. Typed and transmitted each case summary regarding personal background of each subject. It was rewarding to know that I can handle an extremely stressful job with efficiency – more... and in a timely manner. The most difficult part of the job was scheduling in-person appointments to accommodate and juggle multiple work schedules. The most enjoyable part of the job was to be able to work independently while being part of a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Admin/Operations Assistant (Former Employee), Pearl River, NYMay 21, 2014
This position taught me a great deal of organizational, time management, and Excel skills that have helped to grow me as a business professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Underpaid, overworked with major emotional distress
Investigator (Former Employee), New York AreaMay 20, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: everything else...management, benefits, salary, no advancement, profit driven with loss of integrity and concern to national security
I have worked for the company for many years. This company used to be about national security, integrity, and providing a good product. Now, the company is money hungry, profit driven and lost all sight of what product we are producing. We are supposed to be doing thorough background checks to ensure people are okay to hold a security clearance. Instead, – more... we are rushed to deliver whatever we can in a short period of time and not properly follow up or we will miss the bonus incentive for completing early...IS THAT WHAT WE WANT FOR NATIONAL SECURITY...rushed background checks so executives can make a bonus???? This is why USIS is in hot water and is currently being investigated. Personally, Background Investigations for Security Clearances should NEVER be PROFIT DRIVEN. Executive greed will always see money versus safety!! Upper management is uncompassionate and GOD forbide you take time off, you will pay the price for work and missing deadlines because some bosses are not willing to adjust deadlines or even care to call to see how you are doing. They only call to ensure you are back at work and producing so THEY can get their bonuses and raises. Like most companies, bonues and raises don't trickle down to actual field staff who works night and day to make unreasonable deadlines and has gone years without promotions and raises because every time you get the job down, they change everything to make sure it is impossible to make Quality, Deadlines, and any other metric required to get a raise. Most of my colleagues are extremely stressed out and constantly hounded by our Team Leader. In my area, there is no flexibility in the job that once was set up for us to schedule our own days now that we have to check out cases and credentials during certain timeframes not leaving realistic room for us having to accomodate meeting sources or references during their business hours. I used to be a top performer and now, I have been given no training on new procedures and taken hits left and right. I feel like I have no idea what my job entails. My Supervisor tells you to read the updates and training manuals and be self taught. First off, if I read every email in regards to update and looked over each training manual, I would NEVER be able to do fieldwork to get my job done. I challenge my boss to go back in the field and do what I do with all the new changes and I guarantee, my boss couldn't!!! Also, it typicallly comes down to a reviewers interpretation so what one reviewer of your report says goes could be different with another reviewer so you waste, yet, more time disputing what you were informed to do prior. BUT If you don't dispute, your stats take another hit. USIS is no longer a company of integrity, honesty, or a good place to work. They have caused many of employees emotional distress and enjoy threatening taking your job if you dont work off the clock or somehow magically work major caseloads within 40 hours...it is not humanly possible to achieve unless people are taking shortcuts...THIS IS NOT NATIONAL SECURITY!!! BEFORE APPLYING...do your research...you will see it is not a place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is the worst company I have ever worked for... EVER
Investigator (Current Employee), Washington, DCMay 19, 2014
Pros: work from home
Cons: management, unrealistic work load, horrible pay, minimal possibility for career advancement
I have worked for USIS in several capacities. At this point, I do not recommend the investigator position to anyone. The role of the investigator (who actually doesn't conduct any investigations) is that of a glorified verifier. Its a modern day sweatshop. Entirely too much work. The expectations for completing the work are unrealistic and the pay is – more... awful. Management does not care about the employees. Its all a numbers game. The benefits are awful. The plus is that as an investigator, you get to work from home. But that is the ONLY pro. I have not spoken to one investigator for this company that actually likes the job. I would not recommend the investigator job or any role in this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not somewhere I would want to stay at for the long run
Case Screening Technician (Current Employee), Boyers, PAMay 19, 2014
I've worked here for almost 2 years, and there have been some good times. We work OT everyday (2+ hours), not giving us much time outside of work with our families. They don't offer raises or bonuses here, so if you're comfortable making $11.61/hour for the next 10 years or so, this job is for you. The management here is not something the be desired. – more... Managers chose favorites, and if you're not a favorite forget about getting a requested day off, or getting to leave early if you're sick, you'll have to make up the OT hours later in the week, even if you have sick time or PTO. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USIS
Investigator (Former Employee), O'Fallon, ILMay 2, 2014
Too much work….Not enough time or pay. Too much work….Not enough pay or time!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fun experience
Healthcare Fraud Investigator (Current Employee), Fairfax, VAApril 30, 2014
Ability to work on multiple federal contracts. Co-workers are great; however, management is not the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Results oriented company with little interest in advanced training or advancement
Special Investigator (Former Employee), Grove City, PAApril 23, 2014
Pros: company car provided
Cons: travel, detail assignments for a month duration away from home
I truly enjoyed this job. I basically was on my own, from scheduling, interviewing, record searching, investigating, reporting, etc. There was little interaction with team leads or management, unless numbers were low. Although it was a very critical and detailed job, time pressures and work overload was common. I did well, as I am an excellent time – more... manager, very detailed oriented and usually only make a mistake once and never again.
The hardest part of the job was travel. In the area I lived it was not uncommon to drive 2 or 3 hours for an interview. Although I was still held to the same production (cases completed) standards as someone with a much smaller territory.
What I enjoyed the most was meeting a wide range of individuals. I also felt I was making a different, as most of my work involved in-depth background investigations for top level security clearances. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Research Analyst (Current Employee), VirginiaApril 16, 2014
Good Company...........................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do Not Work Here
Investigator (Former Employee), USAApril 15, 2014
Pros: work from home?
Cons: the whole job.
This is the 2nd review I put here, indeed.com removed my first one... not sure why I didn't violate any of their rules. Anyway, USIS is a joke. I have years of investigating and report writing experience with my previous job and this is just insane. First of all the salary is a joke, I felt like I was working in a first job right out of college. Secondly, – more... the caseloads are ridiculous and completely unmanageable. As an associate investigator, you are assigned the same caseloads as senior investigators but paid half as much...then you won't get promoted to investigator because you aren't reaching the impossible numbers they expect you to meet each month. You have a week to get an entire case done and they expect that it is supposed to be perfect and complete in that amount of time; on top of managing all your other cases, dealing with reopened cases and everything else. Supervisors? Ha! I maybe spoke with my Team Leader once a month, but that is pushing it. I work very well independently, but to be put in the field with no direction, no expectations being told to you and no help at all is absurd. You are set up to fail at this job from the moment you finish OJT and they want it that way... that way when they decide to let go of more people they have a reason to blame it on so you can't sue... because you aren't making your numbers. They know it's impossible to reach those numbers, but they set them anyway to cover their butts. I am so glad I got out when I did. I suspect with all the criminal and federal lawsuits against the company that it's going to completely go down sooner than later. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About USIS

It doesn't take a great detective to determine that Altegrity is a leader in security services. The holding company owns Kroll, – Read more