Find companies:
USMC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
446 reviews

USMC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gift for Some, Not handled well for most
Service Desk Tier II+ Lead Supervisor (Former Employee), NOLAJuly 16, 2014
Hard work, dedication, and initiative will take you to new highs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different every day
Customer Order Processing Manager (Former Employee), Yuma, AZJuly 16, 2014
Consistently found new and invigorating ways to accomplish a multitude of requirements. Employee management, Warehouse management, customer service, inventory control.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deil Dogged
Supply Clerk (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: awake early, asleep late
Discipline at its finest. Most life changing experience i had in my life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we advanced great and learned to be leaders in real world.
Petroleum fuel specialist (Former Employee), Beaufort, SCJuly 16, 2014
Pros: gave us what it took to grow
Cons: free medical and dental
i loved being in the marines traveled alot learned to be a true leader.i test fuel and work with computers in their.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simply the Best
Infantry 0311 (Former Employee), Camp Lejeune, NCJuly 14, 2014
What can I say other than Semper Fidelis to all my fellow past and present Marines.....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Hydraulic pneumatic mechanic/diesel technician (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 13, 2014
Pros: good pay, great co workers, traveling, learning
Cons: slow promotion, highly stressful
My experience in the military was all centered around learning. That ranges from mechanical skills, to communication skills necessary to complete day to day tasks. I gained a lot of knowledge, and learned a lot of life lessons. I gained many values such as dependability, understanding, and professionalism.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Marines to be around and a brother-hood like no other
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Jacksonville, NCJuly 13, 2014
Pros: free medical & dental benifits
Cons: train for months in the desert.
Miss the times the training the toughness the brother-hood and being a unit and every body on the same page 24/7.,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work yet rewarding
Tactical Vehicle Security (Former Employee), Kāne‘ohe Bay, HIJuly 12, 2014
A great experience which taught many leadership and management skills in all types of environments and settings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace but long breaks
Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: long breaks, free lunches, professional workplace.
Cons: power hungry commissioned officers, dysfunctional at times, long hours at times.
In my opinion it was fun because you're young and doing things you wouldn't expect 18 year olds to do. A normal day for me was working out early, going to work, two hour lunch break, after work it's off to the local restaurant. The commissioned officers were cold at times but when you put yourself in their shoes and see what they saw you could pretty – more... much see why they act the way they do. My co workers were cool for the most part I mean they were pretty much chill guys who after work couldn't wait to go out on the town afterwards. The hardest part of the job I would say was working after hours became then I just happen to work on fumes which is frustrating. The most enjoyable I would say is after work because there was so much to do on base (work out, rec room, bowling alley, etc.) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience no Matter what your in store for
Amphibious Assault Vehicle Crewman (Former Employee), Twentynine Palms, CAJuly 7, 2014
Pros: get life training
Cons: keeps you from the ones your protecting
Get up at 0500 and PT, get to work at 0700. Depending on our mission at hand (preparing to deploy overseas or on ship), it would dictate our training schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Team Leader (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CAJuly 4, 2014
Your up in the morning with the rising sun and ready to go to serve at anytime. In the Marines you are required to be ready at all times for anything and that includes running. There is no typical day in the Corp. You go to bed and wake up on someone else's time.The Marines have taught me discipline, integrity, honor, courage, commitment, situational – more... awareness, leadership, to adapt and overcome, logistics, as well as organizational and preparation skills. The hardest part about being a Marine is being away from family. The most enjoyable part is all the places you get to see. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and challenging
Assistant Detachment Commander (Former Employee), AbujaJuly 1, 2014
Pros: travel, job security, healthcare
Cons: occasionally treated as a child
Insured United States Embassies were secured.
Drafted reports for malfunctioning equipment.
Provided guidance to junior Marines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting and very amazing benifits
E-3 LCPL (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLJune 30, 2014
Pros: free food, free heath care, and good money
Cons: they are aloud to yell at and you just have take it
being in the Marines was really the best time so far of my young life. you learn lots of skills some you can use in the civilian world some you cant. you work with a lot of interesting people and go to a lot of interesting places all around the world. it does suck waking up really early but over time you get use to it. but the best part about it is – more... you get paid to stay in shape, travel the world, hang out with good friends, shoot guns and blow stuff up who wouldn't love it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed working their
Sgt. Hazmat & Safety NCOIC (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CAJune 30, 2014
In charge of safety and hazmat ensured that all regulations where up to date and prevented mishaps
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing funds for the United States Marine Corps
Fiscal Supervisor/Finance Technician (Former Employee), Paris Island, GAJune 29, 2014
- A typical work day consists of taking in collections and disbursements.
-I learned how to audit collections and disbursements.
-I trained and delegated tasks to co-workers.
-The hardest part of the job was trying to keep accountability of where the funds are and where they are headed.
-The most enjoyable part of the job was watching the fiscal section – more... run smoothly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid leader and manager
Advisor/Manager (Current Employee), Oceanside, CAJune 28, 2014
Pros: longevity
Cons: over so soon
A typical day was long and plenty of paperwork. Learned that a hands on is always required. Management is a plus and always required. My co-workers performed task well - well enough for a unit to be awarded a prestigious award and several employees received received other awards. Most enjoyable part of the job was to perform task that worked with the – more... employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Diesel Mechanic (Current Employee), Jacksonville, NCJune 27, 2014
Pros: i got smoke breaks when ever i wanted and long lunch
Cons: long work days. small pay lots of working out
i worked in the marine corps and everyday i went in and fixed a truck we got fun days every so often .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extraordinary entry level training and sense of camaraderie, lots of opportunities for travel and advancement, extremely challenging and satisfying
Operations officer (Current Employee), Kaneohe, HIJune 25, 2014
Working as an officer required a great deal of both managerial and leadership skills, and provided phenomenal feedback from extremely proficient and experienced leaders. Phenomenal sense of teamwork and service above self. Extremely passionate coworkers, but also extremely competitive workforce. Great opportunities for mentoring subordinates and being – more... a positive influence on budding young professionals. Extremely direct and literal conversational workplace style. Responsible for multimillion dollar equipment sets and ensuring proper repairs. Extremely fast paced work environment often requiring long work days. Lots of travel lasting for multiple months. Phenomenal for personal growth. Less phenomenal for quality family time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USMC
Field Radio Operator (Former Employee), DODJune 22, 2014
It was an interesting experiment. Its the military. This experiment took me all over the world, from California to Afghanistan.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marine Corps Life
Presidental Security/Rifleman (Former Employee), Washington D.C. Thurmont, MD, Twentynine Palms, CAJune 21, 2014
Pros: full coverage on healthcare and dental
Cons: micromanagement, having a staff that unapproachable
Marine Corps is a lifestyle not a job. On the job 24/7 365. Most days we spent our time training in the field or at the rifle/pistol range. Some administration work was involved. I learned management skills by being in charge of multiple individuals and overseeing their training personally. As well as protection and security measures. The Marine I served – more... with were some of the best quality of men you could find in the Military. My battalion was tier 1 among all of them. Hardest part of the job was the countless hours on in training for deployment. The most enjoyable part of my job was being with my team on deployment to Afghanistan. – less

1 2 3 4 5