Find companies:
USMC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
581 reviews

USMC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding way to start
Non-Commission Officer In Charge (NCOIC) (Former Employee), Beaufort, SCFebruary 3, 2015
Would not trade my time in the Corps for anything have Marines I will never forget ture once a Marine always a Marine and they will be there for life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and straightforward enjoyable workplace
E4 Field Radio Operator (Former Employee), Camp Pendelton, CAJanuary 31, 2015
Pros: payed housing, healthcare
Cons: short lunch breaks, long hours
A typical work day consisted of the inventory of 5.2 million dollars of the company's gear. Safety inspections of all equipment and teaching others how to operate how to master all radio systems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great attention to detail big responsibilities
Aviation Electronics Technician (E-3) (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLJanuary 29, 2015
Pros: paid schooling, paid housing, medical benefits
Cons: most stressful job i have ever experienced, long hours
On a normal day my job would be to report to my supervisor in our shop, troubleshoot aircraft and the aircrafts specific electronics that were not functioning. After determining what the fault was I would then document my findings, what I was going to do to fix the problem. My co-workers I worked with were ususally great, I never had problems with co workers not doing their job. I would say the most stressful part of the job is taking the time and steps to ensure everything is done the right way, because if we didn't do our job right on the ground we knew that it could cost somebody their life. For me my most enjoyable part of my job is working with co-workers to fix something. To me my co-workers were my friends also, we got our jobs done right but we still managed to have fun and pass time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and demanding work environment
Combat Correspondent/Broadcast Journalist (Current Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 28, 2015
Every day, it is my job to manage Marines, locate newsworthy products, cover, edit and publish them for external news outlets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military training should be required for all young men.
Corrections Officer (Former Employee), Camp Lejeune, NCJanuary 28, 2015
Pros: steady income
Cons: did not want to work in corrections
USMC was a great experience and gave me good direction in life.
Although I excelled at my job working in a prison, it was not what I wanted as a career.
Typical day was , securing prisoner counts, observing movements through and around grounds for work parties. Supervised my section when on duty. Swing shift was probably hardest to get used to.
I enjoyed serving with my fellow guards and was able to advance to a supervising position quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Energetic
Infantryman (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CAJanuary 26, 2015
Pros: advancement, new life style, god pay
Cons: long hours without overpay, hardly no vacation time
Typical day work was running 5 -8 miles then not doing anything for an extended period of time if we didnt have to go on a field operation. Getting ready for deployment meant alot of field ops so that took away time from family and friends. Management was sub-par and co-workers were either not cooperative or not flexible with time schedules/
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a way of life
Sergeant (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CaJanuary 25, 2015
Pros: nothing beats serving your country.
Cons: relationship killer.
The military is a great place to start after high school. It forces you out of your comfort zone. Skills and habits last a life time. The life is hard and not for everyone. By far the best career I have had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to learn leadership,accountabilty, and high work ethic
IMRL Manager (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 23, 2015
Best place to learn leadership,accountabilty, and high work ethic
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed Serving an Protecting
Marine Corps E-4 Coproal (Former Employee), USAJanuary 23, 2015
Pros: you served honorabaly and prtected your love ones and country
Cons: you didnt lose a friend
Formation at 6 AM running a 3 mile run, breakfast, than walk a mile to the work area, PM the Vehicle, making sure your piers are doing their jobs. Hardest part of the day would consist of replacing parts on the tractors, and waiting to hear if we were called to combat. Enjoyable part is know your job is done well and you are alive and well
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense training with life changing experiences
7314 (Former Employee), Fort Huachuca, AZJanuary 22, 2015
If you're up for a challenging lifestyle and are looking to improve yourself day by day and be part of the best brotherhood in the world USMC is definitely the way to go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security
Gunner (Former Employee), Camp Lejeune, NCJanuary 22, 2015
Pros: job security
Cons: hard to balance work and family life
Benefits are great, I have learned many things I would never know if it wasn't for my experiences and opportunities while serving my country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, great education and training
Contract Surveillance Rep (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CAJanuary 22, 2015
A typical day would consist of learning complex Gov. contractual laws and assessments. Management was helpful in day to day requirements. Co-workers were also helpful making the slide from a civilian work place to Civil service. The hardest part of the job was leaving(Gov. cutbacks). I really enjoyed the people I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job of my life
Machine Gun Squad Leader (Former Employee), 29 Palms, CAJanuary 20, 2015
Pros: brotherhood, deployments
Cons: missing holidays
Training began Monday around four AM and concluded Friday around one PM. On days we were not in the field training physical fitness was conducted daily at five AM. Deployments to Iraq, conducted searches and Patrol, Detainee release, Security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depolyed
Communications Chief (Former Employee), Camp Lejeune, NCJanuary 19, 2015
I deployed with this unit during OEF great command and NCO leadership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best decision of my life.
Corporal (Current Employee), Chicopee, MAJanuary 17, 2015
Pros: experience
best decision of my life.
The traveling and Bonds I built with fellow marines are irreplaceable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience. Always surrounded by motivated employees.
MAGTF Plans Chief (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CAJanuary 16, 2015
Pros: great healthcare, very helpful upper management, great sense of achievement
Cons: long periods of time away from my family ranging from 3 to 12 months.
Rewarding experience. Multiple ways to differ your experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many long days, long hours, Lots of time spent away from home
Assistant Maintenance Chief (Current Employee), 29 Palms, CAJanuary 15, 2015
Pros: beinfits
Cons: away from home alot
A lot of time spent waiting then being told what needs to get accomplished late in the day leading into a really late evening.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting
marine (Former Employee), USAJanuary 14, 2015
during my time in the Marines i really liked most of everyone i met . Even though it was though it was a good learning experinence that really helped out in the process of handling the real world since i had just graduated high school .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT LIFE EXPIERENCE
INFANTRY RIFLEMAN AND FIRETEAM LEADER (Former Employee), CAMP PENDLETON CALIFORNIAJanuary 13, 2015
CONUCTED MILITARY AND COMBAT OPERATIONS IN IRAQ AND AFGHANISTAN
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Dispatcher/Supervisor (Current Employee), Cherry Point, NCJanuary 11, 2015
United States Military. Exciting , strict , fast paced , hard , rewarding.