Find companies:
USMC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
484 reviews

USMC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Recruit (Former Employee), Parris Island, SCAugust 25, 2014
Pros: education
Cons: strictness
learn many things, see the world, wished that I could have finished my training
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USMC
Administration Specialist (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 23, 2014
USMC USMC USMC USMC USMC USMC USMC USMC USMC USMC USMC USMC USMC USMC USMC USMC USMC USMC USMC USMC USMC USMC USMC USMC USMC USMC USMC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awsome Experience!
United States Marine (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CAAugust 19, 2014
Pros: totally taken care of - but responsible for one's self
Cons: physically difficult
I would recommend this for anyone coming out of High School. Instills the discipline and honor that is required for today's life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
E-5 Sergeant (Former Employee), Camp Lejeune, NCAugust 19, 2014
Pros: overall benefits
Cons: lacking in job security due to cut backs
Overall the job security from this organization has gone down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USMC Active Duty
Production Recruiter (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAAugust 13, 2014
Recruit,screen, and enlist quality applicants for enlistment into the Marine Corps. Prepare for rigors of Boot Camp w/ tough realistic physical training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and enjoyable workplace that offers many challenges and travel and adventure
Food Service Officer (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: medical, dental plan, paid vacations
Cons: multiple combat deployments
The past 26 years have been an overall pleasure. I have acquired so many skills to include leadership and problem solving that I essentially went from the mail room to the board room with this organization. The most enjoyable part of the career was having the ability to serve and protect our beloved country. The most difficult part was spending numerous – more... months away from the people who love me; they too have made a great sacrifice. It is because of this I have decided to retire from the military. I will miss serving in uniform and the bond that I have shared with my fellow Marines over the years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like being part of a family
Counter Intelligence Analyst NCO (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CAAugust 9, 2014
Pros: teamwork
Cons: micro-management
The greatest thing about this job was the feeling of comradery, the sense of a second family. Every day was a challenge and rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job with even better benefits.
Lead Firefighter (Former Employee), Jacksonville, GAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: you will meet some of your best friends.
Cons: the hours worked is very long, but the off time is great too.
The workplace environment for my specific military occupation was a little out of the "norm". I was a shift worker 24/24 but that schedule was pretty decent. Over-all the job is just like any other (it has its pros and cons). I loved it and I would recommend it to anyone as long as you have some tough skin!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professionalism and holding yourself to the highest standard possinble
Non-Commisioned Officer (Former Employee), Oceanside CAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: health benifits, career stability
Cons: short time off
Mornings usually beginning at 0515 for accountability Monday through Friday. Morning PT fallowing right after. Upon return, tasks would be assigned by priority. If tasks assigned were completed, you would assist others in the completion of their tasks. Working hours ranged from 0530-1700 on average. While working as an enlisted member of the armed forces, – more... I quickly learned to perform my job and take orders. While I was moving up the rank structure, I participated in multiple leadership courses as well as safety classes, proper management of others and various military tactics. While at work, everyone was always expected to maintain the highest level of professionalism, constantly adhering to all safety standards and common standard operating procedures. Difficult tasks included, many hours spent in the field for up to 6 weeks. Maintaining the highest level of readiness at all times. The most enjoyable part of my time in the Marine Corps is the brother hood developed through out our rank structure. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unified Military Setting
Avionics Work Center Production Supervisor (Current Employee), MCAS Cherry Point, NCAugust 7, 2014
Over 4 years of experience working as an avionics technician, a job that i would never regret.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good organization to defend this nation.
1st Lieutenant (Former Employee), Quantico, VAAugust 1, 2014
Pros: good esprit-de-corps.
Cons: can get injured or killed.
My first real job was with the USMC. I learned people skills, combat skills, the essence of small unit warfare, and in general have a favorable review.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you love serving your country this is the place to be
Cryptologic Linguist (Former Employee), CaliforniaJuly 28, 2014
A lot of hurry up and waiting.
There are many opportunities to learn new things.
Sometimes the people in charge of you shouldn't be in charge.
I loved most of the people I worked with.
The hardest part of the job is having to do whatever it takes to get the job done.
The most enjoyable part is the great people you meet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional at all times.
ATC Specialist, Avionics Technician (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton CAJuly 28, 2014
Pros: comradery and a steady paycheck
Cons: no individuality.
Being at your best at all times with no excuses. Commitment and loyalty at all time when following this institution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honor, Pride, Commitment
Senior Enlisted Advisor to the Commanding Officer (Former Employee), Quantico, VAJuly 27, 2014
Pros: earned the title.
Cons: only ran 2 marathons while i was pregnant.
As a 22 year veteran (19 years in my beloved Marine Corps and 3 years in the Army) I must say my time in my beloved Corps was extraordinaire. As a Drill Instructor it was the only place in the world where I could see a human being transform before my eyes. I was fortunate to have very positive leadership, mentors that said, YES you can and WE will help – more... you. I was fortunate to be among a brotherhood of elite, discipline, and professional Marines. From Okinawa, Campen, Yuma, NC, SC, Kabul, and the active duty 1stSgt for reserve Marines (true volunteers) I-I Bulk Fuel Co "C" it has been an honor to serve among my beloved Corps. I took the road less traveled and that has made all the difference. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proud to have served my country for four and a half years.
Infantryman (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CAJuly 24, 2014
There was never a "typical day at work" everyday was something different. Either we were in the field patrolling all day and night or we could be doing some paper work or getting some shots or dental work. I got most weekends off if we weren't in the field or on deployment. I learned a lot from the marine corps i have fully matured, well disciplined – more... and i can adapt to any situation quickly. The hardest part of my job was being away from my family for years at a time and not being able to communicate with them as much as id like to. My favorite part of the Marine Corps was the brotherhood and how many close friends i made that i will never forget for the rest of my life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life as a Marine
Aviation Maintenance Administration Specialist (Former Employee), Kaneohe, HIJuly 21, 2014
Pros: three meals and a roof under your head
Cons: work hours and leadeeship
Love serving the corps and my country. Time to serve my community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gift for Some, Not handled well for most
Service Desk Tier II+ Lead Supervisor (Former Employee), NOLAJuly 16, 2014
Hard work, dedication, and initiative will take you to new highs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different every day
Customer Order Processing Manager (Former Employee), Yuma, AZJuly 16, 2014
Consistently found new and invigorating ways to accomplish a multitude of requirements. Employee management, Warehouse management, customer service, inventory control.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deil Dogged
Supply Clerk (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: awake early, asleep late
Discipline at its finest. Most life changing experience i had in my life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we advanced great and learned to be leaders in real world.
Petroleum fuel specialist (Former Employee), Beaufort, SCJuly 16, 2014
Pros: gave us what it took to grow
Cons: free medical and dental
i loved being in the marines traveled alot learned to be a true leader.i test fuel and work with computers in their.