Find companies:
USMC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
393 reviews

USMC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aircraft mechanic
Tilt rotor Airframe Mechanic, MV-22 (Current Employee), Jacksonville, NCFebruary 17, 2014
worked as a fully qualified Airframe Mechanic for the V-22 Osprey. Mainly dealing with Hydraulics,composite/metal reapir.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly structured and organized work environment.
Radar Technician (Current Employee), Jacksonville, NCFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: free gym membership
Cons: deployment cycles
I work with high quality professionals who know how to get the job done. I have support from my co-workers in all aspects of life and I value their experience. I learned that leadership is more about credibility that rank.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USMC
Motor Transport Non-Commissioned Office (Former Employee), confidentialFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: pride - meet great people - brother and sisterhood honor courage commitment
Cons: away from family often
One of the greatest things I could have accomplished. Meet great people, travel many places, go to combat etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough job enviroment with lots of expectations
EAF Tech (Current Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: good work ethic, free medical and dental, free place to live
Cons: few breaks, bosses vary in personalities and are hard to talk to
I would wake up and go to physical training and work out for about an hour. Afterwards I would shower and go back to work to start the various tasks I would be assigned throughout the day. I would do everything from moving equipment with forklifts to filling out paperwork for Marines. I would start cleaning the workspace around 1530 and at 1630 would – more... get released for the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New and exciting with my new career
Lance Corporal / Aviation Metalsmith (Former Employee), Okinawa, JapanFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: good food, beautiful country
Cons: limited with travel, tough long hours
workout in the mornings with my Unit. Then be at work at 0700 for morning muster. Receive and start morning inspection of all gear. Work and learn all pubs and manuals to help me for promotion and to pick up qualification. The hardest part of the day was learning everything so fast when I just arrived to the Unit and the best thing I liked was being – more... in a different country and meeting new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was more than a job, it was a lifestyle.
Instructor- Fire Ground Operations - Supervisor (Former Employee), San Angelo, TXFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: patriotism
Cons: long hours.
I wish I could go back. The Marine Corps changed my life for the better. It made me become more than just an average citizen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life in the Corps is great
Master Sergeant (Current Employee), Twentynine Palms, CAFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: travel, education, job stability, receive benifits and many more...
Cons: hard to have family time
The Marine Corps has been a great life long learning experience. It has endless opportunities as far as advancement, job security and a chance to travel in different aspects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Caring work place.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: great leadership and great knowledge passed down to junior marines
Cons: poor communication throughout different shops.
-I learned how to handled customers effectively by identifying needs, quickly gaining trust, approaching complex situations and resolving problems to maximize efficiency.
-A typical day consisted of performing administrative tasks such as filing, developing spreadsheets and preparing reports. Also being a 3 star General's driver.
-Management was very – more... caring and knowledgable.
-My co-workers helped each day task to be successfully completed.
-The hardest part of the job was trying to find lost documents.
-The most enjoyable part of the job was waking up and being a Marine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USMC Life
Engineer (Former Employee), Miramar, CAJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: new people and location
Cons: wasnt big into family time
typical day was early morning physical training folled by work call at 0730. What i learned was how to defend my self in ways i didnt know combat strategies, swiming, wiring up panel boxes and preventive maintence on generators. Also operation of generators suck as 10k 20k etc. My co-workers where very intersting people of backgrounds from all ove the – more... U.S very good to work with.The hardest part of the day was physical training and most enjoyable time was location and the work ethic. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good structure, great people
Phase Coordinator (Former Employee), Fort Dix, NJJanuary 30, 2014
I was able to learn alot of great leadership skills. Most of which will be very beneficial in real-world application.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and dynamic workplace
Electronics Radio and Systems Repair Technician (Former Employee), HawaiiJanuary 29, 2014
I would repair and test electronic equipment including radios, phones and computer hardware.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United States Marine Corps
Lieutenant Colonel (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: extended time away from family, hazardous locations
Wide variety of jobs ranging from small unit leadership, operation and command of complex vehicles in a wide range of environments, leadership and responsibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
U.S.M.C
U.S Marine (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CAJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: freedom
Cons: time away from home
I loved it all protecting my country and my family. Once a Marine Always a Marine just a different uniform now but I love my Corps!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Tank Mechanic (Former Employee), Yakima, WAJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: respect, disipline
Cons: not active
I love the Marine Corps and everyone in it, I respect them all and what they do for our country and my time with them was some f the best time of my life. That being said, I was lied to and ripped off from the start. I wanted to be active infantry, but was told to just go a reserve tan mech. (that would get me in 9 months sooner) once I left boot to – more... switch over to infantry and all would be well. That never happened or was allowed to happen, I requested multiple deployments and never got any feedback on why I couldn't go. The most frustrating aspect was I FULLY PLANNED on enlisting!! my recruiter was going to get the numbers.... why he lied is beyond me.

I learned a lot of respect, patience, and self discipline from the military, I wish I could have made a career of it but sometimes it just doesn't work that way. if there is one thing I take personally its people who don't appreciate our military service members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to become a leader
Barracks/ facilities manager (Former Employee), WorldJanuary 24, 2014
I learned how to manage all forms of resources, how to be a leader, proper work ethics, and how to carry oneself in a professional manner at all times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive.
Warehouse clerk (Former Employee), JPFJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: love the comradery.
Cons: na
Issue or distribute materials, products, parts, and supplies to customers or coworkers, based on information from incoming requisitions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Geospatial Intelligence Division Chief (3rd MAW) (Current Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 21, 2014
Great place to work, possibly my best unit while in the military. fantastic leadership and a lot of room to work outside the box on new and innovative ways to accomplish the units mission
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brotherhood for enlisted warriors
marine infantryman (Former Employee), Camp Lejeune, NCJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: free food, prestige, tax deductions, current enlisted discounts, g.i. bill
Cons: lots of hardheads out there, you get shot at, you barely sleep, lots of responsibility, fitness requirements are very high, little transition at separation
There's a lot of hurry up and wait, and a lot of protocol and training, but it's there for a reason and it helps sharpen your wits. You get accustomed to the lingo easily, and it's a culture unlike anything you'll have as a civilian. The chow is great overseas and some of the perks are decent. The most prominent one being G.I. Bill which is the best – more... reward for your faithful services. You'll make plenty of friends and meet some hotheads, but it's an experience unlike any other. Morning exercises can be upsetting unless you're a fitness freak, and you're not left for much downtime since work can take up your whole night. The lifestyle gets exhausting after while, but for some it keeps them engaged. I would try it just to learn more about yourself and your strengths and move on to college afterwards. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment
Trc-170 Operator (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CAJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: disciplined, education, healthcare
Requires hard work, focus, and attention to deal. Fast paced and must be able to react without hesitation at a moments notice. Well trained and very close knit, family orientated. Great discipline.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the comrodery between fellow enlisted marines
Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee), Ocean Side, Ca. Camp PendeltonJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: earning the honor of calling myself a united states marine
Enjoyed my time in the service wish I was able to still be in the Marine Corps.