Find companies:
USMC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
465 reviews

USMC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard and Challenging Work
Cook (Former Employee), Yuma, AZMay 2, 2014
Work starts at 0700 and ends at 1800. Its a very fast paced job with constant changes. You have to learn to be flexible and fix and everything. The hardest part is communication. It is also the most important part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding workplace.
Office/Audit Manager (Current Employee), Camp Pendleton, CAApril 29, 2014
A typical day at work generally involves processing complaints received by the office from various sources (i.e. White House, Congress, Inspector General of the Marine Corps, and our internal Waste, Fraud and Mismanagement Hotline.). This particular position exposed me to a much more diverse work environment and I thoroughly enjoyed working with everyone – more... in the department. The hardest part of the job was at time there would be extremely slow periods with very few incoming complaints. The most enjoyable part of the job was analyzing each complaint and conducting the fact finding investigation / inquiry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardworking, extremely structured enviroment
Administrative Clerk (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CaApril 28, 2014
Pros: hard work, loyalty
Cons: sometimes working 14 hrs non stop
The administrative consisted of maintaining files in the proper order, working and completing all required awards for the entire region of the west coast while completing task for the Commanding General of the west coast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive
Squad Leader (Former Employee), Camp Lejeune, NCApril 25, 2014
Pros: advancement depended on you and your goals/actions
Cons: all had to follow one persons idea based on rank.
A typical day at work: wake up @0430, be to formation 15 minutes prior for accountability of everyone. Carry out plans of the day starting @ 0600. Squad leaders and Team Leaders were briefed on any changes to any plans and then passed down to lower level workers. On the job training and studying was constant pertaining to individual jobs. Breaks were – more... considered for lunch and after a large training exercise. After work hours (1600) marines were expected to study/practice and inspected on job knowledge and self cleanliness.

0600-formation
0600-0700- exercise/pt
0700-0730-breakfast
0730-1100-infantry training (usually outside)
1100-1200-Lunch
1200-1545-training/study infantry knowledge
1600-end of the day formation (go over tomorrows/weeks plans)
1600-2000- study/remediate, check gear, prepare for plans
2000-2200-personal time, bed time – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productice workplace with right leadership
Electrician (Former Employee), Twentynine Palms, CAApril 24, 2014
Pros: great benefits, free housing, and solid pay
Cons: communication was not always there
Military is a place of order, but sometimes it had some flaws in it. To many "big heads" that thought their way was always right. It is a great experience to set you up for life with all the skills you learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive fun at times
technician (Former Employee), San dIego, CAApril 24, 2014
Pros: 2 hour lunches
Cons: none that i can think of
A typical day at work will depend and the communications chief. What I learned from the Marines was how to troubleshoot the communication systems on the vehicles that I worked on. My managers and co-workers are easy to work with. Most enjoyable part of the job is fixing the systems almost to the point to where you can't wait for them to call your name – more... to fix the communications. The hardest part was the beginning to learn how to fix the systems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace with little to no time for breaks
Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee), San Diego, CAApril 22, 2014
Pros: free lunches, days off depending on circumstances, friendly employers, etc.
Cons: little to no breaks, work times sometimes extended, busy atmosphere, etc.
A typical day for me would be to first workout which was required of all employees (PT), after that I would start work which would usually last a whole 8 hours depending on whether or not all equipment has been properly accounted for and/or placed within their respective stock areas. The best part for me was the breaks in which if the workday was not – more... busy would sometimes last 30 minutes to two hours. In my opinion my hardest part of the job would be operating the forklift as it would sometimes malfunction and move on it's own, and if that wasn't enough workdays would sometimes be extended due to poor stocking of equipment. My co-workers for the most part were friendly and honest and would often let me know whether or not I did my job in a timely manner or if I was just slacking. Overall, what I learned is that the faster it takes you to get the job done the more free time you've earned for yourself and practice makes perfect (working with certain tools ex: forklift, etc). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and great experience to learn alot
Corporal (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOApril 22, 2014
Pros: the friends you meet along the way
Cons: mentally stressful, and physically demanding
It's the military, there really isn't a typical day. One day you could be doing inventory for all your equipment, the next doing maintenance checks, and the next out in the field setting up equipment or cross training with a different military occupation. The best thing about the military are the friends you meet along the way. They are brothers and – more... you become a tight knit family. The hardest part of the job is that it is physically demanding and can be mentally demanding. It is very micro managed and if you mess up you never hear the end of the mess up. Just like any where the you have good and you have bad superiors, but for the most part those above me are very understanding and leave me be to get the job done at hand. I have learned a lot from my experience and I'm satisfied with my overall time I've spent there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sweet job on a tropical island
Chief Meteorological Technician (Former Employee), San Diego, CAApril 21, 2014
Pros: work with people i became close friends with, i was able to lead, best weather and people
Cons: i had to leave.
I received a great deal of technical experience on preforming preventive maintenance and trouble shooting on the air ground radios, airfield lighting, navigational aids, and radar equipment. I had the greatest boss ever. He was a great example for me to learn from and really taught me how to take care of the personnel under my charge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OVERAL A REWARDING EXPERIENCE
TANKER CREWMAN (Former Employee), Twentynine Palms, CAApril 20, 2014
I had an amazing life experience through the military and service to my Government.
Through my experience i learned how to carry out task in a quick ,detailed,proficient manor.
The leaders in my line of work were highly professional, intellectual driven individuals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment fun work place hard work long hours
Crewman (Former Employee), Havelock, NCApril 16, 2014
great place to work good crew mates they were always there for you if you needed em you never had to tackle anything alone if you didnt want to the hours where long but the crew mates i had and worked with made it more then a job we were a family they were guys you could trust if you didnt know something about the gear and couldnt find it in the manual – more... our nco and junior nco's would help you find it and would stop helping you till you understood it completely if you had to take care of something after day workers left we would find some one to fill in for you so you could take care of what you needed to take care of very family oriented. There were hard times in the work place whether it be gear not working properly and having to shut down that run way till we could fix it but we always band together and tackled every challenge that we came across even when a new person came to our shop we would all train that person to the best of our ability when we had an emergency arrestment it was fast pace even if it was 3 am if that phone rang we went it was awesome seeing us move like gears on a clock all in sync we knew are jobs and what we had to do to successfully get that aircraft back to its hangar safely day or night arrestments didnt matter we always work as a team we worked ate trained together i have never known team work like that till i came to aircraft recovery even when we trained and i wanted to give up my crew mates never let me they help me push my limits to places i didnt think i was ever capable of going. The crew mates i worked with didnt make are work seem like work they made it fun we could laugh joke play jokes on each other it was more then a job when with them it was fun yes there were hard times but even in the hardest times we always got through it together you never stood alone they are more then just crew mates they were are and always will be family – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work and dedication
Basic Financial Technician U.S. Marine Corps (Former Employee), Camp Lejeune, NCApril 16, 2014
Staying focused to get promoted. Co-workers were great to work with. Understanding people in the office. Hardest part of the job is keeping weight, staying physically fit for deployment. Enjoyable part of my job is doing my duty for my country and it's men.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security
Aviation Logistics (Former Employee), Cherry Point, NCApril 15, 2014
Pros: travel/family support/benefits
Cons: extended deployments away from family
Career oriented service. Performed all aspects of inventory management from warehouseman to management. Also performed duties as Logistics School Instructor and Personnel Recruiting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere
warehouse clerk (Current Employee), Oceanside, CAApril 15, 2014
My typical workday would be First, waking up in the morning around 0600 and getting into uniform and heading to work to get the day started. open up the shop/warehouse and start the day. we would receive for gear as well as issue gear the fellow marines. i have learned alot from the military in the past 4 years than i have anyware else i have ever been. – more... i learned how to work together to make a better atmoshphere. i also learned how to adapt an make mission complete and get the job/task done with no hesitation or question. the hardest part of my job honestly would be having to wake up,but i assure you that i was never late or corrective action would have been taken. The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to travel and meet new people and building the comradery and making the workplace a safe and respectfull enviroment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense work with professional atmosphere.
Corrosion Control Technician/ Supervisor (Former Employee), San Diego, CAApril 14, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: intense labor
As a supervisor in my work center a typical day consisted of first attending a meeting to ensure all work centers were on the same page. Each work center would be assigned a number of tasks and I would delegate them among our employees according to their qualifications. The majority of those I worked with had a strong work ethic and were competitive – more... when pursuing new qualifications. Our leadership consisted of intelligent individuals who were constantly working to improve efficiency while maintaining a high morale. I learned that when workers are motivated with high morale more tasks will get accomplished properly. The most difficult part of the job was having multiple tasks being worked at the same time, especially with less trained individuals that could potentially cause thousands of dollars in damage if not properly supervised. The most enjoyable part was the satisfied looks on our faces once all the hard work was accomplished. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Camaraderie, well-rounded work experience
Sergeant (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CAApril 14, 2014
Pros: camaraderie, travel, pay, health benefits
Cons: promotion system, discrimination, corruption
Great job experience, and good work relations overall. Some corrupt commands can make a hard worker's life difficult when putting out more effort than others want to copy. Many can't separate private from professional lives and relationships. Job goes to the better politician than to the more qualified and better capable person--especially when discrimination – more... is collaborative and denied. The phrase, "It is easier to beg for forgiveness than to ask for permission" is not only frequently heard, but frequently abided by. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a leader in my nation's fight for freedom
Structural Aircraft Mechanic (Former Employee), Jacksonville NCApril 13, 2014
A work day as a US Marine,starts off I worked on CH53-E helicopter as a mechanic.
I learned a great deal from new culture to the break down components of an airplane.
My management was pretty good due to having so many, some good some bad.
My co-workers seem to come and go so many moving parts in the marine corp.
The hardest part of being a marine is – more... not being ale to come home after a hard days work due to deployments and training.
The most enjoyable part was earning the title. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place unless peacetime
Tactical Switch Operator (Former Employee), 29 Palms, CAApril 9, 2014
Pros: benefits, job security 4 years at a time
Cons: lack of leadership, stressful environment at times
The military is the ultimate learning tool. It teaches you how to become an adult and take care of what needs to be done. I am thankful for everything I have learned in the Marine Corps
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVED EXERCISING, IN GYM DAILIY WORKING OUT
E-5/ SGT (Former Employee), Oceanside, CAApril 9, 2014
Pros: free food free medical and insurance
Cons: 2 hr lunch breaks
WORKED DAILY IN MOTOR POOL AS DISPATCH AND ALSO ON GUARD DUTY TWICE A YR. WE ALSO STAYED ON ALERT FOR ANY SITUATIONS CONCERNING NATIONAL SECURITY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Award For Training
CPI Site Core NCO (Former Employee), Jacksonville, NCApril 1, 2014
Pros: band of brothers
Cons: like anywhere more bad leaders than good
An Order came down from the top stating every person in the unit must be at least indoctrinated in Lean Six Sigma within 90 days of joining the unit. The goal was to have a minimum of 90% yellow belts 10% green belts and 1% black belts. When this order came down I had just received my Instructor Certificate. Our unit was well below this requirement – more... as were many. I was awarded for not only certifying over 180 students in 3 months, but also for having the highest instructor reviews in the Marine Corps at this time. After our unit was well past the goal set. My leadership began hearing requests for my class to be taught to other units to help their sustainment as well. – less