Find companies:
USMC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
448 reviews

USMC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing life changing experience that's priceless.
Communications Electronics Maintenance Chief (Former Employee), Miramar, CAMarch 14, 2014
I recommend joining the military if you want to travel around the world, get technical skills, time management and college credit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive work place with great learning enviroment
Floor Supervisor (Current Employee), Cherry Point, NCMarch 13, 2014
Pros: reliable, constant work, dependable, treated like a family
Cons: constant moving
A typical day at work is around 11-12hrs per day depending on the work load. Its hands on and consistent steady work. i learned a lot from the marine corps including many leadership skills, discipline, integrity, different types of maintenance practices. The list could go on forever but to sum it up, it was by the far the greatest thing that has happened – more... to me. I learn to adapt and overcome difficult situations and how to work with many different types of individuals. the hardest part about the job is walking into a new project or new task and never having prior experience doing it. While it might be difficult for some, i have thouroughly enjoyed trying new things. it has build a great load of confidence and knowledge. The most enjoyable part of the job is that everday, there is something new that comes with it, there is always something new to learn, and always something to work on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fully life of service to country.
INFANTRY UNIT LEADER (Current Employee), Jacksonville, NCMarch 12, 2014
Pros: service, job security, family oriented, very fufilling
Cons: long hours, disproportionate salary, long deployments
The United States Marine Corps is an organization that operates solely off of results. Efforts are good, results are what is required. A constant striving for perfection is the under current that has been a most distinct characteristic in every unit that I have been associated with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Infantry life!
Infantry Anti-Tank Missile Gunner/Scout (Former Employee), Western HemishpereMarch 5, 2014
Great experience but didnt want to make a career out of it. I joined right out of high school and served four years. Got to see a lot of interesting places around the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Semper Fidelis
Operations Manager (Current Employee), New River, NCMarch 3, 2014
Semper Fi attitude.
Honor, Courage, Commitment.
Mentored work force.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent patriotic career
Infantry Unit Leader (Former Employee), Camp Lejeune, NCFebruary 28, 2014
I learned discipline, drive, integrity, decisiveness, tact, dependability and punctuality among other things. I worked my way from Private (E1) to Gunnery Sergeant (E7). It was a fascinating career and I met a lot of great people who I am proud to say I served with. The combat experience I gained is invaluable and it's hard to describe to those who – more... have not been there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging yet rewarding
Aide-de-Camp (Captain) (Former Employee), Quantico, VAFebruary 27, 2014
The USMC was a great career choice, providing me the opportunity to lead dozens of Marines at a young age.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military Service
Captain, Combat Engineer (Current Employee), Camp Lejeune, NCFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: physical fitness culture, job satisfaction, unique training and travel opportunities
Cons: long hours, physically challenging, frequent moves, pay scale fixed
Service in the military and specifically the Marine Corps is a unique honor reserved for those who are willing to sacrifice much for the good of others that will garner personal growth that cannot be replicated any other way. The work is hard, your personal freedoms are curtailed, it is physically brutal, mentally grueling, there are long and uncertain – more... work hours, but at the end of the day, you know you have had a direct impact on the geopolitics of the world for the betterment of society. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Semper Fi.
Section Leader Crash Crew (Former Employee), El Toro, CAFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: maturity from a teen to a man.
Cons: deployment
The USMC is where I became a man as a worker and a Leader. As a Section Leader in Crash Crew every day was outstanding in the training done, responding to aircraft warning lights.

The hardest part was deployment on naval ships for months at a time. away from family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great leadership principals and discipline are gained in the USMC
Engineer Equipment Electrical Systems Technician (Current Employee), 4th Combat Engineer Battalion, Roanoke, VAFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: great mentors, your unit is like a family, and great health benifits.
I have taken a lot from the Marine Corps. It made me much more responsible and disciplined. I go to my unit one weekend a month and for two weeks during the summer. I am one of two generator mechanics assigned to 4th Combat Engineer Battalion. My direct leadership consist of my squad leader, platoon sergeant, platoon commander, company gunny, company – more... 1st sergeant, and company commander. My fellow Marines are all very close and we work excellent as a team. The hardest part can be the short time frame in which we are expected to complete our monthly duties, such as PM's, repairing equipment, preparing for the next month, and completing monthly training. The best part of the job are the Marines. It is easy to work when you trust your life with every worker. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a Volunteer Position
Family Readiness Volunteer (Current Employee), Cherry Point, NCFebruary 20, 2014
I personally enjoy working with military families and find it very rewarding to be apart of this program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LIFE IN A CAPSUL
INFANTRY, AIR CONTROLLER (Former Employee), QUANTICO, VAFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: always faithful
Cons: fear
CO WORKERS AND MANAGEMENT WERE SUPERIOR. THE JOB WAS ROUTINE, BUT WHEN NOT IT WAS DIFFICULT. THE COMRADESHIP LASTS AS LONG AS LIFE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough but rewarding
Team Leader (Former Employee), Camp Lejeune, NCFebruary 18, 2014
Everyone's experience would have varied. Being away from family can be very hard at times. Nothing could have been better though than to serve your country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
military
us military (Former Employee), VAFebruary 18, 2014
Love the military
Recommended for all
Love the discipline that is installed
Everyone should join
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What an experience.
Office Machine Repair Tech (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CAFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: what an experience, u learn so much and meet so many people. from arount the world and country.
I love the USMC could'nt find a better life awakeing experience. you get to travel the world somewhat and meet people from around the world and the country, most people would not have that experience and stories to tell.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aircraft mechanic
Tilt rotor Airframe Mechanic, MV-22 (Current Employee), Jacksonville, NCFebruary 17, 2014
worked as a fully qualified Airframe Mechanic for the V-22 Osprey. Mainly dealing with Hydraulics,composite/metal reapir.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly structured and organized work environment.
Radar Technician (Current Employee), Jacksonville, NCFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: free gym membership
Cons: deployment cycles
I work with high quality professionals who know how to get the job done. I have support from my co-workers in all aspects of life and I value their experience. I learned that leadership is more about credibility that rank.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USMC
Motor Transport Non-Commissioned Office (Former Employee), confidentialFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: pride - meet great people - brother and sisterhood honor courage commitment
Cons: away from family often
One of the greatest things I could have accomplished. Meet great people, travel many places, go to combat etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough job enviroment with lots of expectations
EAF Tech (Current Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: good work ethic, free medical and dental, free place to live
Cons: few breaks, bosses vary in personalities and are hard to talk to
I would wake up and go to physical training and work out for about an hour. Afterwards I would shower and go back to work to start the various tasks I would be assigned throughout the day. I would do everything from moving equipment with forklifts to filling out paperwork for Marines. I would start cleaning the workspace around 1530 and at 1630 would – more... get released for the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New and exciting with my new career
Lance Corporal / Aviation Metalsmith (Former Employee), Okinawa, JapanFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: good food, beautiful country
Cons: limited with travel, tough long hours
workout in the mornings with my Unit. Then be at work at 0700 for morning muster. Receive and start morning inspection of all gear. Work and learn all pubs and manuals to help me for promotion and to pick up qualification. The hardest part of the day was learning everything so fast when I just arrived to the Unit and the best thing I liked was being – more... in a different country and meeting new people. – less