Utah Department Of Workforce Services Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Workforce Specialist (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARAugust 8, 2014
Interviewing clients assisting with job placement and life skills assessment. Logging information into system. I learned how to problem solve and teach client to use better decision making.
I also learned how to be a self starter and to depend on yourself to complete task. Training is very important to be able to function in this type of environment. The most enjoyable part of employment with this Agency and any other Agency is when the probationer or the client comes and back and express that I was someone that help them through their barrier or after talking with me they feel a lot better and have the faith to keep pressing or trying.
Pros
helping people
Cons
promotion is limited
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Enviornment
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Helena, AKJuly 14, 2015
There were always great things happening on a daily bases at the company. I learned more about skills I already acquired such as Microsoft Office including Word, PowerPoint and more. My co- workers were very hard working and friendly and the management was great. The hardest part about my job was knowing that it was only temporary because of attendance at an university out-of-state. The most enjoyable part about my job was working in such a place where determination, dedication and drive took place everyday to promote the company and better care for it's consumers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work, learned a lot about case management, career development, time management, multi-tasking and working with the clien
Employment Counselor (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTMay 13, 2014
Productive and a fun place to work, learned a lot about case management, career development, time management, multi-tasking and working with the clientele. The employees made the workplace a fun environment to work in.
Pros
medical/dental benefits
Cons
workplace moves
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved helping people with their unemployment
Unemployment Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, AROctober 15, 2015
I was an umployment interviewer. I helped people get their unemployee beneifts. I dealt with phone calls for questions regarding unemployment. I loved my manager and my coworkers. I also took care of payroll, and special projects for my manager.
Pros
Loved working with people
Cons
I had to leave so soon after starting due to moving.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong management team with focus on job preparation and customer service
Workforce Services Specialist (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTAugust 25, 2015
This job provided excellent training, focused on personal and professional organization, goal setting and skill development. Job advancement was supported and encouraged.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Through training and job prepatation
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work for the Department of Workforce Services in Akansas
Purchasing Technician (Current Employee) –  Little Rock, ARSeptember 10, 2013
Turning on the computer.
I learned the Aasis program which is SAP
Management working for the State is different from Private sector.
Co-Workers helping the citizens of Arkansas
Nothing hard about working here.
Enjoy being productive.
Pros
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits
Eligibility Specialist II (Current Employee) –  Ogden, UTJuly 6, 2012
The people are great to work with. Direct manager supportive.
Most enjoyable part of the job is being able to help people.
Hardest part of the job is telling people they are eligible for services.
Pros
health insurance, 401k, great benefits
Cons
travel time to job
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager over IT systems
IT Manager over the UWORKS and WEB (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City UtahJanuary 18, 2015
I managed the UWORKS and web systems. This included the job search and other web sites. I had two great teams who worked for me. The staff were great to work with and were always willing to go the extra mile.
Pros
great staff to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am a volunteer with no pay and no benefits. I am dedicated to helping people.
Employment Counselor (Former Employee) –  Spanish Fork, UtahFebruary 24, 2012
Department of Workforce Services is an excellent place to work with dedicated individuals helping those who are desirous and diligent in their employment search.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good teams
Employment Counselor II (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTMay 8, 2012
call customers.
Learned about state funded programs
management does not fully engage employees
Great coworkers
Getting others to follow through
Free to schedule myself
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO not recommend
Eligibility Specialist/Employment Counselor (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTAugust 6, 2015
Management tolerates verbal abuse from clients to workers; management does not value its employees; workload is too much for what they pay you.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure place to work with great benefits and amazing co workers
Employment Counselor (Current Employee) –  Vernal, UTMay 7, 2013
Assisting customers in job searching and applying for benefits.
Pros
working monday- friday 8 am - 5 pm
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recruit staff
Senior Recruiter (Audit) (Current Employee) –  American Fork, UTDecember 10, 2014
Recruit individuals to meet organizational needs. Oversee recruitment process from beginning to end. Recruitment and retention.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
TEA/Work Pays Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Searcy, ARAugust 20, 2015
Nice coworkers, nice place to work. Reasonable salary and fair hours. Would work here in any city. Case management is mainly paperwork.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Intern, Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTAugust 26, 2014
Positive people, they treat me nice. They respect my nationality and helped me to learn. Awesome management, great supervisor.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low compensation
Eligibility Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cedar City, UTJune 25, 2013
Combative and argumentive work environment when dealing with the majority of the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dws
Eligibility Specialist (Current Employee) –  UtahFebruary 28, 2012
I have been working here for many years now. They take great care of their employees
Pros
great benefits
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture