Utah State University Employee Reviews

Found 131 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lab Work
Soils Technician (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTMarch 24, 2017
I worked under a grad student to collect soil samples and run tests on the samples. I learned to work in a laboratory setting and the process involved in the different soil analysis. I learned a lot from this job and I appreciated the work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding place to work
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTMarch 21, 2017
This job was a blast. Not only was I able to learn life skills from the job itself I was also able to further my education at the University. The management was great about letting me work on homework when I needed and they were very accommodating when it came to working around my class schedule.
Pros
Lenient work schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Student Job
Computer Lab Consultant (Current Employee) –  Logan, UTMarch 20, 2017
The ability to work on campus while attending school is a definite benefit. The culture of the work place is great due to excellent coworkers and management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grad student at USU.
Automated Vehicle Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTMarch 19, 2017
The job can be great or poor based on who your professor is. The school itself has a bunch of great resources to support its researchers. The ice cream is great!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work as a college student
Phonathon Student Caller (Current Employee) –  Logan, UTMarch 6, 2017
This is a great place to work if you a also attending Utah State University. The hours are very reasonable, 3 hour long shifts in the evening. You also get all holidays off of work.
Pros
Work well with school
Cons
Hard to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional Opportunities
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTMarch 6, 2017
The typical day involved interacting with many children, demonstrating mathematics techniques to children age 3 to 5, gathering consent forms and providing information to parents and providers.
Pros
Applying what I had learned
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work! Logan is a great place to live.
Instructor - Technical Communication Principles (Current Employee) –  Logan, UTFebruary 23, 2017
I was willing to move 2,000 miles away from my home to work and learn at Utah State University. I did so because of the welcoming atmosphere and amazing opportunities provided!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace and great connections
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTFebruary 20, 2017
Utah State is a great place to work. The management is great as well as the environment. There are resources and tools to help you succeed in all aspects.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emphasized personal and skill growth
ASTE - Research Writer (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTFebruary 10, 2017
My mentor allowed me to work on my own, yet gave me the guidelines I needed. I was able to gain more communication, research, and editing skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A quiet lab
GRADUATE RESEARCH ASSITANT (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTFebruary 8, 2017
Well its an ok place to work. Lots of smart people, faculty is awesome. Unless you don't like snow and cold temperatures this place is a nice place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lon tiem ago but I rememerb it being hard work
Postal Technician SR (Current Employee) –  Logan, UTFebruary 5, 2017
It was a long time ago but I remember it being hard work but rewarding. The training was awesome! Great personal growth. Try it...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent for a college student
Staff Assistant II (Current Employee) –  Logan, UTJanuary 30, 2017
The benefits are phenomenal, and situation depending, can offset the low pay. Attitudes vary from department to department.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Poor pay and very little chance for promotion within departments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work in a lab
Fish Ecology lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Logan, UTJanuary 26, 2017
Working in the Fish Ecology lab is pretty interesting. You get to learn new things and the other workers are great wells of knowledge. only bad side is sometimes if you're doing a repetitive task for over two weeks it gets really boring being here by yourself.
Pros
can do your homework in a quite area, fridge, mircrowave.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace atmosphere
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Logan, UTJanuary 16, 2017
I worked at Utah State University on a research program that is titled HOVERS. We observed videos to better improve home visits. Good experience, and the supervisors work with you. Takes time outside of meetings.
Pros
Fun atmosphere
Cons
hours required in addition to the meetings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive
Collections Assistant (Former Employee) –  Price, UTJanuary 11, 2017
Good experience but poor retention. Fine if you need a summer job between semesters. If, however you get in full-time it's amazing.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with Brilliant Intellectuals and DMV type Co-workers
Program Evaluator (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTJanuary 5, 2017
Working for USU gives you the experience of working with brilliant intellectuals and DMV type co-workers. All in all its a great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Environment, great professors
Graduate Researcher (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTDecember 28, 2016
USU provides up to date training and education to provide you with experience that makes the transition from education to career seamless.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to meet new people
Staff Assistance (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTDecember 27, 2016
Great job for flexibility of employees. As long as the work was completed they were happy. I enjoyed meeting people from all around the world and learning of other cultures and experiences.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible TA Roles!
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Logan, UTDecember 14, 2016
Utah State University gives great opportunities for flexible schedules with TA roles. I have worked for 3 semesters as a GTA for the Cain College of Arts and absolutely loved the flexibility and support from the school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and comfortable workplace
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTDecember 13, 2016
The employyees are always willing to help and aid in anything you may need. The management is very reliable and willing to work with you if you have any concerns or questions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Utah State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 132 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0

Utah State University Reviews by Location