Utah State University Employee Reviews

Found 125 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work! Logan is a great place to live.
Instructor - Technical Communication Principles (Current Employee) –  Logan, UTFebruary 23, 2017
I was willing to move 2,000 miles away from my home to work and learn at Utah State University. I did so because of the welcoming atmosphere and amazing opportunities provided!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace and great connections
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTFebruary 20, 2017
Utah State is a great place to work. The management is great as well as the environment. There are resources and tools to help you succeed in all aspects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emphasized personal and skill growth
ASTE - Research Writer (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTFebruary 10, 2017
My mentor allowed me to work on my own, yet gave me the guidelines I needed. I was able to gain more communication, research, and editing skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A quiet lab
GRADUATE RESEARCH ASSITANT (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTFebruary 8, 2017
Well its an ok place to work. Lots of smart people, faculty is awesome. Unless you don't like snow and cold temperatures this place is a nice place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lon tiem ago but I rememerb it being hard work
Postal Technician SR (Current Employee) –  Logan, UTFebruary 5, 2017
It was a long time ago but I remember it being hard work but rewarding. The training was awesome! Great personal growth. Try it...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent for a college student
Staff Assistant II (Current Employee) –  Logan, UTJanuary 30, 2017
The benefits are phenomenal, and situation depending, can offset the low pay. Attitudes vary from department to department.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Poor pay and very little chance for promotion within departments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work in a lab
Fish Ecology lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Logan, UTJanuary 26, 2017
Working in the Fish Ecology lab is pretty interesting. You get to learn new things and the other workers are great wells of knowledge. only bad side is sometimes if you're doing a repetitive task for over two weeks it gets really boring being here by yourself.
Pros
can do your homework in a quite area, fridge, mircrowave.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace atmosphere
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Logan, UTJanuary 16, 2017
I worked at Utah State University on a research program that is titled HOVERS. We observed videos to better improve home visits. Good experience, and the supervisors work with you. Takes time outside of meetings.
Pros
Fun atmosphere
Cons
hours required in addition to the meetings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive
Collections Assistant (Former Employee) –  Price, UTJanuary 11, 2017
Good experience but poor retention. Fine if you need a summer job between semesters. If, however you get in full-time it's amazing.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with Brilliant Intellectuals and DMV type Co-workers
Program Evaluator (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTJanuary 5, 2017
Working for USU gives you the experience of working with brilliant intellectuals and DMV type co-workers. All in all its a great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Environment, great professors
Graduate Researcher (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTDecember 28, 2016
USU provides up to date training and education to provide you with experience that makes the transition from education to career seamless.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to meet new people
Staff Assistance (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTDecember 27, 2016
Great job for flexibility of employees. As long as the work was completed they were happy. I enjoyed meeting people from all around the world and learning of other cultures and experiences.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible TA Roles!
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Logan, UTDecember 14, 2016
Utah State University gives great opportunities for flexible schedules with TA roles. I have worked for 3 semesters as a GTA for the Cain College of Arts and absolutely loved the flexibility and support from the school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and comfortable workplace
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTDecember 13, 2016
The employyees are always willing to help and aid in anything you may need. The management is very reliable and willing to work with you if you have any concerns or questions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best part of a language teacher
Adjunct Faculty (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTDecember 9, 2016
To meet and teach students from around the world your native language. Not just that, but meet and work with military students and also people who lived abroad and were willing to connect that knowledge of culture to become citizens of the world through language.
Pros
Meet students and share my culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a fun environment to work in
Football Player (Current Employee) –  Logan, UTNovember 22, 2016
This place is a good school and a good place to work. I would love to actually work here if I can but right now I'm just a football player. Not really considered an employee of the university
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced hard working environment
Event Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTNovember 21, 2016
There is no such thing as a typical day at work. You basically become the jack of all trades and tackle new tasks every single day. I learned everything you need to know about events and what they entail. Management could use some work, but overall I liked them. I really liked my co-workers and ended up being good friends with all of them. The hardest part of the job was the hours. You didn't have a social life to speak of. The best part of the job was learning new skills and getting to know your co-workers.
Pros
Behind the scenes look at events
Cons
low pay and difficult hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with friendly coworkers
CMS Programmer (Current Employee) –  Logan, UTSeptember 25, 2016
I really enjoy working for Utah State University. Working for the Web Development team has been a great learning experience. I can honestly say that I have become great friends with many of my coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTSeptember 17, 2016
I learned the most lab techniques. And my lab mates are very helpful. However,It's hard to make a life balance sometimes.
Pros
Good Productivity
Cons
less vocation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor administration!!!
Speech Language Pathologist (Former Employee) –  Logan, UT 84322September 14, 2016
Loved working with families but no support from supervisors. No appreciation for long hours. Beware the politics. No one has your back!
Pros
Working with families.
Cons
No support, requires you to work long hours, unwilling to help. Lots of politics and favoritism! Watch your back, there is nowhere to go for help if you have a negative situation, very stressful! Long hours!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Utah State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 126 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0
83%

CEO Approval

Based on 30 ratings
Add your rating

Utah State University Reviews by Location