Find companies:
Utah State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
57 reviews

Utah State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent source to learn new things
Soil Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee), Logan UtahNovember 3, 2014
Utah State University is a place where anyone can work and learn new things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research University with Small Town Feeling
Research Associate (Current Employee), Logan, UTOctober 29, 2014
Pros: given trust and autonomy in research, and my work was largely done through telecommuting.
Cons: the community in general is very conservative, and pay is low compared to most of the country.
I worked as a research assistant while completing my master's and doctoral degrees. I was offered a position as a research associate after finishing my doctoral courses. During my early years as a research assistant I gathered research reports, wrote literature reviews, learned the basics of data entry and organization, and was asked to serve as content – more... expert on multiple non-profit boards. As my ability to work with data increased I was asked to manage small data entry teams, provide data summaries, advise clients and supervisors on analytic methods for given data and research questions. There were many highly experienced researchers available to offer guidance on basic research techniques, but as I grew in my ability to complete more advanced research, it became difficult to find qualified experts to mentor me.

The majority of the people I worked with were friendly, dedicated, and intelligent people. Most people worked hard while working, but had a strong interest in family and hobbies outside of work. The hardest part of my job was finding qualified advice for complex data analyses, and dealing with very conservative management personnel. The most enjoyable part of my job was the autonomy and trust I was given to perform research and write final reports. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a nice place to work
Accountant II (Former Employee), Utah State UniversityOctober 20, 2014
Pros: nice people to work with
Cons: low pay
very good life/work balance, very comfortable working environment,every one is ready to help you in need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality Education
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), Logan, UTOctober 10, 2014
Utah State University is a great University for agricultural related degrees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Residential Mover and Driver (Former Employee), Logan, UTOctober 7, 2014
So many different ways to find educational help. Also had a great hockey program that I was proudly a part of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of opportunity to stay busy
Internship (Former Employee), Ephraim, UTOctober 3, 2014
Pros: great boss
Cons: working by your self 90% of the time and parts are hard to get when needed
this job keeps me pretty busy if i ever got board doing something there was always something that i could do instead to keep busy endless jobs to be done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching can be rewarding, but sometimes there are days...
Graduate Student Professor, Department of Physics (Former Employee), Logan, UTOctober 1, 2014
I taught both very small and very large classes here, and both were rewarding in their own ways. Duties include designing a course syllabus, lecture content, exams, and (if necessary) laboratory experiments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome working enviorment nice people
CARPENTER/GROUNDS/PAINTER (Former Employee), Logan, UTSeptember 18, 2014
a typical day i would prep dorms for paint mask etc i did carpet tare outs and laid carpet tile
I learned some ground crew work i learned how to be an exceptional painter and carpanter
co workers where always nice willing to answer all questions
hardest part of the job keeping other crew members organized
i enjoyed this job being active and doing physical – more... work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easier with a lot of responsibilities
Facilitator (Former Employee), Logan, UtahAugust 17, 2014
Pros: good pay, able to make own schedule, up to 30 hours a week.
Cons: lots of down time, a lot of sitting
I was a facilitator was USU, it was a really simple and laid back job. But you had a lot to take care of. A typical day would consist of the classes that I chose or had been assigned to me. I would go into the classroom 15-30 minutes before the class started. If it was an origination class -where the professor was in the classroom- I would turn on the – more... screens that they would need to see the other sites of classrooms and students. I would turn on the computer, make sure the camera had a good shot of the professor so the outer sites would be able to see. Then the classrooms around the state would connect and we would do a site check to make sure the presentation mode worked and could be seen. We would also make sure the other sites could hear the professors mic and we would have time before the class started to make adjustments. If it were a receive class -where it's just students- I would look in the "IN" box to see if there was anything for my class that day. I would make sure the student camera had a good shot for the professor to see. I would teach them about the mics in the room, since they differ a lot between classrooms. There was room to advance if the opportunity came, it could be scheduled around your school or personal schedule. You could get as many or as less hours as you wanted. I had many bosses really, but each was over a different part, if you needed help they were right there and got the problem fixed immediately. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technology
Instructor for ETE (Former Employee), Utah StateAugust 14, 2014
Pros: great mentor
Cons: getting better
The following skills were used to complete the PhD: Computer Science, IT, Electronics, Robotics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great laboratory full of brilliant people.
Research Technician (Current Employee), Logan, UTAugust 7, 2014
I learned time management from working in this lab. There is a lot of freedom given to each employee, so you have to learn to be responsible for your own time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Staff Assistant II (Current Employee), Logan, UTJuly 18, 2014
Pros: half tuition, great benefits, good people
Cons: hard to move up
I love my job to the extent that I love the people that I work with. I have a wonderful boss, who challenges me to be better and to pursue good things.

I think the job itself is very mundane, but that could be that I started this job before I finished my bachelors, and am now in my masters.

This is a good job for going to school, but it is not a career – more... job, for someone with a lot of education.

Utah State is a wonderful place to work, because of the amazing benefits. They also have great incentives and health programs.

The hardest part of my job is that I have mastered it, and I can't go up anymore. It is not a challenge, it becomes rote and mundane. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school
Lab Teaching Assistant for Soil Mechanic (Former Employee), Logan, UTJuly 16, 2014
Great Education, Great undergraduate part time working opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Undergraduate Teaching Fellow (Former Employee), LoganJuly 11, 2014
It was challenging being a TA but it was also fun. I learned a lot from the students and the professor as well. I always had to read a lot to answer all the questions the students had
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professors are kind and helpful, great place to work and have fun
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Logan, UTJune 12, 2014
Good scope to learn advanced concepts for industrial jobs,
Great place to work and have fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is a very fast paced, team oriented place to work.
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee), Logan, UTJune 3, 2014
Going to work was just another day with friends. People really got along well and everyone enjoyed working together. It keeps you on your toes because there is constant improvement and updating going on. They keep up with the new technology and the up and coming programs. There is always something to be learned and or something to work on. There is – more... never a dull moment. It also provides really great benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USU ok USSA NO
Nothing at USU but USSA (Current Employee), Park CityMay 5, 2014
Pros: location/building
Cons: new management - not good
Utah State is great - look out for a job at USSA - burn and turn - not at good environment at this time! Tread carefully - especially for the money!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked temporary as a grad assistant
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee), Logan, UTApril 22, 2014
It was not a full time job so I spent about 3 days a week working on this project for global study program director.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One on one interaction with students
Organic Chemistry Undergraduate Teaching Fellow (Current Employee), Logan, UTApril 21, 2014
Pros: work with professor and letter of recommendation
Cons: few work hours
I hold office hours twice a week to answer any questions that students would come in with. Every exam I hold a special two hour session with my partner to help students develop study goals and explain difficult concepts that they will be tested on. After the exam has been administered I work with the professor on campus to grade and alphabetize then – more... input scores into the computer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Utah State University Facilities
Security specialist (Current Employee), Logan, UTFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: insurance, job security, time off
Cons: managment uneducated, pay is low, limited to growth possibilities.
Excellent place to work to get into the trades. Management uses the "good ole boy" system which leaves education or experience null and void in the place of growing in the ranks. The hardest part of the job is working under a foreman that does not have training in the field you are working. Often times if you run into problems you can't go to the experience – more... boss for assistance because he often will not have that experience. The best part of the job is the leniency for time off if you have something you need to do it merely make the foreman aware you won't be in and as long as you got time you'll be fine. – less

1 2 3