Find companies:
Utilimap Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

Utilimap Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent, helpful Management
Data Analyst (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 11, 2014
Pros: visable, helpful managment and a flexible schedule
Cons: when google floundered on their end of the bargain, several employees were let go. grossly underpaid for the work load, and all you were required to learn.
At Utilimap, my job was to virtually build existing power poles in a given city, based on heights and angles using Utilimap's software system. I learned very quickly how to use this software, and was exceeding expectations in no time. After the data had been uploaded, I analyzed each pole making sure that there were no clearance or safety violations. – more... I then created a proposal with any changes that needed to be made to the existing pole, including where I wanted them to install the Google Fiber. I collaborated with other data analysts to be sure we were consistent within maps, and also worked closely with quality control to be sure the work I was doing was correct. Management was incredibly helpful, and willing to give constructive criticism and accolades wherever needed. My co-workers were amazing and like-minded individuals that made coming to work very easy. The most challenging part of my job was organizing my work to ensure first-in, first-out, but I adapted quickly. The most enjoyable part of my job was the job itself, really. I thoroughly enjoyed the work, and was always learning something new. Even though I felt I was underpaid, I really enjoyed working there and felt that was reason enough to commit to the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work day
Inspector (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 8, 2014
a typical work day is 10 hours. I receive a map and inspect every utility pole on that map. its helped me further my knowledge in the energy field along with my schooling. hardest part of the job would be making sure you identify any sort of problem with a pole or its equipment to make sure it is safe for the public and lineman. The most enjoyable part – more... of the job would be that I get to work outside. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place sucks.
Laborer (Former Employee), St. LouisMay 16, 2014
I worked there for almost a year when it first began it was a horrible job. Never expect to move up and always be ready to be thrown in the garbage the second they get caught up on there maps. The managers are incompetent and have zero idea on what there doing. Zero stars for being stupid!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice people, no advancement opportunities, very disorganized, and zero employee appreciation
GIS Technician II (Former Employee), St Louis, MOJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: nice people, decent pay
Cons: disorganized, unprofessional, unnecessary rules and regulations, horrible communication, no advancement opportunities
I worked with the company for just under 2 years, started out very excited about the prospect of actually helping the GIS/IT department change some things, hopefully institute new and improved methods. After a few months I realized that was completely out of the question and the way we did things was pretty inefficient and management didn't seem to – more... care.

The management shares no information, whether it be with other managers/supervisors or even the relevant employees so I always felt completely in the dark about any changes to policy, or even to day-to-day work flow.

There is some incredibly unprofessional behavior with some of the staff that it just accepted by management, however if you haven't been there as long as these people, you can be written up for relatively minor things.

That said, other than a few very unnecessary rules (there are permitted break times, and you shouldn't be taking any breaks outside of those times, and now you can't even leave the property during those times) it was a decent place to work. Decent salary and benefits. Just don't expect to get a job here and advance your career in any way, for me it was a complete standstill for almost 2 years while I tried to find another job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
traveling
Power Pole Inspector Supervisor (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJanuary 12, 2014
A typical day of work is to excavate and analyze each pole to know either they are good or bad. I've learned how to manage a small crew and how to use a tough book to enter in data and additional services that has been done to the pole. The management is depended on the person cause most of them are sub-contractors. the hardest part of the job is to – more... be away from your loved ones long periods of time. The enjoyable part of the job is to travel the country and see different states and meeting different people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad company, never move up
pole inspector (Former Employee), st. louis. moOctober 2, 2013
Pros: vechile to drive, great boss adam
Cons: low pay, bad boss, contract work, cheap hotels, walk through jungles
This company won't tell you your last day on a project until the last couple of hours your working then expect you to get up and move. I had one manger that was the best manger I've ever had, that was Adam. But the mangers back in the office in St. Louis don't care about anything besides them selves and trying to get themselves promoted. You will never – more... move up. I pretty much got demoted even though I was the top inspector on the project before. I would never recommend this company again unless your on a project with Adam. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the job for me.
Inspector (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INSeptember 20, 2013
Pros: company vehicle, gas card, cell phone, paid hotel rooms
Cons: management that doesn't care, lack of resources
This may seem like an easy going job on the surface, but deep down, it's a job with pretty brutal standards and tasks to perform. There are maps that you will do that will have straight aways that have poles right at the roadside which is the easy stuff. However, there are also many maps that you will do where you are going through cornfields, soy fields, – more... cattle fields, backyards, and deep woods all by yourself with no one to help you if you're injured. There are poles that are in deep grass and thick thorn bushes that you have to cut through with only a machete and a pair of clippers. It will sometimes take 20 minutes to get to one pole, but yet, you're expected to do 75 poles a day. Impossible standards, mixed with terrible management who don't care about their workers and travel that will have you leaving your family behind for weeks and sometimes months at a time, will tell you all about this job. Mandated 10 hour days 5 days a week. Weekends are free (which is nice), unless it rains, or you call off, and instead of just being docked the pay, you have to lose your Saturday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to Work
Utilities Inspector/Analyst (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 14, 2013
Learned all about Utilities and the electric distribution system
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work. Great experience.
Safety Supervisor, Northeast Operations (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOApril 30, 2013
Pros: company vehicle, phone, laptop
Cons: lots of travel, contract work
Project management, training, project start-up
Co-workers are knowledgeable in their craft
Long work hours but pay-off in the end
Travel is great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When working great job.
Utility Asset Engineer (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INMarch 25, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: very unorganized, not sure when you will go to work and get a paycheck.
A typical work day is walking your walking your grid and inspecting utility poles. I have learned every aspect of a utility linemans job, but do not get his pay. Management was good, just is unorganized. I have great co-workers. Hardest part of my job is carrying the tools I would need for the day because I am walking around with an extra 60 pounds. – more... The most enjoyable part about my job is that I am in the field all day seeing diferent things and getting exercise at the same time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working company with high expectations
Sound and Bore Inspector (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJanuary 14, 2013
Typical work day starts at sunrise and ends at sun down. I organized and uploaded inspected poles daily averaging 50-60 poles a day. I managed my self inputting specific days and hours worked and amount of poles done each day. Very physically demanding and enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth potential, poor organization
Field Collector (Former Employee), ArkansasDecember 10, 2012
Pros: health insurance benefits
Cons: job security, transparency.
The company hosts a "revolving door" of new hires, nearly as soon as they're hired they're out the door. Lost business contracts, false policies and very little transparency keeps business practices hidden from those who they affect the most - field operations workers. Management and communication are poorly structured, but the insurance benefits are – more... excellent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really great co-workers, great support from supervisors.
Utility Pole/Quality Control Supervisor (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOMay 14, 2012
The company has a really great training program. A typical day consisted of either going right out to the field and Quality Checking utility poles, or heading into the office to turn in those QC reports and receive more maps to QC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Young company with a lot of disorganization
Senior Utility Inspector (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAMarch 27, 2012
Pros: good money, independence
Cons: lack of communication
A typical day at work here included inspecting utility poles for power companies based on their specifications. The job itself is not hard at all and you learn a great deal about electrical transmission and wood restoration. Management is where I would say this company has a major problem. My immediate supervisors were proficient at their jobs, but – more... the line of communication between them and corporate was dysfunctional at best. The hardest part of the job was moving around so much. For some people, this is not an issue, and for me it wasn't for about 1.5 years. But being married and going from hotel to hotel is not pleasant. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting paid weekly and the lack of supervision on a daily basis. – less