Find companies:
Utiliquest
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
54 reviews

Utiliquest Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solitude
Damage Prevention Technician (Former Employee), MDDecember 13, 2014
Not bad. Quiet but the driving regulations can be ridiculous. Every little bump sets the camera off and then you get into ttrouble for it. No matter how slow you go. Other than that, it is not too bad of a place. You can get the hours you want and are left alone. People are okay to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really loved this job
Dispatcher/Locator (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXDecember 5, 2014
Pros: i loved the job and the people. great pay and benefits
Cons: taking the job home with me
I can't say this job was stress free because it was very stressful. But I loved it and thrived on the stress of it. I sent emergency line locates out to 75 locators on a daily basis all day long. My job went home with me via cell phone. The locators would call me for information at times while I was at home after hours. Being the only dispatcher for – more... my area there were a lot of hours worked a week. Could have as many as I wanted. This also helped me with job security no one wanted my job. The hardest part of the job was when the system would go down and I would have to call each and every locator with every detail of every locate (there were a lot of locates per locator). The most enjoyable part was being there and feeling excited about doing my job well. I loved working with everyone there from the other dispatchers, locators and management. Management pretty much let me do my own thing, the only time I would hear from them was when something might have gone wrong somewhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fellow employees
Fleet and Asset Manager (Former Employee), Cream Ridge, NJOctober 26, 2014
I operated the daily day to day inventory of vehicles, equipment, safety equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job!
Laborer (Former Employee), Suisun, CaOctober 20, 2014
Pros: great experience
Cons: n/a
It was a great experience, enjoyed meeting all the people in the cities that I met.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning always existed always something new
Utility Service line Locator (Former Employee), Mesquite, TXAugust 10, 2014
Enjoyed the job. Learned a lot. Sometimes wish i still worked there.
we were responsible for pinpointing the paths of cables,pipes and other conduits that carry utilities underground. using uniform color coding paint.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Emergency Dispatcher (Former Employee), Charleston, SCJuly 27, 2014
Pros: getting my own office with a view
Cons: my branch of the company closed
I liked working for this company, you learn a lot and you work with great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked the job.
Utility Worker (Former Employee), Ventura, CAJuly 17, 2014
I really liked working here, a lot of traveling and working outside, I didn't like having to get into manholes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very poor, unfulfilling place to work
Field Check Auditor (Former Employee), Alpharetta,GaJuly 10, 2014
Pros: none that come to mind
Cons: poor management, unappreciation, poor wages, lack of promotion based on merit(based on personal feelings)
Unfortunately people at this company are judged more by personal affiliations than actual ability and performance. The work environment consists of people who participate in "herd mentality", never allowing individuals to express their own viewpoints or exist outside of the group. Those that attempt to do so are treated unfairly or shunned. There is – more... no accountability from management for directives put into place or mistreatment of employees, they simply strategically hide behind human resource regulation in order to manipulate employees and continue unfair treatment. Oh how it would benefit the employees of Utiliquest to have a Union on their side to protect their rights....Would I recommend this company--ABSOLUTELY NOT! If you want to be appreciated,treated fairly,and truly compensated for your worth...do not work here! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Utiliquest - Great Company
anonymous (Current Employee), anonymousJuly 8, 2014
Pros: benefits, raises, bonuses
I used to work at USIC, and prefer Utiliquest A MILLION PERCENT. The equipment is way better here, management/corporate listen to what I've gotta say, and work is steadier. I feel a sense of pride when I finish a locate because I know I'm protecting the community. It's a serious job, where I have to be aware of everything around me, and constantly double – more... check for safety from driving to the actual locate. If you're careless, and don't like to double check your work, this is not a job for you. It's a good job for focused people that like working outdoors. I'm not too bothered by hot or cold. Just stay hydrated. They send us messages about promotions in the company on our tablets when we update our time sheet. I've got buddies that work at corporate now and can't wait to work there myself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very enjoyable work place in the field and comfortable and laxed in the office.
Utility Locator / Field Checker / Dispatcher (Former Employee), Riverside, CAJune 27, 2014
Pros: providing damage prevention service to private and public sectors, everyday you're in a different location, forever seeing different places and sights of the city, i love map reading
Cons: snakes in rural areas in the field, the weather both hot and cold, the only con i had in the office was the traffic to and from work.
I really enjoyed working for Utiliquest. As a Utility locator, you work alone, start your route off at home and return home at the end of your route. Driving the company pickup to and from home, only met with supervisors in the field for resupply and administrative matters. I also met monthly at a predetermined location in the field or office for safety – more... classes or equipment updates. Promoted to the office as a Field Checker / Dispatcher, where I checked and approved the field locator work of fellow employees and redirected their route to other jobs mainly emergencies. There wasn't anything complicated about the work at Utiliquest, I enjoyed the field work and the office was a very relaxed atmosphere as well. No pressure whatsoever and the weekly meetings were very informative and brief. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Rude- HR Unprofessional- Discrimination Allowed
Locator Tech. (Former Employee), Pacific NorthwestMay 28, 2014
Pros: good benefits- paid training
Cons: poor management, hr, and field support not there!
Look out for your safety and your civil rights. Complaints will be ignored by Human Resources. BOSSES are allowed to harass their employees as much as they want. Equipment is sub-standard, and help in the field is not there. Although there are some good people working for them. You may be isolated and unable to seek help from others as well as those – more... folks told to not assist you what so ever.
Unethical practices are done, and you will be taught to do so, or you will loose your job. Just know that they will promise you many things, but deliver on very few of them. Felt ashamed of the way I was forced to do my job. Customer's requests are ignored, or they are told lies often just to speed things along.
Training seems good, but what happens in the field is totally different. I honestly could not continue working for such unethical people. Seems that some one needs to do a back ground check on the management of this company and it's other companies as well. I did the best job I could with poorly maintained equipment, and requests for better were denied.
If you work for this company be sure you have a good lawyer on speed dial, you will most likely need them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Damage Prevention Field Technician (Former Employee), Hayward, CAMay 27, 2014
u learn a lot of technical stuff to prevent damage utility lines management is great and employees are wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job offers its challenges and is interesting while working outdoors.
Damage Control Specialist/ Utility Locator (Current Employee), Stockton, CAMay 20, 2014
Pros: outdoors and i get to see areas not normally seen by the public.
Cons: drive cam, high demands, low pay
I enjoy my work and co workers. I get the opportunity to meet many interesting people amd see the unusual side to many places. The work can be stressful and the company puts high demands on its employees. Most work is done unsupervised. Driving safety is emphasized and is monitored with a "Drive Cam" that can be a neusance and often distracting. This – more... company has a high turnover rate with employees but, can be a good place for the right type of person. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but very strenous work
Customer Service Call Center Manager (Former Employee), Halethorpe, MDMay 19, 2014
Pros: company truck
Cons: no leadership until i came aboard
Very long hours and no time for family life. Management became a lot better once someone was at the helm. Very disorganized before but is well up to par now.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to learn more than your job requirement.
System Engineer I (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAMay 18, 2014
Pros: unlimited freedom to learn.
Cons: management neglect or unprofessional-ism.
Resolve first level application/server/host issues. I learned sql/coding/billing/python/application/testing/front end support/back end support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced Job
Locator (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDApril 30, 2014
A Locator is responsible for locating underground utility lines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Brunswick GaFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: love helping people
Cons: job ended
loved working with the public and love making sure the office ran smoothly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Utiliquest
Administrator (Former Employee), Doraville, GAJanuary 15, 2014
I enjoyed working for this company and learned a lot. I was given an opportunity and I appreciate everything I learned while working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work
Damage Prevention Specialist (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDDecember 22, 2013
Pros: freedom, company vehicle/gas card, constantly busy during the warmer months.
Cons: pay!!!
If your looking for a job that will keep you busy & just earn a paycheck this is a perfect company.
I love the job & the freedom of working on my own & not having someone standing over my shoulder constantly monitoring my daily movements. However, the pay is not sufficient to take care of your family (especially in Baltimore). I work 60 hrs weekly & – more... still bring home little or nothing once taxes etc are taken out.
As for my supervisors I will say they are more of the laid back in the company as opposed to some stories I've heard about others. Very helpful when needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job ever!
Damage Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXDecember 17, 2013
Pros: per dm's
Cons: corporate
Everyday was what you make it.I learn how to navigate a major metropolitan area.And how work beside major high profile contractors. Management where your typical yes men. For the most part my co-worker where great to work with. The hard part was the miles you had to work. I really enjoyed th freedom.

1 2 3

About Utiliquest

UtiliQuest is a leading provider of facility locating and infrastructure protection services. Our client roster includes over – Read more