Find companies:
Utiliquest
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
50 reviews

Utiliquest Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning always existed always something new
Utility Service line Locator (Former Employee), Mesquite, TXAugust 10, 2014
Enjoyed the job. Learned a lot. Sometimes wish i still worked there.
we were responsible for pinpointing the paths of cables,pipes and other conduits that carry utilities underground. using uniform color coding paint.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Emergency Dispatcher (Former Employee), Charleston, SCJuly 27, 2014
Pros: getting my own office with a view
Cons: my branch of the company closed
I liked working for this company, you learn a lot and you work with great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked the job.
Utility Worker (Former Employee), Ventura, CAJuly 17, 2014
I really liked working here, a lot of traveling and working outside, I didn't like having to get into manholes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very poor, unfulfilling place to work
Field Check Auditor (Former Employee), Alpharetta,GaJuly 10, 2014
Pros: none that come to mind
Cons: poor management, unappreciation, poor wages, lack of promotion based on merit(based on personal feelings)
Unfortunately people at this company are judged more by personal affiliations than actual ability and performance. The work environment consists of people who participate in "herd mentality", never allowing individuals to express their own viewpoints or exist outside of the group. Those that attempt to do so are treated unfairly or shunned. There is – more... no accountability from management for directives put into place or mistreatment of employees, they simply strategically hide behind human resource regulation in order to manipulate employees and continue unfair treatment. Oh how it would benefit the employees of Utiliquest to have a Union on their side to protect their rights....Would I recommend this company--ABSOLUTELY NOT! If you want to be appreciated,treated fairly,and truly compensated for your worth...do not work here! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Utiliquest - Great Company
anonymous (Current Employee), anonymousJuly 8, 2014
Pros: benefits, raises, bonuses
I used to work at USIC, and prefer Utiliquest A MILLION PERCENT. The equipment is way better here, management/corporate listen to what I've gotta say, and work is steadier. I feel a sense of pride when I finish a locate because I know I'm protecting the community. It's a serious job, where I have to be aware of everything around me, and constantly double – more... check for safety from driving to the actual locate. If you're careless, and don't like to double check your work, this is not a job for you. It's a good job for focused people that like working outdoors. I'm not too bothered by hot or cold. Just stay hydrated. They send us messages about promotions in the company on our tablets when we update our time sheet. I've got buddies that work at corporate now and can't wait to work there myself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very enjoyable work place in the field and comfortable and laxed in the office.
Utility Locator / Field Checker / Dispatcher (Former Employee), Riverside, CAJune 27, 2014
Pros: providing damage prevention service to private and public sectors, everyday you're in a different location, forever seeing different places and sights of the city, i love map reading
Cons: snakes in rural areas in the field, the weather both hot and cold, the only con i had in the office was the traffic to and from work.
I really enjoyed working for Utiliquest. As a Utility locator, you work alone, start your route off at home and return home at the end of your route. Driving the company pickup to and from home, only met with supervisors in the field for resupply and administrative matters. I also met monthly at a predetermined location in the field or office for safety – more... classes or equipment updates. Promoted to the office as a Field Checker / Dispatcher, where I checked and approved the field locator work of fellow employees and redirected their route to other jobs mainly emergencies. There wasn't anything complicated about the work at Utiliquest, I enjoyed the field work and the office was a very relaxed atmosphere as well. No pressure whatsoever and the weekly meetings were very informative and brief. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Rude- HR Unprofessional- Discrimination Allowed
Locator Tech. (Former Employee), Pacific NorthwestMay 28, 2014
Pros: good benefits- paid training
Cons: poor management, hr, and field support not there!
Look out for your safety and your civil rights. Complaints will be ignored by Human Resources. BOSSES are allowed to harass their employees as much as they want. Equipment is sub-standard, and help in the field is not there. Although there are some good people working for them. You may be isolated and unable to seek help from others as well as those – more... folks told to not assist you what so ever.
Unethical practices are done, and you will be taught to do so, or you will loose your job. Just know that they will promise you many things, but deliver on very few of them. Felt ashamed of the way I was forced to do my job. Customer's requests are ignored, or they are told lies often just to speed things along.
Training seems good, but what happens in the field is totally different. I honestly could not continue working for such unethical people. Seems that some one needs to do a back ground check on the management of this company and it's other companies as well. I did the best job I could with poorly maintained equipment, and requests for better were denied.
If you work for this company be sure you have a good lawyer on speed dial, you will most likely need them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Damage Prevention Field Technician (Former Employee), Hayward, CAMay 27, 2014
u learn a lot of technical stuff to prevent damage utility lines management is great and employees are wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job offers its challenges and is interesting while working outdoors.
Damage Control Specialist/ Utility Locator (Current Employee), Stockton, CAMay 20, 2014
Pros: outdoors and i get to see areas not normally seen by the public.
Cons: drive cam, high demands, low pay
I enjoy my work and co workers. I get the opportunity to meet many interesting people amd see the unusual side to many places. The work can be stressful and the company puts high demands on its employees. Most work is done unsupervised. Driving safety is emphasized and is monitored with a "Drive Cam" that can be a neusance and often distracting. This – more... company has a high turnover rate with employees but, can be a good place for the right type of person. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but very strenous work
Customer Service Call Center Manager (Former Employee), Halethorpe, MDMay 19, 2014
Pros: company truck
Cons: no leadership until i came aboard
Very long hours and no time for family life. Management became a lot better once someone was at the helm. Very disorganized before but is well up to par now.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to learn more than your job requirement.
System Engineer I (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAMay 18, 2014
Pros: unlimited freedom to learn.
Cons: management neglect or unprofessional-ism.
Resolve first level application/server/host issues. I learned sql/coding/billing/python/application/testing/front end support/back end support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced Job
Locator (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDApril 30, 2014
A Locator is responsible for locating underground utility lines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Brunswick GaFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: love helping people
Cons: job ended
loved working with the public and love making sure the office ran smoothly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Utiliquest
Administrator (Former Employee), Doraville, GAJanuary 15, 2014
I enjoyed working for this company and learned a lot. I was given an opportunity and I appreciate everything I learned while working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work
Damage Prevention Specialist (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDDecember 22, 2013
Pros: freedom, company vehicle/gas card, constantly busy during the warmer months.
Cons: pay!!!
If your looking for a job that will keep you busy & just earn a paycheck this is a perfect company.
I love the job & the freedom of working on my own & not having someone standing over my shoulder constantly monitoring my daily movements. However, the pay is not sufficient to take care of your family (especially in Baltimore). I work 60 hrs weekly & – more... still bring home little or nothing once taxes etc are taken out.
As for my supervisors I will say they are more of the laid back in the company as opposed to some stories I've heard about others. Very helpful when needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job ever!
Damage Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXDecember 17, 2013
Pros: per dm's
Cons: corporate
Everyday was what you make it.I learn how to navigate a major metropolitan area.And how work beside major high profile contractors. Management where your typical yes men. For the most part my co-worker where great to work with. The hard part was the miles you had to work. I really enjoyed th freedom.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You've officially been warned.
Damage Prevention Technician (Current Employee), new jerseyOctober 7, 2013
Pros: working on it, get back to you.
Cons: seriously, just this little section for cons. everything!!!
Believe nothing you are told!!!! Company consists of hard working grunts doing the locating and slithering snakes who hide in the shadows. Management will happily tell you what you want to hear to move your attention back to earning only to take pride in the fact that they will not fulfill your requests. Personnel in charge of the hiring for positions – more... shows intense favoritism to those in his circle. If you happen to know this man, you may also get to enjoy a fine seat at the helm of a supervisor position, damage investigator, or maybe even company wide VP. Do not be fooled by any of the things you may hear in your interview, just take notice to the fact that they will be selling you this position from the door. Any reputable company asks that you sell yourself in an interview, Utiliquest will be serving sugar coated prospects and caramelized career opportunities from the moment you enter the door. The first five years of employment carry a joint combination of 40 hrs. paid to include sick time, and vacation. Holidays are paid at 50 a day!!!! regardless of hourly rate. Approx. 5 holidays per year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive.
Dispatcher (Former Employee), Commerce City, COSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: christmas parties ect.
Cons: long hours
A typical day as a dispatcher was arriving early everyday to make sure routes and schedules were ready by 6:30am some drivers would be their waiting for their schedules so they could plan out their plans for the watch of the excavation. I had to be on the same page with every stand-by tech constantly in contact with my techs via 2-way radio. that was – more... the hardest part of the job was being the middle person making sure no main fiber line would be hit the result of the excavation gone wrong would result in hundreds of thousands of dollars gone for Utiliquest as well as the company or residents who had a excavation going on.the enjoyable part of the job was knowing that I did my job for that day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Saftey is a very high priority
Damage Prevention Technician (Current Employee), NJAugust 20, 2013
Pros: on call funds $18.00
Cons: from beginning to the end of the day you're constanly assesing situations
Free going atmosphere, a get up and self starter job. A very influential place of employment. My daily day would consist of: Routing tickets, pulling prints, concentrating on driving and safety, arriving early, assessing my work area and understanding what the ticket is calling for, consistently in touch with various contractors, locating the utilities – more... and marking the underground utilities with water based paint and flags in every weather condition, taking pictures, E-Sketching, measuring for footage, billing the customer properly, and closing the ticket successfully. I've learned that this type of job can come with a lot of unpredictable changes such as Contractors digging to soon, Implement weather conditions, and uneven surfaces, other traffic, trouble locates patience is needed. The Management team at Utiliquest are very focused on its crews, it takes dedicated individuals to manage a team from afar. My co-workers here at Utiliquest are always willing to help so no one person ever feels alone while working in the field. The hardest part of my job would have to be not being able to see underground utilities trusting the equipment and my training keep me confident. The thing I enjoy most is this has become another tool in my wide range of experience to provide for my family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty nice place to work
Administrative assistant/ Auditor (Former Employee), Halethorpe, MDAugust 10, 2013
Pros: set work schedule, helped with other areas
Cons: communication
Always let me help with other stuff and learn new things. Would do the same thing everyday. Management was pretty good, very nice. Some co-workers didnt see eye to eye, could be very intense at times. There really wasnt a hard part to the job. I enjoyed learning new stuff within the company and the working environment.

1 2 3

About Utiliquest

UtiliQuest is a leading provider of facility locating and infrastructure protection services. Our client roster includes over – Read more