UW-MADISON Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice professors to work with, innovative.
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIMarch 10, 2016
Post pre-class video and quiz;
Prepare in-class activities and answer students' questions during class;
Lead flipped class discussion; graded homework;
Lead lab sections; created and graded quiz and lab reports.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment for busy students
Peer Advisor (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIAugust 20, 2015
As a full time student, working at UW-Madison was flexible and convenient. Work schedules are structured around course schedules, and most managers I've worked with were helpful in providing resources for students during midterms and finals season, including a change in weekly hours and times.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment with minimal stress
Student Tester and Developer (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIJune 30, 2015
All in all it was great working there for the five years I was in school. I have no complaints about anything. I learned how to work as part of a team to accomplish our goals. The management for the most part was excellent and most of the co-workers were friendly and focused on the tasks at hand.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical academic setting
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIApril 7, 2015
UW Madison is a ti[ical academic setting university. The people are very friendly. There is no affordable parking, however there is good public transportation that takes you to the university
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
UW Club Baseball (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIJanuary 21, 2015
Playing with the UW Club Baseball team was a great experience. I would say most, if not all of my best friends from school came from playing on the club team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience
IE Research Consultant (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIApril 3, 2013
Extraordinary Professors
Nice co-workers,
Core industrial engineering consulting projects is excellent way to learn and get hands on experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience
IE Research Consultant (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIApril 3, 2013
Excellent experience
Nice co-workers, core mechanical and industrial engineering
Consulting projects is excellent way to learn
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like any other university
Associate Research Specialist (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIMarch 9, 2013
There is nothing special about the UW you can't get at any other university.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in housing food, union convenience store and coffee shop
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIMarch 4, 2013
Overall, coffee shop was the most enjoyable environment and most convenient with a college student's schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for middle-mangement and up
IS Computer Support Technician Senior (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIFebruary 23, 2013
This is not the place to work if you don't plan to stay there 30 years. Pay is mediocre, especially given the high cost of living in the city. I spent 8 years as a houly, temp, and limited term employee with low pay and no benefits until I begrudgingly received a full-time permanent position, only because the law limits the term you can spend as a temporary employee. I did not patronize my boss, and this was a mistake. Just like the students, if you want to excel or even just survive, the professors and princely admins on Bascom Hill are always right and can do no wrong.
Cons
long hours, no opportunity for advancement, no training
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture