UW Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual environment with low stress
Conversion Crew Leader (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIMarch 28, 2017
The management knows how do motivate employees without coming off as overbearing or demanding. It was a fun atmosphere. I worked there beginning as a freshman and stayed through my senior year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Rep.
Help desk/call center duties (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIJanuary 2, 2017
Utilizes Microsoft software to prepare firm standard memos, letters, lists and charts as required. Work internship for scholarship.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UW madison review
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  1550 Linden DriveJuly 12, 2016
The UW is a very nice place to work. It was a friendly work environment which encouraged collaboration with others. I enjoyed it very much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Productive environment, provides a very motivating feeling
Engine Development (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAMay 2, 2016
My time at the UW has been great. The learning environment provides countless opportunities and fosters career building.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place. Would be happy to work there.
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 23, 2016
I enjoyed my work experience in Shoreline Community College. As a ESL/GED Lab assistant I worked a lot with people from different cultures and learned a lot. Instructors are awesome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAMarch 26, 2016
I have been study in University of Washington for 5 years. During those year, professor provide excellent instruction on both course base and research base material.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork!
Works under supervision of RN (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIOctober 17, 2015
Everyone at UW is friendly and team work oriented. They are accepting of new nursing staff to come in. Always room for advancement and learning other departments.
Pros
Health Care
Cons
Parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as an office operation associate
University Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Madison, WISeptember 30, 2015
Trained and designed Scantron forms for upcoming CME Trainings in different states in USA. Setup and designs forms and compile the information in a data entry Excel spreadsheets. Work directly with the RCS Outreach Specialist setting monthly meetings and CMEOutreach conferences for physicians, nurses, and other professional staff.
Pros
Flexible schedule, on bus route, goood people to work with
Cons
No advancement or growth in job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to help others
Platteville Student Support Services (Former Employee) –  Platteville, WisconsinJuly 17, 2015
I would walk into a pre-determined room at a set time to help tutor, for an hour, a fellow college student in psychology material. When the hour was finished, I would complete the necessary review of the session with the student. It was a fantastic job for me because even though the pay was low and based on client demand, I loved working with the students to help them learn the material. In addition, I knew that whenever I had an issue arise, my boss was always willing to help with a smile. Also, my co-workers were always very friendly and respectful toward others when needing something.
Pros
Flexible scheduling, fantastic boss, great clients
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, open, relaxed, but still keeps a driven atmosphere to make the shifts go by quickly.
Student Caller (Former Employee) –  Stevens Point, WIJune 2, 2015
A great place where you work with one another instead of working for someone. Management is there for any questions you may have and it gives you a sense a pride to raise money for the education system.
Pros
Free dinner sometimes when goals are reached
Cons
Most of the time its pizza
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Custodian (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIApril 10, 2015
A typical work week consists of cleaning assigned areas which includes vacuuming, sweeping, moping, floors, sanitizing gym equipment, furniture and showers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but not compensated for the amount of work you're responsible for
Information Center Representative (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIApril 9, 2015
- Tracked performance and productivity based on sales and units sold to ensure store goals are being met
- Supervised all store sales associates in order to achieve effective customer service and store merchandising
- Updated price markdowns and promotions in a timely manner
Pros
Fun environment
Cons
Assistant-Store management work without the comensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project management and curriculum development
Media Assistant (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIMarch 16, 2015
Working here, I learned a lot of about project management - a field of study that I was not exposed to while studying English. In addition to researching lean management strategies, I organized text and media files to create a comprehensive archive of our research thus far so that it might be used as a reference source for further developments within the course curriculum. This was a fantastic venture outside of literary studies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highly collaborative environment
Postdoctoral fellow and then research scientist (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIJanuary 31, 2015
My work here focused on research of brain changes occurring early in the symptom time course of Alzheimer's disease. Resources and opportunities for collaboration are tremendous.
Pros
collaborative, lots of autonomy
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to grow into your Career.
Research Chemist (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIDecember 25, 2014
You will learn to do what you are going to school for and get first hand experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school
Teaching Assistant for Journalism/Advertising (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIDecember 4, 2014
I already did one review for this, not sure what it wants me to say.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardest part of the job
Student Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Platteville, WIDecember 2, 2014
the hardest part of my job was finding a balance between my school work and the amount of hours I could work and still excel in school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor service
Sr. Processor (Former Employee) –  Santa Ana, CANovember 10, 2014
poor management
would not work for them again
worst service to clients
Pros
free lunch on fridays
Cons
$$
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working the sporting events
Intercollegiate Athletics Assistant (Former Employee) –  Whitewater, WIOctober 19, 2014
Work on day to day NCAA eligibility forms and helped with sporting events.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resident Assistant
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIOctober 4, 2014
If you can do it, do it. This is a fun and relatively easy job. you get to organize social events, but basically youre the baby sitter.
Pros
Free housing, and a monthly stipend
Cons
a lot of uncomfortable situations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UW. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 53 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0