Find companies:
VA Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
222 reviews

VA Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Grand Junction, COSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: helpinng fellow vets.
Cons: not enough staff
Demanding and stressful but,overall a friendly place to work. They really care about our vets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a wonderful place to work. The benefits are great and the staff is excellent. I love it.
Staff Nurse/Acute (Current Employee), West Palm Beach, FLSeptember 5, 2014
It is a wonderful place to work. The benefits are great and the staff is excellent. I love it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Established the service at this Medical Center, designed space.
Chief, Prosthetic Treatment Center (Former Employee), Dayton, OHSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: comraderie was excellent as well as the benefits
Cons: staffing
Excellent place to work. Excellent support from all fellow service chiefs and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VA Medical Center in Manchester NH
LPN (Former Employee), Manchester, NHSeptember 3, 2014
Excellent place to work, too many administrative staff. Wonderful place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good security
Medical Technologist (Former Employee), Denver, COSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: government still has retirement
Cons: old and very dirty.
Good for job security. Difficult work place, conflict is the rule. Very negative vibe. Good equipment but in a very old building, no creature comfort, break room/locker room is tiny and un-kept. Great hours and weekend coverage. Pay has been frozen by congress for 3 years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced enviorment. I learned a lot in the years i was there.
Medical Technician (Former Employee), Dayton, OHSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: meeting different types of people
Cons: the cafeteria food was horrible
The laboratory was very fast paced. Everyday we had the potential to serve over 150 patients. I recieved on the job training as far as the phlebotomy skills i performed. I was already skilled in customer service, data entry, computers, accessioning & other laboratory functions. Some of our concerns & suggestions were taken into account with our supervisor. – more... We were able to talk about these things at our monthly meetings. The hardest part of my job was getting very attached to the patients. It was very hard knowing when they were really sick. But talking to them & making them smile or laugh was always a great time. The stories they told me were life lessons to live by. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked very hard
Program Support Assistant (Former Employee), Fargo, NDSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: no help at all from no one
I was the only biller that billed pharmacy so I was a very busy person.Things changed every dayand I mean every day.I pretty much gotten thrown intothis not knowing how or what to do.I had to learn e-pharmacy which was going all electronic.So from the ground up I started and wrote up a manual for whoever would work in this areaif I was to leave.I spent – more... alot of time and I brought alot of it home with me,meaning writing up the manual. I am pretty proud of myself when it came to this job.I was frusterated at first because usually you would thing you would have something to work off of but not in this case, I had nothing at all.My supervisor knew nothing and which was upsetting is , I felt any way that he just did not care.I thought he would help in some sort of way but never did.Even when I did get this up and running, the director acknowledge me and gave me a very nice letter and I had my picture out front of the VA for at least a year for outstanding employee.This was also because of all the letters that came in from veterans stating I was very good to them.This really meant the world to me.Yes I did do a wonderful job on the e-pharmacy part but having veterans look up to me,that took my breath away. I did not really work with anyone but myself so I was pretty much alone except when I would talk to different VISN about how they are coming along on there e-pharmacy issues.Very rewarding I thought but I never did get a thank you or anything from my own supervisor, this was hurtful but at the same time,I knew what kind of a person he was so I did not dwell on it,put it that way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and satisfy work taking care of those who have served
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee), Jackson, MSAugust 30, 2014
Pros: great oppurtunites for learning, promotes educational advancement, great health benifits
Cons: can be a stressful enviornment with a challanging clientele
• Self-directed with astute judgment skills. High level of personal
• Assessed, monitored and documented patient progress, symptoms and vital signs educated clients and their families on the safe treatment of injuries, illnesses and conditions.
• Managed care for post-operative patients through discharge
• Closely monitored acute conditions
• Followed – more... infection control procedures
• Administration of medications – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back environment
OR Staff Nurse (Current Employee), Homewood, ALAugust 19, 2014
Pros: coworkers
Cons: late night call backs.
Knowledgeable experience staff. Assessment of patients, prepping patient for procedure. Meeting new people everyday was enjoyable. Hardest was learning a great number of procedures. Management is very knowledgeable of area and procedures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family setting, fun place to work!
forensic mental health tech (Former Employee), Petersburg, VAAugust 9, 2014
Pros: knowing that the residents, were taking of, and that they got the best care.
Cons: laack of team work, communication.
shift starts with report, make change of shift rounds,set up and get supplies needed for the day, as my experince being a care provider, everyone needs are different than the next persons,observe and pay attention to your settings. take charge in what you do, to be accurate. yet humble, work as a team, no matter what youe differance may be with a co-worker, – more... because at the end of the day, its not about them, it's ALL about the residents/patients.guest.the hardest thing about about a job, is Nothing,you only make it hard, with attitudes, lack of effort,and not smiling, taking direction:)
is walking in door as seeing the smiles of the residents/patients faces, knowing that you made a difference for 8hrs in their lives, the joy of making their day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 4, 2014
Pros: only working while school is session
Cons: the pay and no benefits
Working with special needs clients is very rewarding and challenging. The staff is great and very helpful in making things go smoothly for new employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff are great to work with
Staff Nurse (Current Employee), Manchester, NHJuly 24, 2014
not always the best place to wotk if you have family and school obligations. They expect you to drop everything else, like they own you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is always something new to learn.
Accounting Technician (Former Employee), Fargo, NDJuly 18, 2014
I would review, obligate and do follow-ups on various types of purchase orders. Assist purchase card holders with ordering and reconciling orders, along with monthly audit of orders and training when needed. I did deposits and cash orders, accepted payments on account, daily reconciling of cash & checking.Operated calculators, check endorser, cash counter – more... and copier. Worked in a variety of software and in on-line sites. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Mimmeapolis, MNJuly 18, 2014
I am hard worker, productive and accountable. Love helping others and always willing to learn new skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over worked
Medical Support Assistant (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 16, 2014
Cons: lazy co workers
this is a very un organized place to work..... so many lazy people work here and do nothing....it should support our veterans in a better way
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work and serve Veterans
Medical Technician (Current Employee), Dayton OHJuly 16, 2014
Pros: giving back to veterans, nice work out facility
Cons: poor manager and employee relations
Enjoy helping my fellow Veterans, while seeking Health care. I enjoy helping others identify needs and other benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
government work
Lab Information Manager (Current Employee), Manchester, NHJuly 6, 2014
Not a bad place. Lots of good people. Governement work can be slow going and frustrating at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly work place.
CWEX Volunteer (Former Employee), Mather, CAJuly 4, 2014
Pros: interaction with patients and employees.
Cons: short lunch break
a typical day at Mather Veterans hospital is full of phone calls, patients, and paperwork. you are there to meet the needs of the veterans in any way that you can. I learned many things through my volunteer experience at Mather veterans hospital such as stress management, how to handle disgruntled customers and patients, how to operate and pull in formation – more... from medical data base as well as update any patient information. The other employees at the facility were all friendly and did their job to the best of their ability. The hardest part of the medical support assistant job would have to be moving from clinic to clinic, you get comfortable at a specialty clinic and then must go where you are needed, learning a new clinic and getting comfortable again. however while that was the most hardest part of the job it was also the most enjoyable because I was able to meet new employees, interact with different patients in different clinic environments, and learn from each clinic. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Internship (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 25, 2014
liked people
nice working hours
nice environment
helpful technicians
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Environment to serve our Veterans healthcare needs.
Medical Support Assistant-Contractor (Former Employee), Lebanon, PAJune 24, 2014
Pros: discount merchandise for employees
Cons: no benefits for contractors
I loved working at VA Medical Center in Lebanon, PA. I enjoyed working in the Medical Release Department, "Medical Records". Everyone worked as a team, faxing medical records upon request from hospitals, lawyers, funeral homes, Physician offices. Processing incoming mail, data entry of release of information forms.
Answering incoming calls and directing – more... to appropriate departments. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About VA Medical Center

The Veterans Health Administration is home to the United States’ largest integrated health care system consisting of 152 – Read more