Find companies:
Vail Resorts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
70 reviews

Vail Resorts Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The overall best place I have ever worked!
Customer Service (Current Employee), Vail, CoApril 21, 2013
Pros: discounts on merchandise
Cons: customers criticizing your floral arrangments
In a typical day we process flowers in the morning then arrange any pre-ordered daily arrangements. Take new orders for flowers while selling any gifts to customers. Then deliver the flowers. The owner is fabulous and supportive. My co-workers help me learn new styles of floral design. the hardest part of the job is time management, We are always busy – more... and staying prepared is essential. The most enjoyable part is that i get to make people smile and feel special when I deliver to them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is my HOME
Product Sales, Night Auditor, Call Center (Current Employee), Keystone, Breckenridge, BroomfieldMarch 31, 2013
Pros: supportive, caring, work environment with people who appreciate you, skiing and playing at the most beautiful resorts
Cons: seasonal nurture of work means no work during mud season (may)!
I have to post, because I really don't understand the negative reviews. I am a 46 year old woman who has been working part-time for vail resorts for the last 5 years in a variety of capacities. Everyplace I have worked within the company has become like family. We all support each other through the BS in the other parts of our lives, and it truly is – more... a safe haven in every way. Further, if your desire is to move up to decent paying jobs within the company, there are plenty of opportunities. If you want to enjoy easy part-time work at some of the most beautiful places on earth, well this is the right place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co workers great management SUCKS
mountain services (Former Employee), beaver creekFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: got to live in mountains, free ski pass
Cons: pretty much everything else employe housing to the job to the one break a day
I hold other seasonal jobs with housing buildings that ar no where near as nice as these but they still manage to mess this upx heroin addicts. Upper management don't understand anything of reality on the mountainand I'm even seeing one of my new bosses change into one. I won't be coming back
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful Place to Work
Customer Service/ Pass sales and lift tickets (Former Employee), Broomfield ColoradoFebruary 17, 2013
Cons: everything
Management sucks all the do is sit at there desks and drink STARBUCKS ALL DAY !!!!!
The phones were so busy customers were rude. Do you think the team leads would help out??? NO.

VR all they do is use you.. with low pay. There always hiring "I wonder Why"?? If it was a great place to work people would not leave...... Please look else where. I left – more... and so did many others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Laborer (Former Employee), Breckenridge, COFebruary 1, 2013
I was on the coaster crew so i would show up drive up the hill after getting the work instruction and complete the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture
Product Sales Agent (Current Employee), Breckenridge, COJanuary 25, 2013
Vail has a great culture and they make plenty of time for you to enjoy yourself. It is always a great experience, if for a season or a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would never work for Vail again.
Houskeeping Admin Assistant (Former Employee), Keystone, ColoradoJanuary 23, 2013
Cons: staff
When I first began working for Vail it seemed like a great company with great goals and as time went on I quickly saw all of the negative things I had heard were true.

Whoever does the hiring does a horrible job. Basically working with my fellow employees is like working at a frat house. All everyone does is party, do drugs, and came here for the ski/snowboard – more... benefits so they don't take their job seriously. Every day people call in "sick", people go home early, and there's no responsibility or accountability. It's almost as if Vail caters to their poor work ethic making it easy for them to be slackers. Management doesn't want to give their employees any responsibility or more than they can "handle" so things that should be part of their job description are ignored and pushed on to the few responsible people at work.

The benefits are great, but because Vail makes it so easy for people to take advantage of their benefits there doesn't seem to be an incentive to earn them or use them responsibly. It's sad that people can't get benefits and do their job, but that's the reality we live in so I believe there should be some sort of earn and gain within the company to ensure people are here to not only play, but work.

One positive is that because I am a hard worker and I am literally the only one in my new staff that has never called in "sick", never shown up late, or never requested a holiday off I did get promoted and with that came a raise. It is definitely nice to be recognized for working hard and earning a deserved promotion.

Another negative is Employee housing. I would never live in Sunrise Employee Housing again.

My boyfriend & I are paying close to 400$ a month to clean up after our suite mates (who share our kitchen & bathroom). They leave food out for days, never wash their dishes, leave crumbs and spills all over the counters, and everything we touch (handles of microwave, fridge, sink knobs, etc) are coated in grease. We've had to use our sink in our personal room to wash our dishes because the big sink in the kitchen is always too full of dirty dishes and food. We've also never used the dishwasher, because they have taken it over as a dirty dish storage area. They also don't flush the toilet and leave it very dirty.. if you know what I mean.

I've made multiple reports, taken photos, talked to three different people in the housing department and every time they pretend they are going to do something and nothing changes. We've called the cops because they party so loud, yell, scream, play music loud at 3am, etc. and all housing has done is offer to change our apartment. So instead of them being punished they wanted to allow them to stay and make a mess of the apartment and let those who are following rules and upkeep move.

The price is way to high to be living in a college dorm room type of situation cleaning up after people and dealing with parties when there is no punishment. The rules clearly state you'll be removed if you don't obey certain guide lines and it's a total joke. I will never live here again and I don't suggest it, especially if you have early work hours and want decent sleep. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SSV (Rental) Division is a horrendous place to work.
Store Manager (Former Employee), BreckenrigeJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: line level employees are great.
Cons: management at the area/regional level and above.
What was SSV and is now the Rental/Retail division at Vail Resorts is a horrible place to work. I cannot stress enough how little they care for their employees. They're unspoken motto is that there will always be hordes of young people migrating to the mountains so why bother building loyalties and developing staff when they can save on payroll by never – more... having to promote anyone or give out merit increases. Stop into any of the rental stores and ask the managers how long they have been in their position, the majority will say it is their first year. Its a shame because in my time there I watched talent get frustrated and walk away. Managers at smaller volume stores (and some larger stores) do not receive lunch breaks. (They will tell you, you are supposed to take a lunch break, they tell you cant leave if you are working without another manager, and but when you have 2 managers per store, you end up working the store solo 2 days a week and therefore cannot leave the building for 9 hours). I used to have to sneak away and beg my employees not to tell just so i could leave the building to use the bathroom. Pay is laughable. I was a store manager making about 24K/year. I was hired as year-round employment and every spring they would dangle that title over all of our heads and make us fear that we didn't have jobs for the summer. Seriously, do not waste your time. They say a perk is working on the mountain, but when you can't leave the building to go enjoy it, thats not a perk, its a tease. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warning:vail resorts does not value hard working employees
Sales associate (Current Employee), BoulderJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: free ski pass, great co-workers, fun industry
Cons: zer job security, terrible pay
This is a top heavy company in which upper management does not connect with those in the trenches at all. There is zero job security in this company. They will let you go with no warning as soon as the holiday rush is over even if you thought you were not hired as seasonal that's how they classify everyone in the retail realm. I met some really great – more... people as co-workers though. The compensation of a ski pass is viewed as a huge way to make up for the terrible pay. Employees are just a row on a payroll sheet, not people with lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work with an incredible environment and highly capable people. Costumer's well being is always the first priority.
Child Counselor (Current Employee), ARDecember 18, 2012
Working at Vail Resorts is really useful. I've learnt a lot about costumer service and relationships with customers. Co-workers are incredible, they are extremely capable of teaching you and helping you with their experience. Besides, they are really out going and friendly. The most enjoyable part of the job is learning and begin able to put into practice – more... what I learn every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful job wish I had started when I was 30 yrs old
Premier guest service driver (Former Employee), Edwards, CONovember 15, 2012
Pros: living n mountains, meeting people from all over the world.
Cons: driving n white outs 5000ft to12000ft stranded out of town rd closed
Loved the job , wonderful guests, could not have off for any holidays ever. Little time to ski or enjoy the mountains. Life is too short to work all the time. Pay was not good considering the hazards of the job tips were excellent. U never knew what to expect from management moody. Company sold after 2 yrs stayed 2 more yrs.Started by 5am done 10 hrs – more... later. Great benefits health dental pay-flex life.Car wash Beautiful place to live most people exercised and were good health. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a fun place with a lot of possibilities to learn new things -how to ski and snowboard was my personal accomplishment.
Cashier (Former Employee), Avon, COOctober 14, 2012
My work day was starting with taking a lift and going to work in a restaurant on top of Rocky Mountains.I was working with very good people from South America and South Africa .Our managment team was amazing . Everyday was incredible ,there was a lot of job that needed to be done but also we've got a time to enjoy the beautiful view out there .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Job unlike others...
Epic Mix Photographer (Former Employee), Breckenridge, COOctober 13, 2012
Pros: ski perks, pro-forms and living in the mountains (living the dream)
Cons: pay, hours, and only two days off.
If you want to ski bum, this is the place to do it. Free pass and great people. Though that's where my three stars come for Culture/Values, its mostly culture. Vail Resorts is all about the culture and not about the values. They say they have great values, but they are not practiced at all. At least maybe it was management who let us stray from the – more... path, they were mainly focused on keeping us working and pushing sales.

Hardest part of the job was being out in cold weather conditions. Even when there were hard gusts of wind all day you'd have to stand out there greeting guests. Though management would be reasonable at times if you took at 5-10 minute break to warm your toes. Basically if the chair lifts were working you were working, and lets be frank, Machines > Man. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful Workplace, Fun resort lifestyle & good Employee housing
Cashier/Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee), Buffalo's resturantOctober 3, 2012
Pros: free season pass, cheap employee housing, free food for some postions
Cons: cold cold cold, young party lifestyle, lots of distractions
So much fun, Easy going Management & lots of time to snowboard while gaining great work skills in a HIGH CLASS environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of The Worst Companies "Ever"!
Lifts (Former Employee), On Vail Mtn.September 12, 2012
Pros: na
Cons: anything involving the company!
Do not waste your time with Vail resorts, below par for the area wages, little to no management skills. VRI doesn't want your services after one year, they expect you to be disgruntled and leave.

Towmahs – January 7, 2013

VRI management fosters a high turnover rate; they expect the worst from employees, as if everyone is a lazy, dishonest dope fiend. And oddly enough, that's often what they get, because they hire with the attitude that each person is expendable, so why bother? It's a self-fulfilling prophecy. Upper management is totally disconnected from reality. I have seen truly hard-working, conscientious people go unrewarded and unnoticed, while those willing to play the corporate game---often at the expense of the customers--- are rewarded and promoted. It's truly a disgusting and demoralizing culture.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
True understanding of a legitimate job and responsibilty that I alone am responsible for,experiencing the monotony and regiment needed for any job
Breckenridge Ski&Ride School (Former Employee), Breckenridge, COAugust 20, 2012
Pros: meeting great kids, having fun with them, meeting families, helping others
Cons: only one break per day, rejection of a mentally challenged boy in my three year old group due to my bosses policy, not enough compassion or comradry within co-workers&bosses, no lunch break
-wonderful children
-satisfaction of growing as as an adult
-able to withstand more pressure;increasing drive/faith in myself
-focusing only on solely what I can do in general for this job
-throwing caution to the wind by moving to an entirely foreign place;both on the outside as well as a foreign state of mind/emotion
-builded confidence
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun comany
Call Center Agent, Front Desk, Guest Services (Former Employee), Keystone, COAugust 6, 2012
Pros: free ski pass
Cons: upper management
Typical day at work is very involving and very diverse, fun place to work but also hectic, worked with some really great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Photographer (Former Employee), Vail, COJuly 25, 2012
Pros: great work environment, great co-workers
Cons: very low pay, little communication with management
Worked as an Epic Mix photographer. Got to meet excellent people, both guests and fellow co-workers, from all over the world. Supervisors were superb. Upper management, not so much. There is room for upward movement but with the very low pay and the tough tough hours it's hard to return. Vail Resorts may be tough to work for but is probably the best – more... in the industry at hiring good, quality people on the ground level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job yet!
Chef (Former Employee), Minturn, COJuly 18, 2012
Some of the best years of my life. Close knit group, great environment, beautiful area!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only for those that can endure extreme cold.
Lift Operator (Former Employee), Breckenridge, ColoradoJuly 5, 2012
Pros: didnt have to clock out for lunch
Cons: took all the incentives away
Great environment and lots of fun. Management is good on a smaller scale but once corporate gets involved its a disaster....with anything. I enjoyed working here and would like to return there sometime in the next 5 years.

About Vail Resorts

Vail Resorts hopes the ski vacation business is all uphill. One of┬áNorth America's┬áleading ski resort operators, Vail Resorts – Read more

Vail Resorts Photos