Find companies:
Vail Resorts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
82 reviews

Vail Resorts Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warning:vail resorts does not value hard working employees
Sales associate (Current Employee), BoulderJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: free ski pass, great co-workers, fun industry
Cons: zer job security, terrible pay
This is a top heavy company in which upper management does not connect with those in the trenches at all. There is zero job security in this company. They will let you go with no warning as soon as the holiday rush is over even if you thought you were not hired as seasonal that's how they classify everyone in the retail realm. I met some really great – more... people as co-workers though. The compensation of a ski pass is viewed as a huge way to make up for the terrible pay. Employees are just a row on a payroll sheet, not people with lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work with an incredible environment and highly capable people. Costumer's well being is always the first priority.
Child Counselor (Current Employee), ARDecember 18, 2012
Working at Vail Resorts is really useful. I've learnt a lot about costumer service and relationships with customers. Co-workers are incredible, they are extremely capable of teaching you and helping you with their experience. Besides, they are really out going and friendly. The most enjoyable part of the job is learning and begin able to put into practice – more... what I learn every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful job wish I had started when I was 30 yrs old
Premier guest service driver (Former Employee), Edwards, CONovember 15, 2012
Pros: living n mountains, meeting people from all over the world.
Cons: driving n white outs 5000ft to12000ft stranded out of town rd closed
Loved the job , wonderful guests, could not have off for any holidays ever. Little time to ski or enjoy the mountains. Life is too short to work all the time. Pay was not good considering the hazards of the job tips were excellent. U never knew what to expect from management moody. Company sold after 2 yrs stayed 2 more yrs.Started by 5am done 10 hrs – more... later. Great benefits health dental pay-flex life.Car wash Beautiful place to live most people exercised and were good health. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a fun place with a lot of possibilities to learn new things -how to ski and snowboard was my personal accomplishment.
Cashier (Former Employee), Avon, COOctober 14, 2012
My work day was starting with taking a lift and going to work in a restaurant on top of Rocky Mountains.I was working with very good people from South America and South Africa .Our managment team was amazing . Everyday was incredible ,there was a lot of job that needed to be done but also we've got a time to enjoy the beautiful view out there .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Job unlike others...
Epic Mix Photographer (Former Employee), Breckenridge, COOctober 13, 2012
Pros: ski perks, pro-forms and living in the mountains (living the dream)
Cons: pay, hours, and only two days off.
If you want to ski bum, this is the place to do it. Free pass and great people. Though that's where my three stars come for Culture/Values, its mostly culture. Vail Resorts is all about the culture and not about the values. They say they have great values, but they are not practiced at all. At least maybe it was management who let us stray from the – more... path, they were mainly focused on keeping us working and pushing sales.

Hardest part of the job was being out in cold weather conditions. Even when there were hard gusts of wind all day you'd have to stand out there greeting guests. Though management would be reasonable at times if you took at 5-10 minute break to warm your toes. Basically if the chair lifts were working you were working, and lets be frank, Machines > Man. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful Workplace, Fun resort lifestyle & good Employee housing
Cashier/Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee), Buffalo's resturantOctober 3, 2012
Pros: free season pass, cheap employee housing, free food for some postions
Cons: cold cold cold, young party lifestyle, lots of distractions
So much fun, Easy going Management & lots of time to snowboard while gaining great work skills in a HIGH CLASS environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of The Worst Companies "Ever"!
Lifts (Former Employee), On Vail Mtn.September 12, 2012
Pros: na
Cons: anything involving the company!
Do not waste your time with Vail resorts, below par for the area wages, little to no management skills. VRI doesn't want your services after one year, they expect you to be disgruntled and leave.

Towmahs – January 7, 2013

VRI management fosters a high turnover rate; they expect the worst from employees, as if everyone is a lazy, dishonest dope fiend. And oddly enough, that's often what they get, because they hire with the attitude that each person is expendable, so why bother? It's a self-fulfilling prophecy. Upper management is totally disconnected from reality. I have seen truly hard-working, conscientious people go unrewarded and unnoticed, while those willing to play the corporate game---often at the expense of the customers--- are rewarded and promoted. It's truly a disgusting and demoralizing culture.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
True understanding of a legitimate job and responsibilty that I alone am responsible for,experiencing the monotony and regiment needed for any job
Breckenridge Ski&Ride School (Former Employee), Breckenridge, COAugust 20, 2012
Pros: meeting great kids, having fun with them, meeting families, helping others
Cons: only one break per day, rejection of a mentally challenged boy in my three year old group due to my bosses policy, not enough compassion or comradry within co-workers&bosses, no lunch break
-wonderful children
-satisfaction of growing as as an adult
-able to withstand more pressure;increasing drive/faith in myself
-focusing only on solely what I can do in general for this job
-throwing caution to the wind by moving to an entirely foreign place;both on the outside as well as a foreign state of mind/emotion
-builded confidence
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun comany
Call Center Agent, Front Desk, Guest Services (Former Employee), Keystone, COAugust 6, 2012
Pros: free ski pass
Cons: upper management
Typical day at work is very involving and very diverse, fun place to work but also hectic, worked with some really great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Photographer (Former Employee), Vail, COJuly 25, 2012
Pros: great work environment, great co-workers
Cons: very low pay, little communication with management
Worked as an Epic Mix photographer. Got to meet excellent people, both guests and fellow co-workers, from all over the world. Supervisors were superb. Upper management, not so much. There is room for upward movement but with the very low pay and the tough tough hours it's hard to return. Vail Resorts may be tough to work for but is probably the best – more... in the industry at hiring good, quality people on the ground level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job yet!
Chef (Former Employee), Minturn, COJuly 18, 2012
Some of the best years of my life. Close knit group, great environment, beautiful area!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only for those that can endure extreme cold.
Lift Operator (Former Employee), Breckenridge, ColoradoJuly 5, 2012
Pros: didnt have to clock out for lunch
Cons: took all the incentives away
Great environment and lots of fun. Management is good on a smaller scale but once corporate gets involved its a disaster....with anything. I enjoyed working here and would like to return there sometime in the next 5 years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Vail Resorts was the experience of a lifetime.
Auditor (Former Employee), Vail, COJune 11, 2012
Pros: skiing at lunch, employee parties every month, meeting people from all over the world
Cons: compensation.
My time working for Vail Resorts was something that I will never forget. Each day was a new experience and the people there were amazing. Almost ten years later I still have friends all over the country. The compensation at Vail Resorts may not be over whelming but they make up for it in the way they treat their employees and the added perks that come – more... along with working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and meet some really different people. Amazing view while working.
Snowcat Operator (Former Employee), Vail, COMay 10, 2012
Pros: free ski pass
Cons: low pay, dangerous conditions, seasonal
Pay is just not enough for some of the management, guests and weather that you have to deal with.

CarlN – November 13, 2012

Do Vail Resorts employees get a season pass or only a certain number of days free? Also, do employees have to pay to rent ski equipment or is that free too?

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting workplace with excellent benefits!
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Broomfield, COApril 26, 2012
Pros: benefits, relaxed and fun work enviroment, paid management and loss prevention training, and great staff!
Cons: working on all holidays and weekends, low wages, and lack of fulltime year round job opportunities.
Vail resorts provides excellent career opportunities as well as exceptional personal and professional growth. Vail resorts offers excellent benefits as well as training to help employees grow both personally and professionally. Vail Resorts sets the standard in the snow sports industry as well as providing five star service for a top notch guest experience.
A – more... typical day at work is fun an exciting. I meet new people everyday and provide them with world class guest service. I have learned a great deal of retail management experience, customer service skills, budgeting, cash management skills, and how to provide the best customer service for a great customer experience. The hardest part of the job is dealing with an unhappy customer, but almost every unhappy customer leaves my store happy and wanting to come back again. The most enjoyable part of the job I would have to say is the benefits; to be able to ski and snowboard on some of the best terrain in North America for free is one of the best benefits an employee could ask for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible pay and benefits
Marketing Research Surveyor (Former Employee), Keystone, COMarch 19, 2012
Pros: ski pass, able to ski and be outside
Cons: management, pay, able to get fired for nothing
Too little pay to even afford insurance or live the summit county lifestyle ...and when I asked to go part time in a $9/hour position to be able to find a full time job with higher pay, I was told "no."
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something different to do daily.
Emergency Services Officer (Current Employee), Keystone, COMarch 14, 2012
Pros: beautiful environment, great co-workers
Cons: no job security
Keystone is a great place to work. My job is always entertaining and ever changing. I always have something different to do daily and the guests are always fun to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work, Great employees
Shipping Inspector (Former Employee), Keystone Conference CenterNovember 15, 2011
Pros: your in ski country, what else could you ask for
Cons: pay was on the super low side
I loved my time at Vail Resorts. The pay was awesome, but the perks were!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Expediter (Former Employee), Keystone, COMarch 17, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: high living expenses
I went over to the US on a J1 visa to work at keystone ski resort for 4 months. It was a great experience to work in such a wonderful place. I was treated well and had a lot of fun while over there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work with a free ride down the mountain after work
Cook and Server (Former Employee), vail, colorado, USASeptember 28, 2012
Pros: free lunches
Everyday was unique as I got to meet new people on their ski adventures.
I learnt how a mountain ski resort and serving of food up a mountain works.
Co-workers were from all over the world and enjoyable to work with.
The most enjoyable part of the job was constantly meeting new people.

About Vail Resorts

Vail Resorts hopes the ski vacation business is all uphill. One of┬áNorth America's┬áleading ski resort operators, Vail Resorts – Read more