Find companies:
Valassis
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
90 reviews

Valassis Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for the company who gave pay Holiday or off
warehouse (Former Employee), Elkton, MDNovember 13, 2014
Pros: 30 min lunch
Cons: breaks always been for me 30 min lunch and two 15 min breaks that's good for me
working at any job is fun all i have to do come to work on time ,that what they expect .i have learned so much ,how to speak to one another ,respectful at work,do the job right, and every one can see what you do management will love you, what you done for them and they tell you great job, it feels good, the hardest thing in the job is working night – more... for a long time cant do it anymore.i enjoy working when their is work time flays, no one get in the way when your working – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Group Director of Marketing Intelligence (Former Employee), Burlington, MANovember 4, 2014
Company with some good SAS talents.
Co-workers and management.
No comments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job to help you save up your money
strapper (Former Employee), Deer Park, TXOctober 27, 2014
Pros: free snacks, three days off
Cons: short lunch breaks, long work hours
Working at valassis was a stressful job, it was a very easy job but with the machine messing up every other made the job stressful and the days much longer. The other workers around me were very nice and helpful when needing help or with anything. Hardest part about this job was keeping up with the machine when it was moving really fast other then that – more... the job was very easy to do and anyone could learn. Working here thought me how to be a hard worker and how to be a good team member helping others out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A positive energy focused on meeting clients needs.
Order Management Representative (Current Employee), Windsor, CTOctober 16, 2014
Pros: good benefits, flexible work hours, great people
Cons: diminishing job security, layoffs
Valassis, Inc. is a direct-mail advertising company. We have thousands of clients, some of the largest being Walmart, Arby's, etc. A day here consists of receiving orders, client requests, etc...and then entering these orders, providing graphic art for these orders, and processing these orders in a timely fashion so that they can go to print. I've learned – more... a great deal about business, communication, and the importance of organization and time management. I enjoy working with not only my direct co-workers, but CS representatives out in the field as well. My time at Valassis has been a positive one, but I have branched out and taken on more responsibility and am looking to find a place where there is more room for growth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and atmosphere
National Sales Executive (Current Employee), Livonia, MIOctober 8, 2014
Pros: corporate sponsored programs and events
Cons: too many requirements for sales people to be in the office every day, valassis being bought by harland clarke in 2014
Overall a great place to work. I enjoy the casual atmoshphere that encourages us to express creativity and allows us to maximize job performance. There have been tremendous changes since Valassis was bought by Harland Clarke Holdings Co.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Impressive history, future in doubt
Sales Executive (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 8, 2014
Valassis was a great place to work, terrific training, people and culture prior to Advo acquisition in 2008. Continues to struggle with transition to digital media -- bottom line issues and diminished corporate culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ability to Work from Home
Deskside Support Supervisor (Current Employee), Livonia, MISeptember 30, 2014
Most enjoyable part of the job is the ability to work from home and flexibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, takes pride in work / life balance
Sr. Client Financial Services Coordinator (Current Employee), Windsor, CTSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: work life balance, freedom to own my work
Cons: compensation, advancement
A typical day at work entails balancing many facets of financial responsibilities. This includes Accounts receivable, account reconciliation, collections, invoice correction, credit issues, account management and facilitating a wide varieties of issues to name a few. I mainly work directly with clients, sales or internal contacts. Working with Valassis – more... I have added to my existent knowledge of financial responsibilities I possess from my experience with Total Logistic Services as well as my educational experience. The management style at my place of employment allows me to own the tasks assigned to me and stand behind my decision making. My co-workers are a great bunch of people who are willing to assist, as I am to them. We are a cohesive unit. The hardest part of my job would have to be dealing with client issues directly. Always balancing client relationships while keeping the best interests of the organization in mind. Sometimes clients can become irate, but you have to work them to devise a mutual resolution. The most enjoyable part of my day is analyzing numbers. I enjoy digging into accounts, reconciling them, figuring out any financial errors and fixing them. I look at analysis like a puzzle, I enjoy piecing the information together to come to an outcome. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PASeptember 24, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: part time hours
A typical day was pretty easy , I honestly didn't learn much . Management was nice , and I still currently keep in contact with some of my co- workers. The hardest part of the job was the random hours, and I would have to say the most enjoyable part was the work itself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant
Admistrative Assistant (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: my co-workers
Cons: being laid off
A typical day was providing administrative support for the office.
I learned about customer service. Worked with clients on a daily basis.
My first manager was awesome. I was with him for 12 years. He taught me about sales. I only knew the new manager a short time.
My co-workers were awesome. They always let me know that they appreciated me and my work.
The – more... hardest part of the job was being laid off.
The most enjoyable was assisting the reps and Director. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance
Talent Acquisition Specialist (Current Employee), Livonia, MISeptember 18, 2014
Pros: work from home
Cons: limited growth
Great team to work with. Flexible job
lack of career advancement in some areas
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Human Resources / Payroll
Human Resources / Payroll (Former Employee), Durham, NCJuly 25, 2014
Pros: na
Cons: na
Worked on ADP Payroll System
Worked on Spreadsheets
Complied payroll data, entered and computed and posted wages.
Reconciled errors to maintain payroll records, using computer and calculator
Posted payroll data to records
Assisted with holiday, vacation, and sick time for employees
Worked with attendance report
Worked on Safety Committee Board
Help – more... prepare for meeting and lunching – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gym facility, Free snacks and sometimes lunches
Sr QA Engineer (Current Employee), Santa Clara, CAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: snacks, beverages, free lunches (sandwiches) once a week
- Meetings, discussion about client issues, status meetings, JIRA defects review and discussion

- Independently created Selenium test framework, able to create build using Jenkins, started running Selenium test cases in Webdriver,

- Work atmosphere is good. Worked one-on-one with developers as well as Product Manager to understand enhancements.

- – more... Hardest part is, incomplete documents. I tell developer to update wiki to understand functionality

- Co-workers are co-operative and genius. Help each other to understand applications and show demos related to products.

- Most enjoyable part is UAT with clients. Or sometime work with Client to understand their issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great worklife balance
Human Resources (Current Employee), Livonia, MIJuly 14, 2014
Pros: great culture
Cons: recently bought by another company
Valassis takes pride in being listed as one of the best places to work and they work hard to ensure their employees feel the same.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Great Place to Work
Client Program Coordinator (Former Employee), Auburn, WAJuly 13, 2014
Pros: work/life balance, benefits and co-workers
Cons: no room for advancement in my location
Managed assigned account base in direct mail segment of the business. Learned how to prioritize in fast paced environment and broadened excel skills. My immediate CS team was great...we all worked well together and supported each other. Overall great management and they cared about the team and our workload. Hardest part of the job was lack of advancement – more... opportunities to grow and innovate within current role. The most enjoyable part of the job was working directly with the clients and building relationships. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assembler (Former Employee), Livonia, MIJuly 10, 2014
Pros: good breaks and good pay
Cons: no job security
A typical day at work would require me to stand for 12hr shifts(6 15min breaks). I learned how to laser cut, ship, pack, and operate a forklift. Management was great it was times you couldn't tell the difference from management and a regular employee. My co-workers was very helpful and energizer, they were also great teachers. The hardest part about – more... the job was the short breaks. And the most enjoyable part of the different machines I operated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional and fun work place
Field Franchise Account Executive (Former Employee), Livonia, MIJune 23, 2014
*Very professional and fun work place
* Great work life balance
*Co-workers are great people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Client Program Coordinator (Current Employee), Auburn, WAJune 23, 2014
Pros: great employees
Cons: company restructure
Good work life balance, benefit package. Company is going through alot changes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valassis
Client Program Coordinator (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 21, 2014
Valassis is a good company to work with the wrong people placed in management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic and exciting place to work - frequently in top 100
Senior Treasury Analyst (Current Employee), Livonia, MIJune 17, 2014
Fast paced and creative environment. Team spirit encouraged.

1 2 3 4 5

About Valassis

Valassis Communications, Inc. (Valassis) is a media and marketing services company, offering reach and scale to more than 15,000 – Read more