Valencia College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow Paced
Laboratory Aide (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 16, 2017
It's a really relaxed job. The managers and people there are very friendly and lenient. It is a great way to keep up to date with skills learnt at school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct professor/Adult students
Business and Law Professor (Former Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLOctober 15, 2017
Taught courses in Business and hospitality law.
Developed content for online courses
Prepared and delivered lectures,graded papers and exams
Conducted assessments and provided progress reports
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
P/T position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No chance for advancement
Adjunct Professor of Humanities (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 13, 2017
Adjuncts will never get hired. Management didnt care. All opportunities were given to people outside the company, who had less experience than adjuncts who had been there for years.
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Light Camera Action
Director of Media Relations (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLSeptember 14, 2017
As part of the Film Production certificate program I was assigned Director of Media Relations for the annual film festival. This was not a paid position. This was the first year under a new program director so things were not as organized as they could have been but in the end the class and staff made a great festival happen.
Pros
Meeting film professionals
Cons
Managing deadlines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Specialist (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 21, 2017
It is a pleasure to help others grow and be successful . Valencia helps students and their staff be successful and achieve balance with school and work.
Pros
Culture
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beneficial to students
Financial Learning Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 18, 2017
This job would be a great start for Valencia students. Since it is a work-study help, they set your schedule up around the students' classes hours. Also, there are advancement opportunities in that working force.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Plant Operations (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 6, 2017
All the Deans and Upper management can care less about you. There are a lot of disrespectful people. They walk bye as if you are a nobody. Haven't received a raise in 8 years
Pros
Great Benifits
Cons
Humon Resource is a joke
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and diverse
Math Depot Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLAugust 1, 2017
You're never doing the same thing over and over again. You carry out new tasks and help with events that require your assistance if needed.

My manager was great and down to earth, I loved working with her.

There was no hard part to the job because everything was pretty straight forward and you have a team there to help you shall you ever need back up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice building and Tech.
Associate Professor, Criminal Justice (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 1, 2017
Nice building and Tech. The faculty is very nice and professional. I can not approve or not approved this place. It is up to you to decide whether or not it works for you or not.
Pros
Nice place
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very large community college environment in metro Orlando
ONE NJCAA Division I REGIONAL RUNNER-UP (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 28, 2017
Valencia College is a nice place to work in Central Florida. I worked in Athletics there, and they dropped all of their athletic programs a year after I left, which was disappointing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Employer
Staff Assistant II (Current Employee) –  East CampusJuly 27, 2017
Great Place, Great People. The students are wonderful. Best work place to balance a career and family. Opportunity to improve your self educationally.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful environment
East Campus Technology Service Phone Specialist (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 22, 2017
Company allows you to grow within it. I went from being a work study making minimum wage to making a little extra and i was able to connect to other workers and it allowed me to gain the experience i needed to move up
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valencia is ok.
Admin (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 10, 2017
Almost everyone is very friendly and I've never had any issues with coworkers. You will find the random hard to work with people, but I don't come across many of those. There are many dedicated faculty at Valencia and their work with the students is exceptional. They harp on all the benefits offered, but some of them are unknown until the policy is changing...usually not in a way that is more beneficial. It seems that little by little the "benefits" they always bring up are being stripped away. We've had a lot of budget cuts unfortunately and that doesn't help, but the new VP of finance seems to be changing policies to match the policies of his old job. Finance is apparently now in charge of raises instead of HR. Pay raises are now considered on a first come first serve basis kind of. How I understand the change is that if one person gets a reclassification (promotion) this week, and someone else gets a promotion next week...depending on your salary and other things...you have to wait in line until the finance department sees when they can approve your raise out of the pot of money for raises. It is no longer...you get a promotion and you get your raise. Also, certain requirements can be overlooked for certain positions, but not for others. That policy seems quite unfair.
Pros
Free healthcare, generous time off
Cons
No merit pay. High turnover in some areas equals distributed workload. Budget cuts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valencia is a very processional environment to work, they have great benefits for their employees and also lots of opportunities for growth.
Library Assistant (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 6, 2017
Valencia is a very processional environment to work, they have great benefits for their employees and also lots of opportunities for growth. I have had the opportunity to work with a large diverse culture while at Valencia. The most rewarding part of the job is knowing that I am instrumental in helping students to prosper. The hardest part of the job is remembering the names of the people that I form relationships with because they are many.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Student (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 23, 2017
Valencia community college is a nice college to go to. I don't work there but i study there. It's really a nice college with nice teacher willing to help
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Architectural Critique Jury (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 22, 2017
Providing constructive feedback to Architectural Design students on design concepts and project development.
-it was very rewarding to help other students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work experience and great leadership.
Wellness Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLJune 21, 2017
Great training and freedom to create events for the students. I had the opportunity to meet the president of the college and the campus and I learned a lot from them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laboratory Assistant
Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 14, 2017
Very easy place to work, most days were spent assisting students with homework and or providing tutoring to students who need additional assistance.

The hardest part about being a lab assistant is finding a balance between academics (if you're still attending class) and helping in the lab.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Welcoming Environment
Laboratory Assistant II (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 10, 2017
Depending on which campus you apply at the work environment is relatively stress free and welcoming. Friendly and team oriented work style is among the lab staff at Valencia. Part time workers do not get paid time off or health benefits. However if you do need time off they are more than accommodating to your needs (ex family emergency). Would recommend this place to anyone who would like a friendly and family working environment.
Pros
Easily take time off, Decent part time pay
Cons
No benefits, no overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valencia Excellence
Office Systems Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 8, 2017
Valencia is a fantastic place to go to school and to work. Very committed to diversity with students, faculty, and staff. People are kind and engaging.
Pros
Great hours, great benefits
Cons
Some jobs are very high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Valencia College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 125 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.1
Culture
4.5

Valencia College Reviews by Location