VALERUS Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the challenges with this company many different product lines and many opportunities to advance
Regional Operations Manager/Shop Manager (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TXFebruary 20, 2017
I loved this job it took a few years however I would have put my team against any in the industry. They accepted all challenges and surpassed all in Quality, cost to build and safety
In the beginning my day would start with overhauling waukesha's, cat's, gemini's, Ariels and white superiors. Then building complete compressor packages with these rebuilt components
Then we started building all packages with all new engines and compressors
We then started implementing the LEAN process
Lastly we built stabilizers, fuel measurement skids, scavengers, reboilers, Engine driven coolers and more
The team loved to see if they could build any package faster and better than anyone else
We also build offshore packages and cold weather packages
Pros
Challenging and rewarding
Cons
Not much family time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many Chiefs not enough Indians.
Project Designer (Former Employee) –  Sweeny, TXOctober 25, 2016
Unorganized teams, with heavy workload placed on drafting team. Constant change in "standard" product, with miscommunication. Expected to work long hours or take work home with you.
Pros
flexible in and out hours
Cons
no communication, constant change
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKAugust 21, 2016
Great place to work great pay, benefits, great people and great! boss & management fun relaxed place to work the other employees are great to work with like a family.
Pros
fun relaxed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed line of Work
International I&E / Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 19, 2016
Loved traveling and being in the field. Physically demanding very rewarding. Alot of responsibility working on heavy industrial equipment for natural gas compression. Engine and compressor overhauls.
Pros
All around great job
Cons
Oil and Gas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work long hour and hot work
Hydraulic Technician (Former Employee) –  Longview, TXNovember 16, 2015
work long and was very hot place to work at but every one got along just fine and work together like a machine would get your done on time and every one be happy
Pros
free lunch
Cons
breaks ok
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Compressor Technician (Former Employee) –  Smithfield, PANovember 11, 2015
worked for valerus in the beginning of 2013 before it sold the north half to Axip energy. I loved the bosses and really enjoyed my job, made an hour drive one way worth it every day. Thanks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work they took care of their people. The reason i left was family matters.
Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Majorsville, WVOctober 6, 2015
Good work environment good people. They spent time in teaching their employees to be better at their jobs. I done gas plant operations and production equipment work. Worked a lot and made good money ,probably 1 of the best jobs I ever had.
Pros
Good work place, good benefits
Cons
freezing cold weather in the winter, no place is perfect but they were good to me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run by idiots
Regional Materials Manager (Former Employee) –  Bay City, TXMay 31, 2015
Worked for Valerus for 4 years in a leadership role. Watched them screw many people over those years. The investment group that bought them hired guys like me under the guise that we would go public and receive stock options when in actuality the goal was to sell al along
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too political....
ACCOUNT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  New Iberia, LAApril 18, 2015
The work environment was unpleasant. Very jealous upper management would take out personal issues on employees just because they didn't like that person. I witnessed that behavior first hand..... I didn't realize that professional adults could be so childish.
Pros
Local employees were great
Cons
Corporate level was too political....
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work atmosphere for the most part
District Manager (Former Employee) –  El Reno, OKMarch 31, 2015
There are many challenging projects daily with some wins and some set backs. The setbacks were a tool used to become better. Not all management was on board, most driven by personel gain. The team was as good as could be asked for, respecting each other and recognizing each others strengths. Staying honest for the building of a great work atmosphere was sometimes a challenge, but the success always over shadowed the failures which became a learning tool for a future time.
Pros
Good vision
Cons
Poor follow through on the vision
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company. great place to work
lead compressor mechanic (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TXJanuary 15, 2015
good company. pay was very good. let you work all the hours you wanted.
Pros
very good pay
Cons
no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no advancement
General Laborer III (Current Employee) –  Sweeny, TXDecember 30, 2014
Co workers are great! No advancement unless your related to higher employee. The pay is not very good
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounts Payables
Accounts Payables - (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 6, 2014
I enjoyed my career at Valerus. I expanded my accounting knowledge and had great co-workers
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Changes in management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good cohesiveness between work groups, good compensation/benefits
Master Trainer (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXAugust 19, 2014
AXIP (previously Valerus) management provide me with the tools I needed to succeed at my job. I was given a job to do, the tools to do it with, and support as needed. Time not spent actually teaching class was spent developing new or upgrading existing training materials. Co-workers were always pleasant to work with and worked together as a team.

The best part of the job was being able to see the changes in some of the students as they were able to understand their jobs better.
Pros
Proper equipment provided for research and presentations
Cons
Access to training facility locations could have been much better
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job and benefits
Compressor Operator/Compressor Tech (Current Employee) –  washington PaAugust 18, 2014
A great company to work for. Excellent benefits and compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New and clean shop work area good people
Natural Gas/ Compressor Technician (Current Employee) –  New Iberia, LAAugust 5, 2014
Work out of co truck travel alot to different oil fill location taking care of natural gas compressors call out preventive mantience make contact with customer
Pros
Company truck
Cons
Drive alot
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I was ever employeed at
Welder (Former Employee) –  New Iberia, LAApril 4, 2014
Management made you work around 80 hours a week. Couldn't use the bathroom unless you had a can of Lysol. One time had to work 24 hours straight. When it rains warehouse yard floods. Trash is not removed. Very unappreciated. Production Manager was very rude and heartless.
Cons
Breakroom is dirty
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assembly/Prefab (Current Employee) –  Sweeny, TXMarch 16, 2014
On a normal day, I keep up with prefabing engines and compressors so they'll be ready before start date. I bend pipe for all the units.

When my supervisor is not there, I help keep up with paper work and make sure everything that is needed to be done that day is done.

I learned to use the hub machine to heat, and install hubs onto compressors. I learned to use the pipe bending machine to bend pipes
Pros
healthcare
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Amine Plant Operator (Current Employee) –  U. S. A.February 19, 2014
I like to work with others on the job. This how I have been able to learn time management skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Manager (Current Employee) –  Victoria, TXFebruary 10, 2014
Great benefits. Great people,,,Company has a lot of potential due to rapid growth
Pros
Great Benifits
Cons
Comapany lacks organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at VALERUS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 30 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3