Find companies:
Valet Park of America
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
14 reviews

Valet Park of America Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced work
Shuttle Driver / Shuttle Manager (Former Employee), Albany, NYJanuary 30, 2014
A job where you can earn a lot of money and to know people, and move up if you do your job properly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunities @ VPA - You Get Out What You Put In
Human Resource Manager (Current Employee), Albany, NYNovember 30, 2013
Pros: flexibility, $ and tips, growth opportunities, company parties and trips
Cons: working outside is not for everyone
I started with this company as a part-time valet as a freshman in college. I now oversee over 100 employees as an HR Manager. Being with this company for 6 years has helped me tremendously in my career, and I am absolutely dedicated to grow with this company. Valets/shuttle drivers/front line staff enjoy flexible scheduling, awesome opportunities to – more... work at locations such as Nantucket, VT Ski Resorts and vacation destinations. You will build your customer service/interpersonal skills as you may interact with customers from ALL WALKS of life (celebrities, sports professionals to people down on their luck). The company has in house leadership training that allows selected candidates to take on more responsibility and be promoted. Many high level executives started out on the front-line level. If you are looking for an exciting new career in the customer service field, give VPA a shot. It is a great time to grow with VPA! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Make other people's days easier in a high stress location
Customer Service, lot attendant (Former Employee), Springfield, MASeptember 19, 2013
Pros: reliable and steady
Cons: harsh scheduel at times, little to no training or assistance when needed
Management did a good job though i barely saw them. Worked alone with little to no assistance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to advance
valet captain (Current Employee), Worcester, MAJuly 26, 2013
Been working here for a while and it's been a great experience. The company seems to keep growing so if you put in hard work and show initiative you have some great opportunities to move up. It's great exercise and the benefits and compensation seem to be head and shoulders over other valet companies I've researched. I've learned a lot with different – more... leadership/training courses that they offer.
Manager's are pretty cool if you do your do job and don't slack off. If you do slack off they will let you know about it. I've always tried to do what was asked and I feel appreciated.
I guess the only cons I can think of would be the fact that we're outside when it's raining or really cold but I've gotten used to it. Also, sometimes you work some really long days. I guess that's better than only working some short days though. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse place to work for!!
valet captian (Former Employee), hartford hospitalApril 12, 2013
Pros: they have hours because no one wants to work for them
Cons: everything!
This company is VERY unprofessional. You are expected to drive unsafe vehicles and go above and beyond for 8$ an hour. You are expected to be at work no matter what the weather is! when saying this i mean; when the governor shuts down the state you are still at work and written up if you call out! the last huge snow storm we had a few night crew employees – more... sleep in their cars on the side of the high ways because they could not get home!!! VPA did nothing to help! One of the guys car ended up getting towed and it took him a week to find where it was! and VPA did not care or help at all! you are provided with a thin fleece and a wind breaker as a uniform for whatever the weather is. No rain coats. Management is very unorganized, has favorites, and gives you the run around when you have an issue. Oh and lets not forget you better keep track of you hours and check each and every paycheck because they LOVE to short people and play them with their hours! And im not talking about 1 or 2 hrs, im talking about 200$$$$ worth of hours! This place is worse then high school when it comes to rumors and people talking about each other; management is even involved and most of it starts with them! the ONLY thing this company is good for is having hours! we also pool your tips so if you work your butt off and make 60$ your lucky to go home with 20$ for that day.Only enjoyable part of this job was meeting wonderful people and kids that came and used our service each day. DO NOT WORK FOR THEM!!!!! – less

Theodore185 – July 26, 2013

I think we make it clear in all of our ads, postings, etc, that this is a customer service job, which we perform in all types of weather. Surely every car we park is not a fancy car, but I can assure you that no matter what type of car they drive, our customers appreciate the service we provide. We do work in all types of weather. This is clearly stated in all job descriptions. The storm that the commenter is referring to caught many people off guard, including snow removal crews, and was unprecedented in CT. We had other employees who stayed over at the work site, and others were put up in hotels. The employees who chose to drive home made that decision on their own, and we did our best to help them with the situation. We do in fact provide waterproof rain coats for our staff. Regarding payroll errors - we process payroll for around 600 staff members on a bi-weekly basis. Our payroll team usually has around 10 errors out of those 600 checks. Most are due to the employee failing to punch in, or using the wrong department code, etc. Any time an issue is discovered, our team does their best to get it fixed right away. We do understand that if you have a mistake on your check it can be very frustrating, which is why we aim to act so fast and get it corrected. Our apologies if this happened to you. As your last line states, "the enjoyable part of this job was meeting wonderful people and kids that came and used our service each day" - this is what makes this job rewarding. I encourage you to take a moment to look at our facebook page and see some of the fantastic stories and letters we receive about our staff. We truly try to keep our employees happy, and would like to discuss this further if you would contact us at the main office.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for college students and more
Shift Supervisor, Driver (Former Employee), Eastern MA/ Western MA/March 7, 2013
Pros: great hours, good exercise, upper management.
Cons: slow nights can be boring, they work in any weather. i have had some miserable nights.
I worked this job during my college years and I couldn't have had a better job. Flexible work schedule allows you to work whenever you can. The money can be really good if you work hard. Staying at accounts and not leaving early. On slow nights and days you get comp pay, so you are making money. If you are a good worker advancement was easy. Was promoted – more... to a manager in less than a year. Upper-Management is completely understanding of family issues that may come up as long as one doesn't abuse this power. Plenty of opportunities to travel around the New England area to make better money at some of the summer accounts. I had so much fun working here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for with good pay and flexible scheduling
Valet Attendant (Current Employee), Albany, NYFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: weekly bonus, flexible scheduling, numerous account locations
Cons: short breaks, outside in all weather conditions
Employees gain valuable customer relation skills. The scheduling is flexible making it a great job for students. Fun atmosphere with great co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shorted on paychecks
Valet (Current Employee), NorwalkFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: easy. tips on busy days are ok
Cons: management doesn't do their job
Been working here for one month and it is becoming more and more of a pain to deal with this company. The biggest problem is that upper management hasn't done ANYTHING to help out with issues, most importantly the fact that i and a few other employees (one who just left because of this) have been/are being shorted on our paychecks. The job itself isn't – more... bad but the constant inconsiderate treatment of myself and fellow employees isn't motivating in any way. – less

Theodore185 – July 26, 2013

I am sure these issues have already been corrected. If not, please contact our payroll department right away and we can get it straightened out for you. I also apologize for the delay in responding, as we were not aware these reviews were here. Regarding payroll errors - we process payroll for around 600 staff members on a bi-weekly basis. Our payroll team usually has around 10 errors out of those 600 checks. Most are due to the employee failing to punch in, or using the wrong department code, etc. Any time an issue is discovered, our team does their best to get it fixed right away. We do understand that if you have a mistake on your check it can be very frustrating, which is why we aim to act so fast and get it corrected. Our apologies if this happened to you. We truly try to keep our employees happy, and would like to discuss this further if you would contact us at the main office.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so great
Valet Attendant (Current Employee), Springfield, MADecember 29, 2012
Pros: constant exercise
Cons: no incentives to go above and beyond or to move up within the company
This job is very good for the cash, that may be all. Employee morale and well being are not a top priority.

Theodore185 – July 31, 2013

We're very surprised that you feel that way. We put a lot of effort into our employee morale, including frequent trips to sporting events, an annual outing at Six Flags, an Employee of the Month program, scholarships, advancement opportunities, and a pay tier structure for reviews & increases. We know our employees work hard and try to recognize that as much as possible.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VPA rocks!
parker (Former Employee), MADecember 26, 2012
True - if you are parking cars the pay is not great (but tips can be awesome some days). However - these guys are great to work for. Laid back management, but plenty of help when you need it. Worked at a couple of sites for them (hospitals, restaurants, events) and it's all good. Only stayed with them for a year so I didn't have much advancement, but – more... I did get raises and the guys who did stay are managers now. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work for pennies...
Shuttle Driver (Former Employee), Springfield, MAJune 27, 2012
Pros: great for a desperate unemployed person
Cons: shady and demanding company
Very unprofessional, unsafe vehicles, Supervisor had no transportation knowledge or training. Only enjoyable part was meeting some very nice sympathetic clients.

Theodore185 – April 9, 2013

We are very surprised you feel this way. All of our vehicles are licensed, well maintained, and overseen by the DOT. We value your opinion.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Valet attendant (Current Employee), Nichols, NYJune 6, 2012
easiest job, get paid to drive cars,management is very laid back as long as you do your job correctly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Parking Attendant
Parking Attendant (Former Employee), Worcester, MAJune 14, 2014
I would go in everyday and work hard to park customers vehicles. The toughest part of the job would be, that they make you run like crazy to park cars and deliver vehicles. The most thing I liked about the job was I was able to drive all type of vehicles.

About Valet Park of America

Where Quality Still Matters Since 1990 Valet Park of America offers full-service car parking management for all facilities – Read more

Valet Park of America Photos